PDA

View Full Version : Powerline Problem (SB3 but not SB2)



jbrill
2006-09-24, 12:50
I have recently installed a pair of the Panasonic HD-PLC ethernet adapters (BL-PA100KTA). I have both SB2 and SB3 devices actively working on a wireless network. The SB2 flawlessly configures using the ethernet interface over the powerline network (obtains IP address and connects to the server). However, the SB3 cannot obtain an IP address from the DHCP server. The DHCP server is provided by an (old) netgear FVS318v1 router.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Mark Lanctot
2006-09-28, 16:59
Try swapping the positions of the SB2 & SB3.

I believe various home wiring issues may affect homeplug networks.

jbrill
2006-11-01, 04:49
The behavior is consistent across any number of outlets. The SB2 connects to the server while the SB3 does not connect to the server using the same powerline device in the same outlet.

Greg Erskine
2006-11-01, 05:02
hi jbrill,

Whenever I have had connection problems it usually ends up being a 10mps/100mps/auto setting issue on one of the components.

regards

bpa
2006-11-01, 05:52
Since the SB2 and SB3 are virtually identical in hardware and firmware why not try to re-program the Xilinx in the SB3

Make SB3 has a proper wired connection to the server. Try holding down the '1' button on the remote right after you plug power into the SB3. It should respond with "programming xilinx" which should take about thirty seconds and then automatically reboot.

NewBuyer
2006-11-03, 15:44
This post won't add much to the thread... but I have an SB3 working flawlessly on a powerline network using "Phonex NeverWire 14" units. Your Panasonics are newer/faster technology, but the network basics are the same. Are you running any hardware/software firewalls?

azinck3
2006-11-03, 16:05
The behavior is consistent across any number of outlets. The SB2 connects to the server while the SB3 does not connect to the server using the same powerline device in the same outlet.

Try wiring the units directly to your switch. That would determine if the powerline adapters are acting up.