PDA

View Full Version : Synology DS 406

cirruslogic
2006-09-28, 05:52
Firstly, this is my first post, and I am very new to this technology, and as yet have not even got a squeezebox yet.

Before I take the plunge and spend loads of my hard earned cash, can anyone tell me whether the synology DS 406 is a good NAS device to use with slimserver?? Or, would I be better going for an Infrant solution? (I prefer the smaller and quieter 406 tho)

Also, will installing slimserver cripple any of the 'out-the-box' features of the NAS?

and, finally, can I use AlienBBC with the with this?

Thanks in advance.

flipflip
2006-09-28, 06:02
You mean CS-406, do you? Yes, it's great to run SlimServer (the best from the DS/CS family).

The DS-106 is okay as well. The DS-106x is slightly better than the DS-106 but not available outside Switzerland.

SSODS won't touch the functionality of the DS at all.

And yes, you can use AlienBBC with it. You can even choose if you want it delivered to the Squeezebox as mp3 (via lame), as flac (via flac) or as pcm data (directly from mplayer). It is even possible to feed several SB with different BBC-streams.

On noise: look around the forum. The devices are not noiseless.

Read the README.txt on my page (see signature below). It covers all your questions.

Regards,
flipflip

cirruslogic
2006-09-28, 07:16
Thanks for your reply.

Yes, sorry I did mean the ds-406.

Oh, thats great news regarding the compatibility, ok, looks like Im going to take the plunge and buy two sb3's and A Nas device. Just a question of which one, synology or infrant?

The reviews I've read on the ds-406 suggested it was reasonably quiet, and the infrant rather noisy. I suppose noise levels are subjective, and without having the two side-by-side.

AlienBBC - sounds good, although I'm a bit lost on your explanation on delivery formats, oh well, suppose I can learn that about when the time comes, as long as I know it works.

bpa
2006-09-28, 07:20