PDA

View Full Version : Wireless Storage

Shags
2006-09-10, 04:35
Afraid I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to servers and NAS.

I'm looking for a wireless server or NAS that people can recommend for use with SB3. I've got about 250GB of music to store.

Any and all help really appreciated.

Cheers

Clive

Paul_B
2006-09-10, 05:27
Can always use a wireless bridge to connect a wired NAS to your wireless infrastructure

aubuti
2006-09-10, 06:31
As Paul suggested, a wireless bridge will work. But often it makes more sense to place the NAS near your router (or any place you have a wired ethernet port) and use a wired connection, as you'll get faster and more reliable data transmission that way. And if wiring it directly isn't an option, you should at least consider connecting it via homeplus adapters (e.g., Netgear, Devolo).

bpa
2006-09-10, 06:50
Below is a Wireless NAS server/router - people have installed slimserver on the non-wireless version. Its performance would be like an NSLU2 which has similar processor (i.e. scanning may takes hours).

http://www.freecom.com/ecproduct_detail.asp?ID=2964&CatID=8070&sCatID=1146629&ssCatID=1146629

Michaelwagner
2006-09-10, 07:22
I'm going to be boring and chime in with my usual rant about wireless. It's inherently unstable, it depends a lot on who all your future neighbours are going to be and what toys they might buy (that you can't control) that might have poor quality control and spray radio frequency garbage in your general direction.

Having your storage unit go offline during microwaved popcorn isn't a good idea. Microwaved popcorn takes 3 to 5 minutes, and that's more time than the size of a buffer in an SB3. And with some newer, larger microwave units, you can cook a turkey. Half an hour!