PDA

View Full Version : MusicMagic problem with 6.5



ezkcdude
2006-09-28, 19:53
Anybody try making a MM mix with the new version of SlimServer. It doesn't seem to work for me, and keeps saying that SlimServer is scanning my library, even though it really isn't.

kdf
2006-09-28, 20:22
On 28-Sep-06, at 7:53 PM, ezkcdude wrote:

>
> Anybody try making a MM mix with the new version of SlimServer. It
> doesn't seem to work for me, and keeps saying that SlimServer is
> scanning my library, even though it really isn't.
>
Works fine here. Which skin are you using?
-kdf

ezkcdude
2006-09-28, 21:08
I'm using the default skin. Not sure what the deal is.

kdf
2006-09-28, 21:19
On 28-Sep-06, at 9:08 PM, ezkcdude wrote:

>
> I'm using the default skin. Not sure what the deal is.
>
hrm...
try looking in Plugins/MusicMagic/HTML, make sure any non-EN folders
are deleted.
make sure browser cache gets cleared (a few browser refreshes will do
it)

that's a start.
-k

Siduhe
2006-09-29, 00:58
Anybody try making a MM mix with the new version of SlimServer. It doesn't seem to work for me, and keeps saying that SlimServer is scanning my library, even though it really isn't.

Working fine for me, but check that you have the MM reload interval set to 0 ? Then do a full clear and rescan. Don't try to initial a mix until after the scan is finished as all the MM info is put in at the end of the scan.

There was a problem with the scanning process which AFAIK, isn't resolved. Will try and find the bug report.

EDIT, just found a post from Dan which said the reload problem in MIP was fixed around 7/9 or 8/9 nightly, so if you're using a later version, that shouldn't be the problem if you are using the release candidate. Sorry not to be more help. Still recommend not trying to create a mix until after the full clear and rescan is finished.

ezkcdude
2006-09-29, 10:59
The full scan was already finished several days ago when I upgraded. It only gives me that "SlimServer scanning..." message when I try to create a MM mix in the web interface. Strange. I'll try it again tonight.

ezkcdude
2006-09-29, 20:21
Well, I tried a complete rescan, and that hasn't helped. I still get the following message when I try to create a mix:


Note: SlimServer is still scanning your music library, so some items may not appear in this area yet.

Is there some way I can go back to version 6.3?

kdf
2006-09-29, 20:36
On 29-Sep-06, at 8:21 PM, ezkcdude wrote:

>
> Well, I tried a complete rescan, and that hasn't helped. I still get
> the
> following message when I try to create a mix:
>
>> Note: SlimServer is still scanning your music library, so some items
>> may
>> not appear in this area yet.
>
> Is there some way I can go back to version 6.3?
>
sure, just un-install 6.5 then reinstall 6.3. A backup prefs file, or
a fresh one would be recommended, but I dont' think it is required.
The location for downloads of old versions is posted dozens of times
before.
but, given that what you are seeing now is a bit nuts...I personally
wouldn't hold my breath.

frankly, having had nothing mentioned about deleting them, I would
still bet on old templates having been left around from earlier.

-kdf

ezkcdude
2006-09-29, 20:47
Well, I deleted the old template folders (I think), and now most of the MusicMagic icons are missing. I guess now I've created a different problem.

kdf
2006-09-29, 20:58
On 29-Sep-06, at 8:47 PM, ezkcdude wrote:

>
> Well, I deleted the old template folders (I think), and now most of the
> MusicMagic icons are missing. I guess now I've created a different
> problem.
>
Everything aside from EN. Now, some stuff does need to be there, but
if you just have EN, then you'll get text "musicmagic mix" which would
at least give you access for testing.

You can always reinstall to get the templates from 6.5
-kdf