PDA

View Full Version : Does Fishbone skin have a Home?



Xhorder
2006-09-23, 08:30
Using fishbone skin, the "Home" link at the top doesn't work for me. When mousing over the link it changes from "Home" to "Album", and clicking takes me to Browse Album.

EDIT: It's not always "Albums". The home link changes to whatever page I'm currently viewing, and clicking takes me to where I already am.

Is this the way it's supposed to work?

(Linux Slimserver 6.5)

andy_c
2006-09-23, 09:26
As one user put it recently, "with the Fishbone skin, you're always home". This may seem counterintuitive at first, but it actually eliminates some unnecessary navigation. With other skins, you often have to go home first before going where you want to go. With Fishbone, you just go directly to where you want to go without the intermediate "home" step.

When I first tried Fishbone, I didn't like it. But I tried it again later with some more extended use and now it's my favorite. It has some nice touches the other skins don't have. Like in the "now playing" list, you can click the "I" icon to the right of a song to view its info in the left pane. That's a really nice touch that you could miss on casual usage.

Nostromo
2006-09-23, 10:13
It has some nice touches the other skins don't have. Like in the "now playing" list, you can click the "I" icon to the right of a song to view its info in the left pane. That's a really nice touch that you could miss on casual usage.

I'm not sure I understand what you mean. I'm using fishbone right now, in 6.5, and I don't see an "I" next to the song. But if you click on the song in the "Now playing" list, it shows you the song info in the left pane. You can also do that with the default skin, BTW.

There are a lot of things to like about Fishbone, I agree. I especially like the fact that they replaced what was previously in text ("play", "rewind"...) by icons. The default skin, in comparison, looks like a spreadsheet. But I'm not sure I like Fishbone's color scheme. A bit too dark for my taste. The best looking skin, IMO, is Nokia 770. I just wish there was a version for normal-sized computer screens.

andy_c
2006-09-23, 10:50
I'm not sure I understand what you mean. I'm using fishbone right now, in 6.5, and I don't see an "I" next to the song. But if you click on the song in the "Now playing" list, it shows you the song info in the left pane. You can also do that with the default skin, BTW.

Oh, I'm using 6.3.1 still. With that version and the default skin, if I click on the song title in the "now playing" list, it plays that song rather than showing its info. And there is no "song info" icon like with Fishbone. In the 6.3.1 Fishbone skin there are five icons next to each song in "now playing". They are "move up", "move down", "next", "remove from playlist" and "song info". With the 6.3.1 Fishbone, clicking on the song title plays the song, same as with 6.3.1 default skin. Sounds like there have been some improvements in 6.5 in this area.

ModelCitizen
2006-09-23, 11:27
The default skin, in comparison, looks like a spreadsheet. But I'm not sure I like Fishbone's color scheme. A bit too dark for my taste. The best looking skin, IMO, is Nokia 770. I just wish there was a version for normal-sized computer screens.
Yes the default skin really does need some work. I find it quite amazing that SlimDevices are putting out a default skin like this in this day and age, when it could easily be so much better. They really need to employ a web developer (and ergonomics specialist).
However, I think you should try the Fishbone tan version. When you are in Fishbone click on Help. You should see an item (maybe the last one) that states something like "Fishbone style changes". Try the tan one. You may have to delete your browser cache to get it to work correctly, but in my humble opinion it's the best.
MC

Nostromo
2006-09-23, 11:35
Thanks for the tip!

fathom39
2006-09-23, 14:42
However, I think you should try the Fishbone tan version. When you are in Fishbone click on Help. You should see an item (maybe the last one) that states something like "Fishbone style changes". Try the tan one.
MC

Thanks for the tip. Sorry for piling on, but I found out that from within Mozilla tan or gray can be selected View | Page Style. That being said, tan blows up the font size to ugly and won't let go even if I switch back to gray. For now I will stick with "gray" even though it looks mostly black to me!

MeSue
2006-09-29, 16:51
If you clear your browser cookies and reload the standard Fishbone (not the alternate styles) it should go back to the smaller text size. I'm the one that initiated the Fishbone alternate styles (I have a 20" LCD and the fonts were way too small at native resolution) and KDF had since taken over the maintenance.

(And if KDF is reading this… I'm ever so grateful you've continued to maintain the alternate styles! Thanks again!)

fathom39
2006-09-29, 21:56
OK, thanks. I hope you weren't too offended by my remark on the font size. I'm liking Fishbone, a lot.

MeSue
2006-09-29, 22:01
Not at all… with so many screen resolutions, PC text settings, and eye ages <g> you certainly can't please everyone. Although, I bet with some creative CSS coding, Slim Devices could make an option to increase or decrease text size in all the skins… now that would be nifty.

kdf
2006-09-29, 22:15
On 29-Sep-06, at 10:01 PM, MeSue wrote:

>
> Not at all
> with so many screen resolutions, PC text settings, and eye
> ages <g> you certainly can't please everyone. Although, I bet with some
> creative CSS coding, Slim Devices could make an option to increase or
> decrease text size in all the skins
> now that would be nifty.
>
only if browsers/makers of browsers made it more possible.

until then, I'd rather have hot lead enema than make the attempt.
but, I agree it would be nifty to be able to make it happen.

As it is, the reason I maintain the 'alternate styles' is for the
purpose of illustrating just how easy it can be
to alter fonts and colours in order to make a skin into your own
preference. With 6.5, it is even easier. You can create a skin that
can inherit everything from another existing skin, changing only the
elements you add. This means you can inherit from Default, and just
make a skin.css for some font adjustments and you can set your skin,
get all the graphics, but have your font sizes and layout.

anyone interested should check out the wiki for the topic "skin
development" and you'll get the details. Post to devel forum if you
have questions.

-kdf

MeSue
2006-09-29, 22:35
I'd rather have hot lead enema than make the attempt.

Ouchie!

Glad to hear it's gotten easier. I'm still pretty darn happy with Fishbone Tan on my PC and Handheld on my PPC.

kdf
2006-09-29, 22:54
On 29-Sep-06, at 10:35 PM, MeSue wrote:

>
>> I'd rather have hot lead enema than make the attempt.
>
> Ouchie!
>
good effect, eh?

> Glad to hear it's gotten easier. I'm still pretty darn happy with
> Fishbone Tan on my PC and Handheld on my PPC.
>
cool!

colours are easy, borders and positions, not too bad.
scaling...nope

as it is, each browser does css differently.
most are not so far off, but you always get stuck with EI, huge market
share and inability to play with others shoved wholesale up your
backside.
more fun, IE7 claims proper support all over again, yet breaks it in
all new ways.

Still, changing px values works. Anyone who doesn't like the font
sizes and positions should try to play with them to make them fit their
needs.
It only takes a browser refresh to make them take hold and you can take
a layout that you don't like, making it something you do like.

-k

brucegrr
2006-10-08, 08:19
I am having trouble with the "tan" skin color sticking. Every time I close the browser and restart it and load the slimserver page Fishbone reverts to the default color. I really like the tan color. ON my LCD screen much easier on the eyes.

Suggestions?

Bruce

ModelCitizen
2006-10-08, 10:56
This doesn't happen to me. Perhaps you should try to clear your browser cache?
MC

brucegrr
2006-10-08, 13:30
the browser cache is cleared at every program close.

i will keep working with this

MeSue
2006-10-08, 13:36
I think the style is set with a cookie so make sure you have cookies enabled and you're not auto-deleting them.

brucegrr
2006-10-08, 13:48
Ah, this fixes the problem. With Firefox
I have it set for everything to clear on closing except cookies.

But, when i run crap cleaner it clears the cookies.

thanks

Bruce

MeSue
2006-10-08, 14:02
Pretty sure CCleaner has a setting to keep the cookies you specify.