PDA

View Full Version : Music IP Mixer and Network Drive



DannyKudos
2006-09-20, 14:04
Hi Folks
I have moved my music to a NAS drive, as my laptop's hard drive was filling fast. All is well EXCEPT MusicIP mixer is no longer able to send mixes.

My theory is that slimserver refers to my network drive in \\device\directory\subdirectory , whereas musicip uses drive letters. Seeing as I cant get slimserver to understand mapped drive letters, and musicip mixer doesnt give you the option to specify location in old school fashion, is there any way I can get my mixes to slimserver ?

Cheers !

mherger
2006-09-20, 14:19
> I have moved my music to a NAS drive, as my laptop's hard drive was
> filling fast. All is well EXCEPT MusicIP mixer is no longer able to
> send mixes.

There's imho currently no way to have MIP running on another computer than
slimserver.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Siduhe
2006-09-20, 14:33
Even if MIP and Slimserver are installed on the same box, unless you can make them "see" the drive root path the same way, integration between the two won't work either within Slimserver or using "send to" AFAIK.

The best way I found to make playlists in MIP, convert and send them was this:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=94691#post94691

DannyKudos
2006-09-21, 01:16
The Nas drive Im using is a linkstation (MIPS version). Will Slimserver and the linux version of MUSICIP both be able to run on this ? Anyone successfully acheived this ?

I know this means saying goodbye to Alien BBC, but I could live with that trade off. The low bitrate of BBC programs was irritating me in any case.....

mherger
2006-09-21, 01:33
> The Nas drive Im using is a linkstation (MIPS version). Will Slimserver
> and the linux version of MUSICIP both be able to run on this ?

Doesn't seem so:

http://forums.predixis.com/index.php?showtopic=1565

> I know this means saying goodbye to Alien BBC, but I could live with
> that trade off. The low bitrate of BBC programs was irritating me in
> any case.....

What has MIP to do with AlienBBC? I think there are folks running AlienBBC
on the Linkstation. Please search the forums for more information about it.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

DannyKudos
2006-09-21, 01:59
Apparently (from reading the forums) you can get it to run on the PPC version of the linkstation, but not the MIPS version.

There are two different linkstations in circulation with two different processors. The newer linkstations have an MIPS processor. Mplayer wont run with a MIPS processor afaik.