PDA

View Full Version : 6.5 Unstable and Bugs



Les
2006-09-29, 14:53
I have had to reload 6.5 once already when I changed skins on the Browser and it became unusable. The scanner appears to abort part way through the database build and has missed many of my artist/albums. This is quite scary because 6.5 is a major release and clearly it has not been properly checked before release.

The problem is that once you upgrade you can't go back to the previous version very easily (if at all).

Don't get me wrong I am a very strong advocate of this technology it is absolutely top drawer stuff and I would not for a minute slate it, but clearly this release has flaws that have gotten through the release process. Am I right in thinking that the Database has been updated in this release?

This is quite serious for Slim Devices for a new novice user getting their first experience of the technology and lots of the functionality (some of it very basic) not working may put them off which spreads quickly. This must be resolved fast.

I think I will be using the save as option from now on to keep old versions because this is not funny at all.

bflatmajor
2006-09-29, 15:07
I've had the upgrade ever since it was officially released and have only one issue. The random mode mix not updating the UI properly.

I have no problems with the wireless connectivity.
I have no problems listening to internet radio.
I have no problems streaming my flac files from pc to sb
My setup is just plain vanaila, no third party plugins or third party skins.

So if you are having problems with third party stuff, is it really 6.5 at fault or the third party at fault.

Just my two cents.

Les
2006-09-29, 15:11
The only thing I have done is to add the album year to the view.
I am at a loss to understand why the library scan aborts about 50% through. I have about 18,000 songs in the library and there is a mix of FLAC and MP3. I am sure you have not had problems but have you made any changes from the default settings as I described?

I was using the skins that are part of the official download

DougP
2006-09-29, 15:27
I am afraid I have to agree with Les.

I have been using 6.3.0 since it came out and always intended to "watch" what happens to 6.5 - it is disappointing to see the number of issues that have appeared. I am sure someone will jump on here and say "everything is fine with me" (mr bflatmajor..!), but the bottom line is that there are issues (6.5.1 is due way too soon after 6.5.0).

This is not SlimD or opensource bashing - I love the squeezebox and ss and will continue to use it. To illustrate, I am still using MM from Jan 06 (v1.5d) and a version of cataloging software (collectorz.com) from the early summer -> both of these software packages have had relatively big upgrades which have caused problems. I have not upgraded because a) my system works 99.99% of the time and b)"if it ain't broke don't fix it"...

So 2 points....

1. Slim have (had?) the opportunity to 'package' the server into a friendly bundle with InstallShield-like utilities that can make install, upgrade and general usage (e.g. plugins) much easier. This would probably lighten the load on Slim support and make tech adoption more easier.

2. Should we also have a bit of review of the roadmap to release new features that people will actually want to use (the fishbone gallery is cool I am sure but do I really NEED it?)

It would be good to hear others opinion on this - some constructive views, especially from Slim, would be good. I suspect the 6.5 experience will not want to be repeated by Slim or its customers so now is the time to set the direction?

My 1 dollar...!

MeSue
2006-09-29, 16:14
I think if there were some rewards for the betas testers, then Slim would have more people testing the betas and squelch a lot more of the problems before the release is made official.

I got pulled into the beta temptation when I first got my Squeezebox and it took a LOT of time to troubleshoot, report bugs, install frequent updates, and so on. These days, I wait for the official announcement and then try to wait a few more days (or weeks) while watching the forum here to try to get a feel for what the issues are.

Even so, I had problems when I finally got brave enough to try 6.5 about a week or so after the official announcement. That said, Slim Devices and Dan Sully in particular really made an effort to help me, and once I filed a bug report with a sample file exhibiting the problem, they had a fix to me in less than 24 hours.

tyler_durden
2006-09-29, 16:16
I'll be the one to jump in and say 6.50 works great for me on both win2k and ubuntu AMD64 linux. My library is only about 7000 songs.

Just speculating, but maybe with 18000 songs in the library you need more ram. Did previous releases work in the same machine with the large library? Is the library in one directory or is it spread across multiple machines/drives?

TD

SteveEast
2006-09-29, 16:31
Not having upgraded yet (quite happy on 6.2.1 at the moment), I can't comment from personal experience. But I will say that I've been quite pleasantly surprised at how few problems I've seen posted here. Of course, it's difficult for anyone to make an accurate judgment without knowing just how many folks have actually tried upgrading.

Steve.

Les
2006-09-29, 16:46
to tyler_durden post

I have used every official release since I got my first SB in May (now have 2) and I have probably added 30 CDs since then maybe 250 - 300 new songs. I first used the QNAP NAS device and then used a PC but I have never had library indexing problems until now. As mentioned above the problem started when I used the default 2 skin as part of the official release. The only other change from vanilla I have done is to add the Album year to the view on the SB and Browser.

The PC I am using has 1GB of RAM, a 500GB USB Drive mapped as F: storing all the songs and has seen 2 previous versions of the Slimserver software prior to this upgrade without incident.

bpa
2006-09-29, 16:55
The Default2 skin is NOT part of the 6.5 release - if you upgraded from 6.3 without deleting the 6.3 files then Default2 files got left behind and so caused your problem.

Edit:
This default2 issue caused a lot of people problems - in this case better upgrade instructions should have been issued.

kdf
2006-09-29, 16:56
Quoting Les <Les.2ex79b1159573801 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> to tyler_durden post
>
> I have used every official release since I got my first SB in May (now
> have 2) and I have probably added 30 CDs since then maybe 250 - 300 new
> songs. I first used the QNAP NAS device and then used a PC but I have
> never had library indexing problems until now. As mentioned above the
> problem started when I used the default 2 skin


The Default2 skin is not part of the 6.5.0 release. In the case of an
upgrade, it was not properly removed. Please use the override url to
get out of Default2:

http://serverIP:9000/default/

then go into server settings->interface to choose a skin other than Default2

-kdf

Les
2006-09-29, 16:59
OK understood default 2 was left behind - shouldn't have used it.

However I reinstalled Slimserver and didn't touch default 2 and still had issues as described.

How do you flush old stuff prior to upgrade? Is everything stored in c:\programs\slimserver or is it scattered?

delosus
2006-09-29, 17:01
I concur. The 6.5.0 (and 6.5.1) are very buggy. 6.3.1 was pretty stable in comparison. It recognized all my music 27k+, and was not a resource hog like the 6.5.n. With 6.5.n some music is not recognized, over 1/2 albums missing, server crashes when viewing some album art, etc. I decided to do a clean install back down to 6.3.1 and the problems went away. I had to retype the long WAP key though when downgrading. It seems that 6.5 was rushed in order to meet the deadline for the release of the Transporter.

Greg Erskine
2006-09-29, 17:29
I'm only a recent SlimServer/Squeezebox user but have already upgraded/downgraded SlimServer a few times looking for the one that suits me.

v6.2.2 - OK, downloaded to test with SoftQueeze before purchase of Squeezebox
v6.3.1 - OK, upgraded when I purchased
v6.5b3 - didn't like it, so downgraded
v6.3.1 - OK, until I got over 65 Albums then all albums listed under No Album
v6.5.0 - buggy, so downgraded
v6.3.1 - put up with this, until....
v6.5 v2006-09-28 - GREAT for me, very happy now.

Did I report my issues? Well no. Being new to this, I wasn't sure if I was doing things wrong with ripping, tagging, directory structure and naming conventions.

I'm using Windows XP, and have found the SlimServer install/uninstall process quick and easy, and works 100% of the time. The automatic update of the SqueezeBox code to suit the version of SlimServer is brillant.

It seems to me that the SlimServer code underwent a bit of a restructure with 6.5 plus (a big plus) the release of the Transporter (that required 6.5 on 18 Sept) may have contributed to some of the issues reported. Bring on 6.5.1

regards

Claus-DK
2006-09-30, 02:33
I think if there were some rewards for the betas testers, then Slim would have more people testing the betas and squelch a lot more of the problems before the release is made official.


Well I tried the 6.5b3 and it worked perfectly with the use I have of it so for me it was clear that I should go for the 6.5 final.

Unfortunately things that worked well in the beta wasn't working in the final so I'm now back to 6.3.1 (I couldn't find the 6.5b3 after the release of the final) which also works perfect. Unfortunately the 6.3.1 hasn't got the 100 step volume control that I really like.

Two (for me) important issues with the 6.5 final that was working fine in the 6.5b3:

1. It can't handle playlists with more than one URL - This forced me to funble around with 3rd party plugins (MyPicks).
2. Not even when entering the URL directly in the webinterface it can play any of the more than 50 stream that I have collected.

Regards
Claus
(who believe that 6.5 final was released a bit too soon)

Michaelwagner
2006-09-30, 06:59
In every release, there are dozens of people who say they can't fall back. I wish someone would tell us why you think you can't fall back. Every major version of slimserver back to before it was called slimserver (I think it was originally called slimpserver or something) are online and available for the downloading.

You should be able to uninstall using the uninstall tools appropriate for your operating system.

If any of this doesn't work, please give details. It's all supposed to work, and no one can do anything about fixing something that isn't working without details.

Ben Sandee
2006-09-30, 08:01
On 9/30/06, Claus-DK <Claus-DK.2exycb1159608901 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
>
> Two (for me) important issues with the 6.5 final that was working fine
> in the 6.5b3:
>
> 1. It can't handle playlists with more than one URL - This forced me to
> funble around with 3rd party plugins (MyPicks).
>
> This is not true, playlists with multiple URL's have not been supported
for most of the development cycle.

Ben

Claus-DK
2006-10-01, 01:54
On 9/30/06, Claus-DK <Claus-DK.2exycb1159608901 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
> Two (for me) important issues with the 6.5 final that was working fine
> in the 6.5b3:
>
> 1. It can't handle playlists with more than one URL - This forced me to
> funble around with 3rd party plugins (MyPicks).
>
> This is not true, playlists with multiple URL's have not been supported
for most of the development cycle.

Ben

Well after upgrading (not uninstalling first) from 6.2.1 to 6.5b3 I was still able to play all the streams that was listed in my pls-files.

I'm not quite sure if I ever did a complete rescan with the 6.5b3. I think I did but to be honest I really can't remember.

Regards
Claus

gorgenyi
2006-10-01, 03:13
Iím not sure whether itís actually my setup / os problem or bug. Since v 6.3 I have an issue with compilation albums. In most cases they are no longer kept as a single entity by slim server when scanned but completely randomly, are split into many albums. Each listing holing 1 or many songs under them.

Does any one else has this problem?

Itís been absolutely fine until v.6.3, 6.3 was a lot less responsive then previous versions, 6.5 is very quick, but this problem remains.

I have no add ins, using win xp pro, Pentium 4, 2.5GH, 2 gig ram.

Michaelwagner
2006-10-01, 06:06
The compilation album thing is a known "problem".

You can search for it in the forums.

In essence, there is no good way to handle compilation albums without flagging them explicitely as compilations.

Prior versions of Slimserver guessed. They weren't bad at guessing the common cases, so if you had only the common cases, it seemed to work well. But there are other cases which don't work so well (IIRC, collaborations).

Slimserver got out of the guessing game, and now you have to tag collaborations.

There are a number of threads about all this, including how to do this with all the popular mass taggers.

It's really not a problem - it's a 5 minute cleanup of your library.

There was also talk about having a "compatability switch" but I don't know if this got off the ground. Again, search the threads.

MeSue
2006-10-01, 08:54
there is no good way to handle compilation albums without flagging them explicitely as compilations.

I don't use a compilation flag. Instead I use the albumartist field for compilations. I either put "Various Artists" or the name of the album in the albumartist field and it keeps the compilation grouped. The artists list shows the albumartists but not the individual song artists, though, so it might not be ideal for everyone.

lordhong
2006-10-01, 09:46
I just upgraded to 6.5. I've had my share of problems with it.

- Wireless playback is stuttering a lot. I'm using a Linksys WRT54G with a D-Link 7dbi antenna (my player is real far from my computer). Never had a problem with 6.2 and 6.3, but now 90% of what I play is stuttering. I haven't been able to pinpoint what makes the remaining 10% playable (or the conditions). It might be a scrolling / brightness setting, as scrolling text was making it stutter in 6.3 too, but up to now I haven't been able to fix it. I noticed though that the 10% i manage to get to play are mp3s. All flacs are unplayable, they all stutter. Problem is, around 70% of my library are flacs.

- Some albums won't load. I *think* they might be mp3s with the cover imaged embedded in the id3 tag (I've had a similar problem with mediamonkey player), but my library is 40,000 songs, so it's fairly long to double check if that's really the problem, but the ones I found had the image in the id3. Removing the image did not fix the problem though.

- I can't get any extra plug-ins to work. None will load. (ladt.fm radio, scrobbler, etc.)

- I tried to use the debugging mode. It just won't stay checked, so I can't report anything from that.

Just reporting my issues. I tried the beta 6.5.1 but it just won't load at all; it stays stuck at starting server for 30+ minutes (I killed the process and uninstalled then).

Mark Lanctot
2006-10-01, 10:05
- Wireless playback is stuttering a lot. I'm using a Linksys WRT54G with a D-Link 7dbi antenna (my player is real far from my computer). Never had a problem with 6.2 and 6.3, but now 90% of what I play is stuttering. I haven't been able to pinpoint what makes the remaining 10% playable (or the conditions). It might be a scrolling / brightness setting, as scrolling text was making it stutter in 6.3 too, but up to now I haven't been able to fix it. I noticed though that the 10% i manage to get to play are mp3s. All flacs are unplayable, they all stutter. Problem is, around 70% of my library are flacs.

Go to Help - Server & Network health. Run the Net Test tests, you should be able to get 1500 kbps at 100% or 2000 kbps at 100% for FLAC playback.

Enable performance monitoring and submit the output.


- Some albums won't load. I *think* they might be mp3s with the cover imaged embedded in the id3 tag (I've had a similar problem with mediamonkey player), but my library is 40,000 songs, so it's fairly long to double check if that's really the problem, but the ones I found had the image in the id3. Removing the image did not fix the problem though.

It might be something else, my embedded images work OK.


- I can't get any extra plug-ins to work. None will load. (ladt.fm radio, scrobbler, etc.)

Make sure these are specifically designed for 6.5. Plugins made for 6.3 won't work.


- I tried to use the debugging mode. It just won't stay checked, so I can't report anything from that.

The setting only persists as long as SlimServer runs. If it gets restarted, the flag is cleared.

You can run debugging from the command line but I don't have details.

Sam Lowry
2006-10-01, 11:42
Just upgraded to 6.5 - no problems at all. I like the new features. New graphics. Etc.

mherger
2006-10-01, 13:40
> I like the new features. New graphics. Etc.

Quite interesting, as most of the graphics have been _removed_ from the
Default skin :-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

lordhong
2006-10-01, 18:35
Go to Help - Server & Network health. Run the Net Test tests, you should be able to get 1500 kbps at 100% or 2000 kbps at 100% for FLAC playback.

Enable performance monitoring and submit the output.

I managed to fix that part. I moved the squeezebox (had to get extensions for my speakers and power outlets) about 5 feet closer to the router and now the signal is strong enough. Kinda weird though that I had been running without a single hitch for two months from that spot and the day I switch to 6.5, it stops working... interference, kbps requirements raised... who knows.

At least it works now... I'm not one to complain much once it works, so even though there are still some minor bugs on my side, I can play (most) of my music. (Haven't figured why some mp3 won't load.)

Cams
2006-10-02, 07:35
I just installed 6.5 (saw the notification that a new version was available at the bottom of the version I was using (6_3_x_v2006-06-03)

First thing I noticed was that it loaded in my browser quicker, quite a lot quicker. The second thing I noticed was that all my album art has gone. I have a folder.jpg in all my album folders, but nothing displays. That's what brought me to the forum, to see if this was a documented problem and whether there was a fix. I haven't found anything. I'm running it on ClarkConnect 3.2 Home.

The third thing I noticed was that my SB3 now displays Cyrillic! How long I have waited for this! Now I can get to work ripping my Russian CDs at last!

I have had one SlimServer crash since upgrading (never had one prior to that) and I haven't really checked the bandwith issues on my DGL-4300 -- I did have a problem playing FLACs in the farther away of my two SB3s, but it's in the kitchen where I mainly listen to podcasts in MP3 format, so it wasn't too big a deal.

I wonder whether the 802.11n standard will see its way into the SB3 (if it ever gets ratified that is!)

I like how 6.5 looks over 6.3 based on my 10 minutes of using it. I hope the bugs get fixed, as I'm sure they will be. I've had the two SB3s about a year now and I'm very glad I chose them. They quite simply have changed how I consume my audio in the home and I would hate to 'go back'!

So, any ideas on the album art thing?

Cams

Cams
2006-10-02, 07:50
Update:

A rescan brought back the album art so I'm all fixed up! I'm stoked about the Cyrillic thing too!

lordhong
2006-10-03, 06:06
Go to Help - Server & Network health. Run the Net Test tests, you should be able to get 1500 kbps at 100% or 2000 kbps at 100% for FLAC playback.

Enable performance monitoring and submit the output.

I thought i had fixed my problem with distance. This morning it started stuttering again, so I ran Net Test plugin.

Up to 2500kbps, I get 100%
3000kbps is 95%
4000kbps is 80%
5000kbps is 65%

I am not sure how to enable performance monitoring.

bflatmajor
2006-10-03, 06:20
lordhong;

Try this: If you can, hardwire your pc to your router. Then put your SB back at it's original distance/location. Also, check your routers configuration, something about packet size and/or amount of packets transmitted may need to be adjusted.

I had a similar problem to yours and that's what I did.

Mark Lanctot
2006-10-03, 15:15
I am not sure how to enable performance monitoring.

It's right below Net Test in Help - Server & Network Health.