PDA

View Full Version : Best Wireless Access Point for use with SB3?



Rigel
2006-09-02, 07:12
I've concluded that my D-Link DI-624 is going to have to be trashed because it cannot properly handle SB3 traffic without severe degradation of my Internet traffic (to the point of it not being usable).

I have 1 desktop running XP Home and 1 laptop running XP home and the SB3. My DSL line clocks in at about 425 kbps up and 1700 kbps down.

I want WPA-AES, PSK, MAC filtering, stable and fast connection, firmware updatable, I only have 802.11g devices, disabled signal broadcast, configurable IP LAN addressing, PPPoE connection, DHCP server

So, what wireless access point device should I buy? What experiences does anyone have with a setup similar to mine? bgriffis suggested the Linksys WRT54GL - is this the right one from me to buy?

Appreciate any guidance -

autopilot
2006-09-02, 07:35
I have a Linksys WAP54G, which works flawlessly with my SB3 and other wireless devices. However, i think you are looking for a router, rather than an access point.

DavidB
2006-09-02, 08:47
I used to have a DI-624, but as a result, I would never buy anything from D-Link again. The DI-624 couldn't even stay alive as a switch for more than 4 hours, let alone with wireless.

Switched to a WRT54G and have never looked back.

Good luck.

johnmac
2006-09-02, 09:18
Hi
Another Dlink failure here,I had three of them DI-624 if I remember correctly,not one of them would stay connected full time to the net.

Switched to Netgear DG834GT 108 model about a year ago,never looked back,never fails and good throughput.

Use the added Netgear wireless print server as well.

Good Kit

Cheers

JohnMac

scalesr1
2006-09-02, 09:24
I have been using a Dlink router dsl-604T and a DWL-2000AP+ access point for
what seems like forever and have had superb service from them (3 x SB2
Wireless)

I have also installed over 100 DSL-604's (some were the DSL-G604 wireless
variant) and I did have some issues with encryption when the SB3 first came
out but these were resolved with later SB3 firmware.

I have several clients using Dlink access points with SB2/SB3 and they have
had no problems at all with their WiFi.

In general I have found that using a WAP has always been faultless but
routers were an issue once.

Just my 2p!

Richard Scales




-----Original Message-----
From: DavidB [mailto:DavidB.2dil1b1157212201 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com]
Sent: 02 September 2006 16:48
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Re: Best Wireless Access Point for use with SB3?


I used to have a DI-624, but as a result, I would never buy anything
from D-Link again. The DI-624 couldn't even stay alive as a switch for
more than 4 hours, let alone with wireless.

Switched to a WRT54G and have never looked back.

Good luck.


--
DavidB
------------------------------------------------------------------------
DavidB's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=7233
View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=26968

cunobelinus@mac.com
2006-09-02, 09:50
Interesting how experiences vary. I (perforce - broadband speed
upgrade, allegedly, but that's another story) moved to the same
Netgear router about the same time, and had nothing but trouble with
it until they eventually released some new firmware a few months
back. At one stage I was rebooting it every ten minutes, and I wasn't
even using the wireless. (Perhaps it was because I run Macs. Dunno!)
But I had previously had no trouble at all with an old, DLink since
passed on to a friend.......

On the wireless side, I use an Airport Extreme base station, with
Airport Express to reinforce the network in the room with the SB2.
Works a treat 95 per cent of the time (unless, I suspect, the
neighbours are microwaving a curry).

On 2 Sep 2006, at 17:18, johnmac wrote:

>
> Hi
> Another Dlink failure here,I had three of them DI-624 if I remember
> correctly,not one of them would stay connected full time to the net.
>
> Switched to Netgear DG834GT 108 model about a year ago,never looked
> back,never fails and good throughput.
>
> Use the added Netgear wireless print server as well.
>
> Good Kit
>
> Cheers
>
> JohnMac
>
>
> --
> johnmac
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> --
> johnmac's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?
> userid=7271
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=26968
>
>

Mark Lanctot
2006-09-02, 12:04
I would second the WRT54GL.

BTW it's a G*L*. Don't get the WRT54G (no "L") because you'll probably end up with a v5 or v6 unit, much less capable and performs worse than the "L" version.

Also note that WPA-AES is not an official combination and is not supported by the Squeezebox. WPA2-AES is, and the WRT54GL is compatible.

SoftwireEngineer
2006-09-02, 15:09
I have a Netgear WPN824 MIMO wireless router. This replaced a 2 yrs old MS MN-700 which could not provide connectivity to one end of my house downstairs from its upstairs location. Maybe, there was a problem because I can see five networks around my house. The Netgear is flawless (Suggested by a SlimDevices Tech Support person).

stevo
2006-09-02, 22:03
I have been running a DI624 for a couple of years.

With the Squeezebox it has worked quite well - the limiting factor being the computer (doesn't like backing up and running DRC at the same time, but then it is 4 years old and due for upgrade).

I have not noticed any slowdown in my wireless network since I got the SB3. We had 6 computers on the internet last week and 4 were wireless.

I played with the channels and selected one that wasn't in use in the neighbourhood already - just in case. I run the Dlink with Super G without Turbo and extended range mode enabled.

I really can't fault it and I use wireless for real time share data feeds on a trading platform - making trades whilst listening to music.

regards
Stevo

jalessi
2006-09-03, 06:38
You can get an older inexpensive WRT54G from eBay for less than $50 and upgrade the firmware to DD-WRT and have a $600 router.

RiccardoR
2006-09-03, 10:07
I use a Negear DG834G: no problem with any products (Squeezebox 3, Dlink Airplus pcmcia, others wireless PC). DHCP works well (but I put a static IP for slimserver and Squeezebox so they recognize each other).
RR