PDA

View Full Version : 6.5.0 and cover art strangeness



letalis
2006-09-23, 16:48
I just upgraded to 6.5.0 from 6.3 on my gentoo server.

When i browse an album the artwork is shown correctly but when i use the "browse albums" view there are only the placeholders for all my albums.

Tried to enable the d_artwork but there seem to be no logging going on when the album browsing view is shown, only when i select a specific album and the cover actually is shown is there some lines about the cover existing and such.

Anybody seen this?

Or more interesting to me, anybody has a solution or idea about what could be wrong?

vacaboca
2006-09-23, 20:15
...but not all... when actually browsing into the album itself, or any of the tracks, artwork is fine - but for some albums, I get a placeholder even though I think I have the album art for the album in both folder.jpg and in the track id3 tags.

MeSue
2006-09-24, 08:01
I get placeholders for all the gallery browsing views, but when I view song info I see actual covers, and in the player frame of the Fishbone skin I can see cover art. All my art is saved as folder.jpg.

Nostromo
2006-09-24, 16:14
I have a similar problem. A couple of hours ago the album art was there and now, poof, three or four of them got replaced with placeholders. And I haven't removed the jpeg's in the music folders. It seems there are two types of placeholders : the contour of the ones I don't have album art are dark grey, and the ones that have disappeared are black. EDIT: If I click on them, I do get the album art. It seems to be a thumbnail issue.

I wonder if its a skin issue. I'm using Fishbone. I'll test it when I have the time. EDIT: I checked and I have the same problem with the default skin.

Or maybe its a size issue: maybe my album art is too big.

SlimServer Version: 6.5.0 - 9916 - Windows XP - EN - cp1252. Didn't upgrade to 6.5. It was a clean install.

vacaboca
2006-09-24, 21:26
I'm seeing exactly what Nostromo is seeing - album art is there, and that at some point later, it's a placeholder. I'm doing a lot of ripping and tagging right now, and have album art for almost all files in both a folder.jpg and in the id3 tags... it would be great to know exactly what was being pulled from where, and why a placeholder would appear when both browsing the album and tracks, (and playing a track) all show proper art.

Thanks!

p.s., I LOVE the new gallery browsing paradigm - that's why the apparent inconsistency is driving me nuts :)

ymilner
2006-09-25, 00:45
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=4130

Wallaby
2006-09-25, 02:25
I had a similar problem when I first moved to 6.5 but it turned out to be some obscure references in the tag that were created by iTunes (I think) - the coverart tag was followed by a 20ish character alpha numeric string. The problem occurred even when the file had a separate "folder.jpg". From memory, MP3Tag was the only tagger that could "see" the tags. I deleted the offending tags and everything was fine.

Hope this helps.

Scott

Nostromo
2006-09-25, 07:38
I don't use iTunes, but EAC and Tag&Rename.

vacaboca
2006-09-25, 10:22
...and I've started to get pretty frustrated with something between T&R and Foobar conflicting... I'd been using Foobar for replaygain scanning for all my mp3s, then polishing the tags and loading album art in Tag&Rename... depending upon which direction I go, the replaygain tags are wiped out, or the id3v2 tags are screwed up and the album art disappears from the id3 tag along with ARTIST, BAND, YEAR, and track number. I've had better luck switching to mp3gain for the replaygain scanning - no more tagging or scanning in foobar for now :(

ymilner
2006-09-25, 10:53
This brings us offtopic, but anyhow, I do use exact same application, but in reverse order:)
I apply tags and download covers using T&R. After I prepare a bunch of albums, I run all of them through foobar's replay gain (by tags). No problems; I have done 1692 albums so far:)

shabbs
2006-09-25, 11:37
Or maybe its a size issue: maybe my album art is too big.
What sizes are your Album Art files? I use two files for each of my albums. The large cover art image is called folder.jpg and it's 200x200 (this file is also embedded in each track). For the album thumbnails, I have a file called albumartsmall.jpg that is 75x75. Both seem to be used fine for my library.

Nostromo
2006-09-25, 12:19
What sizes are your Album Art files? I use two files for each of my albums. The large cover art image is called folder.jpg and it's 200x200 (this file is also embedded in each track). For the album thumbnails, I have a file called albumartsmall.jpg that is 75x75. Both seem to be used fine for my library.

I only use one "folder.jpg" file for each album. Most of the them are 300x300, some are 475x475 and even 500x500. Normally, Slimserver is supposed to generate the thumbnails itself.

But there doesn't seem to be any correlation between the size of my album art files and the 'disappearing act" some of them are pulling of. Someone linked to a bug report earlier, and it said that the problem occurs after modifying tags. And that's exactly what happened to me.

shabbs
2006-09-25, 12:31
I only use one "folder.jpg" file for each album.
I wonder if this only affects people who are using one album art file for both as opposed to two seperate art files?

Cheers.

eschurr
2006-09-27, 15:41
I'm having similar issues with the Fishbone interface in 6.5.

when i click on the song's name in the now playing list, i get songinfo and (usually) the album art.

however, in the thumbnail next to the song, album, and artist name in the now playing area (top right hand part of browser) i get a blank thumbnail with a question mark. That's pretty annoying -- i'd rather see not see a thumbnail at all than one with a question mark.

Andyb01
2006-09-28, 23:40
I'm just starting with my Squeezebox (running Slimserver 6.5) and have obtained the album art from Album Art Aggregator and ripped the CDs using iTunes. Exactly the same problem as others - the album art is there in the detail view but not in the thumbnail gallery. Would love to know a fix but no idea where to find these tags I am supposed to be editing. Still on a bit of a learning curve.

Cheers

Andy