PDA

View Full Version : Qnap TS-101 Firmware Update 29/08/06



ultra238a
2006-08-31, 03:43
Hiya,

Ok Qnap have released a firmware update that now includes the Twonky UPnP Media Server.

I have installed and tested it and it doesn't seem to have any issues with SlimServer apart from they share the same port.

Currently there doesn't seem to be a way of changing the port number for the Twonky software from 9000 (I have put in a request to allow end users to be able to change this like you can on the other functions). Obviously to stop things clashing with SlimServer you can go in to the SlimServer Server Settings and change the Web Server port in the Network section. I have changed mine to 8000 and it seems to be fine.

http://www.qnap.com.tw/download_detail.asp?pl=1&p_mn=TS-101&ct_name=Firmware

bonze
2006-08-31, 05:56
Anyone else have problems getting into the QNAP site??

Maybe the update could be added to the 'Update Page'

consciouspnm
2006-08-31, 06:59
What's the state of the previous firmware (1.2.0), it doesn't appear to be on your update site. Are we supposed to get it from QNAP directly?

audiofi
2006-08-31, 07:01
If anyone could try using Twonky once updated, that would be great and I'll add it to the compatible NAS devices for Terratec Noxon, Roku etc.

On the old Windows versions, the ip was stored in an ini file in the Windows directory if it helps

ultra238a
2006-08-31, 08:32
I have uploaded it to the Update site.

www.progressiveav.com/ts101_update

Thanks

rwong
2006-08-31, 21:24
silly question - what kind of devices work with this media server?

is there a client that other computer can install or is this purely for consumer AV components to access the NAS?

mherger
2006-08-31, 21:50
silly question - what kind of devices work with this media server?

Which media server? Slimserver? Then it's the SliMP3, SB1/2/3, Transporter and many more which can handle simple .mp3 streams.

TwonkyVision is IMHO one of the most compatible UPnP servers out there which should run with many/most UPnP devices.

rwong
2006-08-31, 23:13
the twonky media server

does the squeezebox work with the twonky media server?

mherger
2006-08-31, 23:17
does the squeezebox work with the twonky media server?

No, you'll need SlimServer or Squeezenetwork to run a Squeezebox

RichP
2006-09-01, 02:46
I have uploaded it to the Update site.

www.progressiveav.com/ts101_update

Thanks

Paul,

Besides Twonky are there any other fixes/improvements in the new firmware? Can't seem to connect to the QNAP site to check the release notes myself.

Cheers,

Richard

ultra238a
2006-09-01, 04:26
I have tested a number of UPnP products today and they all work straight out of the box.

Feature set is low compared to Slimserver obviously but it seems to work well.

audiofi
2006-09-01, 13:44
I have tested a number of UPnP products today and they all work straight out of the box.

Feature set is low compared to Slimserver obviously but it seems to work well.

Thanks for checking, I have added it to each of the UPnP pages

TonyCharman
2006-09-07, 10:11
The only firmware currently on the update site is Firmware Update v1.2.1 build 0822* Which I think is the latest but the date is 06/04/06

Paul_B
2006-09-07, 11:46
Could it be 04/06/06 in English date format? 1.2.1 is the version on my QNAP which I updated a few days ago.

bonze
2006-09-07, 12:17
I think the download was updated to 1.2.1, but the date wasn't changed from the download that was previously available :)

Seineseeker
2006-09-08, 08:20
Sorry to be ignorant, but what would I want Twonky for?

audiofi
2006-09-08, 10:10
Its a media server for the 'other' devices, Roku, Terratec Noxon, Netgear MP101

It is just a streamer though, no fancy features, web interface etc.

lomondview
2006-09-10, 08:28
Hi,

Newbie here in need of help...

Just updated my TS-101 to Version 1.2.1 (Build 0822). Install went ok. UPnP Media Server is disabled. Somehow I've lost access to Slimserver. Can't see it on port 9000, or any other that I care to try. :(

Is there anyway to find out whether it is running and which port it's associated with?

Many thanks

Dave

ultra238a
2006-09-18, 02:27
Disable the Media Server and SlimServer should return. Both work on port 9000 so you need to go into the SlimServer server settings and change the port number (I use 8000) so they don't clash.

Thanks

Seineseeker
2006-09-20, 10:11
Do we all need to update the firmware with this version?

The progressive page lists
Firmware Update v1.2.1 build 0822 as being 06/04/06

But the QNAP site lists
TS-101 Version 1.2.1-Build 0822 as being 28/08/09

Are they the same or different.
Do I update from the QNAP site? Do I need to do this?

ultra238a
2006-09-20, 10:23
Doh! My fault for not having enough time to edit the page correctly.

The version on our site is the same as the Qnap one.

Seineseeker
2006-09-20, 10:33
Doh! My fault for not having enough time to edit the page correctly.

The version on our site is the same as the Qnap one.

Yeah and I suppose you are going to pull that paternity leave excuse on us again aren't you Paul ;)