PDA

View Full Version : Help please I cant get my own Internet Radion stations to play



Gerry
2006-08-31, 05:39
I am quite new to SB3. My Itunes music plays Ok and so do the preset internet radio choices in Slimserver. However, I am having problems adding my own radio station choices.
I have entered the Url's into 'radio tune-in'. They appear in the right hand Music Player window and indicate the station is 'now playing'.
The SB3 displays the same URL information but no sound I have tried the URL for both the following
BBC Radio 2
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/networks/radio2/live.shtml
and Smooth FM
http://northwest.smoothfm.com/player.asp

both URL's play directly using the computer
What am I doing wrong?

mherger
2006-08-31, 05:48
> BBC Radio 2
> http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/networks/radio2/live.shtml

This is a web page containing a real player stream, not a playlist. You
should install AlienBBC on SlimServer to play BBC radio. Search the forums
for a _lot_ of information about that plugin.

> and Smooth FM
> http://northwest.smoothfm.com/player.asp

Again a web page, not a playlist. Try the following address instead:

http://streaming.gmgradio.com/live/wm_northwest.asx

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

smc2911
2006-08-31, 05:50
The BBC streams using RealAudio, which SB/Slimserver do not support out of the box. However, you can use the AlienBBC plugin to get that sorted: see http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?PluginsAudio
and I suspect that your other stream is RealAudio too.

Gerry
2006-08-31, 06:02
I will try that now.

Gerry
2006-08-31, 07:19
The Mplayer crashed

MPlayer 1.0pre8-3.4.2 (C) 2000-2006 MPlayer Team
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+ (Family: 6, Model: 8, Stepping: 1)
CPUflags: MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 1 3DNow2: 1 SSE: 0 SSE2: 0
Compiled with runtime CPU detection.

STREAM_HTTP(1), URL: http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio1/realaudio/media/r1live.rpm
Resolving www.bbc.co.uk for AF_INET...
Connecting to server www.bbc.co.uk[212.58.227.78]: 80...
Cache size set to 128 KBytes

Playing rtsp://rmlivev8.bbc.net.uk/farm/*/ev7/live24/radio1/live/r1_dsat_g2.ra.
STREAM_RTSP, URL: rtsp://rmlivev8.bbc.net.uk/farm/*/ev7/live24/radio1/live/r1_ds
at_g2.ra
Resolving rmlivev8.bbc.net.uk for AF_INET...
Connecting to server rmlivev8.bbc.net.uk[212.58.224.68]: 554...
Cache size set to 128 KBytes
Cache fill: 18.75% (24576 bytes)
REAL file format detected.
Stream description: Audio Stream
Stream mimetype: audio/x-pn-multirate-realaudio-live
demux_real: invalid chunksize! (0)
Clip info:
name: BBC Radio 1
author: BBC
copyright: (C) British Broadcasting Corporation 2006
================================================== ========================
Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders


MPlayer interrupted by signal 11 in module: init_audio_codec
- MPlayer crashed by bad usage of CPU/FPU/RAM.
Recompile MPlayer with --enable-debug and make a 'gdb' backtrace and
disassembly. Details in DOCS/HTML/en/bugreports_what.html#bugreports_crash.
- MPlayer crashed. This shouldn't happen.
It can be a bug in the MPlayer code _or_ in your drivers _or_ in your
gcc version. If you think it's MPlayer's fault, please read
DOCS/HTML/en/bugreports.html and follow the instructions there. We can't and
won't help unless you provide this information when reporting a possible bug.
Press any key to continue . . .

bpa
2006-08-31, 07:28
If you using Windows - this problem can be caused by some processors (e.g AMD Athlon T'bird, VIA).

What OS and what processor are you using.

If you using Windows, unzip and replace mplayer by the following
http://homepage.eircom.net/~altondsl/slim/mplayer.zip

This is a later version of mplayer and cured this problem for one user recently.

Gerry
2006-08-31, 07:38
The processor is
AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+ (Family: 6, Model: 8, Stepping: 1)

I am running windows XP with Sp2

I will try your Mplayer version now and let you know

Gerry
2006-08-31, 08:05
The test run was Ok and did not crash, the BBC Radio 1 worked fine at the computer end. I restarted slimserver and clicked on the AlienBBC entry and the left window went blank ( all white) the right window still shows the last entry. The SB3 screen initially indicated it was scanning the music library, when this completed I am able to see AlienBBC and can select Radio1, Radio2 etc, I get a mesage 'connecting' followed by the display showing the selected station but still no music. I have checked the revision and am on 8468 of slimserver.

bpa
2006-08-31, 08:16
Couple of possible reasons.

1. Networking timeout - go to Server Settings/Network and change Radio Station Timeout from 5 to 20. Try again.

2. Some AV software stops AlienBBC from working. If still no sound - what Firewall / AntiVirus software are you using ?

Gerry
2006-08-31, 08:35
I changed the timeout as suggested from 5 to 20. The left slimserver window goes white(blank) each time I select AlienBBC however the SB3 allows me to see and select the stations. The right Slimserver music player window indicates the radio station selected on the SB3.

I am using Windows XP standard firewall it is however currently off - it has exceptions for Slimserver ports. I am using McAfee antivirus together with Spyfighter protection for registry and spyware protection. Pop up blocker is via SecureIE.

bpa
2006-08-31, 08:46
Does refresh on the browser fixup the right side.

It's possible McAfee is causing problems.

Replace the file socketwrapper.exe by the one at this URL (unzip first and save original socketwrapper_ in case we need to revert.
http://homepage.eircom.net/~altondsl/slim/socketwrapper_0.12_20060220.zip

Gerry
2006-08-31, 09:10
I can confirm that the right window of Slimserver (music player) is auto-refreshing itsleft and displays correctly any change in radio stations made via the remote player. The left window goes blank (white) each time I select AlienBBC If I then select 'refresh' I return to the Home page menu in the left slimserver window. I just thought I should mention that I am using wireless link to the PC via a netgear WGR614V6 router (with the latest version firmware) this has a firewall as well (I believe) so that could be another factor.

bpa
2006-08-31, 09:59
Are you sure you installed the correct version of AlienBBC for the Slimserver you are running ?

What version of slimserver are you running ?
What was the name of the file you used to install AlienBBC ?

Gerry
2006-08-31, 11:47
AlienBBcv1.05_6.5.exe from the path you sent.
Slimserver_v6.3.1.exe
Socketwrapper_0.12_20060220.zip
I also downloaded
lame3.97b3.zip
which I found mentioned somewhere in the AlienBBC Installation details

bpa
2006-08-31, 12:05
You are running Slimserver 6.3.1 so you should be using AlienBBC for 6.3 - you have the version for 6.5 installed.

The URL below gives the EXE for 6.3 installation.

http://www.x2systems.com/alienbbc/AlienBBC-v1.05_6.2.exe

Edit:
because of your processor - you'll need to update mplayer. Leave socketwrapper as is for the moment.

Gerry
2006-08-31, 12:10
The following all seem to operate OK
Shoutcast, LMA, Slimdevices Picks, Radioio and Podcasts

We seem to be close with AlienBBC in that we have now have the selection lists working between the SB3 and the server and displaying as 'playing'.

The two issues are the blank screen when AlienBBC is selected on the server menu and no audio when any BBC radio is selected.

bpa
2006-08-31, 12:39
So the symptoms haven't changed after re-installing AlienBBC version for 6.3 and restarting Slimserver.

From web page Server Setting/Debugging - check the d_source check box and open the log window by clicking on the hyperlinked word "here" at the top LHS.

Select a BBC stations and then copy the log from where Slimserver is matching stream formats.

Gerry
2006-08-31, 12:39
I have downloaded the file before I unzip and install I just wanted to check if I need to delete anything first and check which floder the new files should be put in

bpa
2006-08-31, 12:43
We're crossing messages.

1. Stop slimserver
2. Keep a copy of the working Mplayer.
3. Delete the Alien folder in Plugins.
4. Run the install program AlienBBC-v1.05_6.2.exe - it is NOT zip file. I though I corrected the post to point to the EXE.
5. Start slimserver

Gerry
2006-08-31, 12:52
MPlayer 1.0pre8-3.4.2 (C) 2000-2006 MPlayer Team
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+ (Family: 6, Model: 8, Stepping: 1)
CPUflags: MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 1 3DNow2: 1 SSE: 0 SSE2: 0
Compiled with runtime CPU detection.

STREAM_HTTP(1), URL: http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio1/realaudio/media/r1live.rpm
Resolving www.bbc.co.uk for AF_INET...
Connecting to server www.bbc.co.uk[212.58.224.124]: 80...
Cache size set to 128 KBytes

Playing rtsp://rmlivev8.bbc.net.uk/farm/*/ev7/live24/radio1/live/r1_dsat_g2.ra.
STREAM_RTSP, URL: rtsp://rmlivev8.bbc.net.uk/farm/*/ev7/live24/radio1/live/r1_ds
at_g2.ra
Resolving rmlivev8.bbc.net.uk for AF_INET...
Connecting to server rmlivev8.bbc.net.uk[212.58.225.95]: 554...
Cache size set to 128 KBytes
Cache fill: 18.75% (24576 bytes)
REAL file format detected.
Stream description: Audio Stream
Stream mimetype: audio/x-pn-multirate-realaudio-live
demux_real: invalid chunksize! (0)
Clip info:
name: BBC Radio 1
author: BBC
copyright: (C) British Broadcasting Corporation 2006
================================================== ========================
Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders

Confirmed that I kept the Mplayer.exe and have deleted and replaced Alien folder

MPlayer interrupted by signal 11 in module: init_audio_codec
- MPlayer crashed by bad usage of CPU/FPU/RAM.
Recompile MPlayer with --enable-debug and make a 'gdb' backtrace and
disassembly. Details in DOCS/HTML/en/bugreports_what.html#bugreports_crash.
- MPlayer crashed. This shouldn't happen.
It can be a bug in the MPlayer code _or_ in your drivers _or_ in your
gcc version. If you think it's MPlayer's fault, please read
DOCS/HTML/en/bugreports.html and follow the instructions there. We can't and
won't help unless you provide this information when reporting a possible bug.
Press any key to continue . . .

bpa
2006-08-31, 13:14
The crash is because you have re-installed the older version of mplayer as part of the AlienBBC install.

Replace mplayer with the one which worked which you saved before doing the re-install.

Gerry
2006-08-31, 13:35
Its now playing BBC and the Slimserver menu and Music player windows are all BBC are functioning correctly.

I was given the URL for smoothfm as
http://streaming.gmradio.com/live/wm_northwest.asx

What do I need to do to get this working in a menu somewhere?

bpa
2006-08-31, 13:56
If you're based in the UK then you can paste the URL into the Radio Tune in box. Once it is working then add it to your favorites.

I can't test the stream but some WMA streams may not work.

Gerry
2006-08-31, 14:04
I will give that a try. Yes I am over near Manchester, I owe you a pint of the black stuff sometime.