PDA

View Full Version : Using FLAC files



Jig
2006-09-14, 11:26
Hi all, running a couple of SB1's on a RedHat 8 server and Slimserver 6.3.1 .. been using mp3's for years and it's fine, but I thought I'd give FLAC a go.

So I ripped a CD using EAC and FLAC, replaced the mp3 files in my music directory with the new flac files (tested with FLAC frontend), but when I rescanned the server, the files disappeared from the browse list. So, currently, I have a directory full of .flac files that Slimserver does not see. I've double checked the permissions and they're ok (555).

Is there anything I can do to check the files and/or work out why Slimserver doesn't like them?

radish
2006-09-14, 11:34
Can you see/play the files if you use Browse Music Folder?

Jig
2006-09-14, 11:37
good hit - yes, I can...

radish
2006-09-14, 11:38
Now once you've done that do they now show up in the regular browsing modes (Artist, Album, etc) ? Using Browse Music Folder _should_ add the tracks data to the db as a side effect.

Jig
2006-09-14, 11:43
yep, you're right - they're there now. What's my next step to get the rescan to work correctly?

radish
2006-09-14, 11:54
Ahh... the million dollar question :) The first thing I'd try is deleting the db file. I'm not sure where it is on redhat but someone else (or the forum search) should be able to help. Delete that, restart, and do a full rescan. See what happens. If that doesn't work there are debug options we can try.

SteveEast
2006-09-14, 12:00
Just checking - you did do a clear and rescan rather than just scanning for changes?

Steve.

Jig
2006-09-14, 12:01
No, I just rescanned for changes... I've just kicked off a clear and rescan...

Jig
2006-09-14, 13:25
seems to be coming up ok now - perhaps it did not like the fact that there were already mp3 entries in there?

Only one other question - the genre is showing as a different one to that which shows in the FLAC frontend, what's the best way for managing FLAC tags?

And thanks for your help guys.. :)

SteveEast
2006-09-14, 13:42
seems to be coming up ok now - perhaps it did not like the fact that there were already mp3 entries in there?

Only one other question - the genre is showing as a different one to that which shows in the FLAC frontend, what's the best way for managing FLAC tags?

And thanks for your help guys.. :)

Yeah, I saw the same problem when I replaced a bunch of .m4p files with .m4a.

Can't really help you on the tags, I'm afraid. I use foobar200 to tag my ripped FLACs.

Steve.

Mark Lanctot
2006-09-14, 14:39
Mp3tag can manage FLAC tags just fine.

blazerte
2006-09-14, 15:02
easyTag works well with flac files as well.

mjt5282
2006-09-14, 18:36
here is a 2nd recommendation for mp3tag, http://www.mp3tag.de/
It does all tags for me except AIFF.

Jig
2006-09-15, 04:16
Thanks all, I used mp3tag and it worked fine.

I also ended up moving my .db file and regenerating it from scratch as a number of tags were showing up incorrectly, duplicates etc.

Now just off to go and do a listening test to see if I can tell the difference with the flac files!

Thanks for all your help.
Jig