PDA

View Full Version : iTunes 7 (QuickTime 7.1.3) Rips Don't Play



bishopdonmiguel
2006-09-17, 14:32
Running SlimServer Version: 6.3.1 - 8476 - Debian - EN - iso-8859-1. I have been playing M4A files encoded with iTunes 6 using FAAD2.5 with great success. Installed iTunes 7 recently and any files encoded with iTunes 7 (QT 7.1.3) do not play. The log indicates "ERROR: Couldn't open song." I've checked permissions and they appear correct. The new files are picked up by the scan, but some of the tag info is missing. Artist, Album, and Track No are shown but nothing else (no genre, no duration, no artwork, etc). I'm guessing that the tags shown are not being retrieved from the file but from the "guessing" logic.

It's interesting that all the old files I had previously encoded with iTunes 6 (QT 7.1.2) still play fine. This seems to imply that something has changed in the QT encoder. Not sure if this is a SlimServer issue or a FAAD issue.

Anyone else having problems with rips encoded with QT 7.1.3?

Nostromo
2006-09-17, 14:50
I tried a couple of albums I ripped recently with iTunes 7 and I don't have any problem. They play just fine. I ripped them using the Windows version of iTunes and running slimserver 6.3.1 on a Windows XP PC.

dean
2006-09-17, 19:52
These are Apple AAC files ripped on a PC using iTunes 7?

What platform are you running SlimServer on?

bishopdonmiguel
2006-09-18, 04:02
These are Apple AAC files ripped on a PC using iTunes 7?

What platform are you running SlimServer on?

Apple AAC (M4A 128kbps) files encoded on OS X using iTunes 7.0 (QT 7.1.3). Slimserver 6.3.1 running under Debian Sarge (stable) on a P4 2Ghz with 768MB RAM.

dean
2006-09-18, 09:36
Ah, can you see if the file will play back from the command line with
faad?

On Sep 18, 2006, at 4:02 AM, bishopdonmiguel wrote:

>
> dean blackketter;137041 Wrote:
>> These are Apple AAC files ripped on a PC using iTunes 7?
>>
>> What platform are you running SlimServer on?
>
> Apple AAC (M4A 128kbps) files encoded on OS X using iTunes 7.0 (QT
> 7.1.3). Slimserver 6.3.1 running under Debian Sarge (stable) on a P4
> 2Ghz with 768MB RAM.
>
>
> --
> bishopdonmiguel
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> --
> bishopdonmiguel's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?
> userid=278
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=27503
>
>

bishopdonmiguel
2006-09-18, 09:46
Ah, can you see if the file will play back from the command line with
faad?

Bit of a nix newbie. So I would try...

faad -w -f 2 mytrack.m4a

at the bash command line?

Does slimserver use FAAD during the scan to obtain the tags?

dean
2006-09-18, 10:12
On Sep 18, 2006, at 9:46 AM, bishopdonmiguel wrote:

>
> dean blackketter;137184 Wrote:
>> Ah, can you see if the file will play back from the command line with
>> faad?
>
> Bit of a nix newbie. So I would try...
>
> faad -w -f 2 mytrack.m4a
That should work.

> Does slimserver use FAAD during the scan to obtain the tags?
No, it parses the AAC/Movie data directly.

-dean

bishopdonmiguel
2006-09-18, 15:21
> faad -w -f 2 mytrack.m4a
That should work.

Well, something happens. A bunch of nonsensical stuff is output to the terminal (accessing server via SSH connection). If I use "FAAD -i mytrack.m4a" it correctly reports genre and other tag data missing in slimserver.


No, it parses the AAC/Movie data directly.
If that's the case, I assume something is wacky with slimserver and QT 7.1.3 encodings. Anything I can do to help track this down?

dean
2006-09-18, 16:15
On Sep 18, 2006, at 3:21 PM, bishopdonmiguel wrote:

>
> dean blackketter;137196 Wrote:
>>> faad -w -f 2 mytrack.m4a
>> That should work.
>>
> Well, something happens. A bunch of nonsensical stuff is output to
> the
> terminal (accessing server via SSH connection). If I use "FAAD -i
> mytrack.m4a" it correctly reports genre and other tag data missing in
> slimserver.
That's the audio being printed out to your terminal. Which is good,
because it's decoding something.

> dean blackketter;137196 Wrote:
>> No, it parses the AAC/Movie data directly.
> If that's the case, I assume something is wacky with slimserver and QT
> 7.1.3 encodings. Anything I can do to help track this down?
Not as far as we can tell here. Can you create a bug on
bugs.slimdevices.com and attach a sample file that exhibits this
behavior?

Thanks,

dean

mikerob
2006-09-18, 16:16
I've also come across a problem where a CD ripped to Apple Lossless by iTunes 7 won't play on Slimserver with log: "ERROR: Couldn't open song"

System is Slimserver 6.3.1, iTunes 7, Quicktime 7.1.3 on Mac Mini G4 OSX 10.4.7.

On first investigation it appeared to be related to adding cover art using iTunes.

The tracks ripped by iTunes without cover art played ok on Slimserver.

However when I added cover art using iTunes (manually, not using the new iTunes cover art feature) and did a clear and rescan, the tracks appeared on Slimserver but the cover art wasn't displayed and the tracks wouldn't play.

Tracks without cover art with a cover.jpg file in the same directory displayed cover art and would play.

bearklaw
2006-09-19, 08:41
Its definitely related to using iTunes 7 to add album artwork to the file. I have some older AAC filed (ripped under older versions of iTunes) that I added artwork to recently to play with the new features in iTunes 7. The files that I embedded artwork in with iTunes 7 won't scan properly in SlimServer anymore.

Unfortunately, deleting the artwork doesn't fix them either. Time to re-rip those files.

-Barry

Nostromo
2006-09-19, 08:59
I'm not sure about that, since I don't have any problem with the tracks I ripped with iTunes 7, all of them with the cover art. OTOH, the cover art never appears in Slimserver. But that's another matter.

Craig, James (IT)
2006-09-19, 09:24
> OTOH, the cover
> art never appears in Slimserver. But that's another matter.

I read that the cover art downloaded in iTunes 7 keeps all the artwork
in a separate artwork directory,
rather than in the files themselves or their directories?
I assume SlimServer doesn't (yet) know about this.

I must admit, I am hoping for a patch release for iTunes before I touch
version 7, as nice as the new features sound!

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not intend to waive confidentiality or privilege. Use of this email is prohibited when received in error.

mikerob
2006-09-19, 09:27
I'm not sure about that, since I don't have any problem with the tracks I ripped with iTunes 7, all of them with the cover art. OTOH, the cover art never appears in Slimserver. But that's another matter.

Based on my experience the problem doesn't seem to happen with all CDs.

I've ripped two CDs to Apple Lossless since upgrading to iTunes 7 last week.

Slimserver can play tracks with artwork ripped from one CD.

However Slimserver won't play tracks with artwork ripped from the other CD - but Slimserver will play tracks ripped from this CD if they don't include artwork.

I'll raise a bug report later today and include a copy of a track with and without artwork.

Nostromo
2006-09-19, 09:37
> OTOH, the cover
> art never appears in Slimserver. But that's another matter.

I read that the cover art downloaded in iTunes 7 keeps all the artwork
in a separate artwork directory,
rather than in the files themselves or their directories?
I assume SlimServer doesn't (yet) know about this.

I must admit, I am hoping for a patch release for iTunes before I touch
version 7, as nice as the new features sound!

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not intend to waive confidentiality or privilege. Use of this email is prohibited when received in error.


Yes, its in a different folder. But it doesn't keep the artwork as JPEGs, but as ITC files. I have no idea what those are.

Craig, James (IT)
2006-09-19, 09:45
> Yes, its in a different folder. But it doesn't keep the artwork as
> JPEGs, but as ITC files. I have no idea what those are.

This should be helpful for the developers:
http://blog.skuldtek.com/2006/09/16/albumartworkxtractor-extract-album-a
rtwork-from-itunes-7/
"A quick look at one of these files shows that there is 492 bytes of
header data followed by a JPEG image."

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not intend to waive confidentiality or privilege. Use of this email is prohibited when received in error.

mikerob
2006-09-19, 12:38
I haved raised Bug ID 4151 (http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=4151) for this issue.

bishopdonmiguel
2006-09-20, 05:22
Follow-up... confirmed this isn't (solely) related to QT 7.1.3. AAC/M4A tracks encoded under iTunes 7 (QT713) scan & play fine if artwork is not embedded within the file (tracks with referenced artwork also okay). Once artwork is embedded, slimserver can't handle the track... although FAAD appears to decode properly. I've added comments to bugs 4143 and 4151.