PDA

View Full Version : Fishbone/Firefox memory leak fixed?



benh
2006-09-22, 05:35
I just woke up and noticed that I'd left my SlimServer 6.5 browser tab open in Firefox overnight and my machine wasn't crawling and gasping like it usually does when I do this.

Been a while since I did this, and both Firefox and SlimServer have been updated in the interim.

So I don't know if something eas fixed in a recent Firefox update, or if the fix was in SlimServer, but either way, excellent!

funkstar
2006-09-22, 12:44
I've not been keeping track of the skin changes in 6.5 and haven't been at home to upgrade my Qnap yet. Has Fishbone inherited any clever XML and javaScript code? (also known as AJAX). That could be a way round the Firefox feature (although everyone thought it was a bug) that kept a snapshot of a page in memory.

kdf
2006-09-22, 12:58
Quoting funkstar <funkstar.2ejx8z1158954301 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I've not been keeping track of the skin changes in 6.5 and haven't been
> at home to upgrade my Qnap yet. Has Fishbone inherited any clever XML
> and javaScript code?

yes. the 'now playing' section is background updated where possible.
It should also stay alive over server restarts (but not
hibernate/standby unfortunately). The current song item is also
tracked via ajax, so hopefully the playlist only needs to reload when
there is a change of player or playlist content.

I don'd plan to expand beyond this at the moment, mainly because I
find ajax to be painful. silent failure is a stupid concept. Taht
being said, I do have a dream of getting rid of the need for 4 frames
in the skin and if I can an option that IE won't completely screw up,
then I might go further. Sadly, too many people feel the need to keep
quoting me the IE market share for me to just dump it (despite NEVER
using it myself). There was a iframe solution I really liked that
just vaourised becuase IE seemed to have not one inkling of what was
going on with it.


one thing I'd love (patches gratefully appreciated) would be a
mouseover div instead of the browse pulldown. Ideally it would be
filled with the contents of home.html so that I no longer have to keep
hacking that logic to make a form work every time something changes.
-kdf

Marc Sherman
2006-09-25, 04:50
kdf wrote:
>
> I don'd plan to expand beyond this at the moment, mainly because I find
> ajax to be painful. silent failure is a stupid concept. Taht being
> said, I do have a dream of getting rid of the need for 4 frames in the
> skin and if I can an option that IE won't completely screw up, then I
> might go further. Sadly, too many people feel the need to keep quoting
> me the IE market share for me to just dump it (despite NEVER using it
> myself). There was a iframe solution I really liked that just vaourised
> becuase IE seemed to have not one inkling of what was going on with it.

Hey, you're a volunteer working on free code for your own enjoyment.
Just rename the skin "fffishbone", drop IE support, and ignore the
market share.

If you're feeling _really_ generous, fork the current version into
"iefishbone", and put it up for adoption on the plugins list.

- Marc