PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade to 6.5



ceepan
2006-08-30, 10:40
If I want to upgrade from my 6.2.2 build to 6.5, can I just run the install over the top of the existing directory? Will this presrve my preferences and Plugins?

Thanks,
Paul

brucegrr
2006-08-30, 11:06
I would do a clean install.

In my case anyway.......upgrading from 6.3 to 6.5 resulted in some "old" stuff being left behind that caused conflict. (i.e bizarre display issues with random mix)

You could try to upgrade over the top of your current install and "see" what happens :) If all works fine.....great. If not, THEN you can do a clean install.

Of course you will want to back up your files.

NY2006
2006-08-30, 11:15
"If I want to upgrade from my 6.2.2 build to 6.5, can I just run the install over the top of the existing directory? Will this presrve my preferences and Plugins?

Thanks,
Paul"


Paul,

I would uninstall all first the install 6.5...Just rememeber to add the plugins again later.

aubuti
2006-08-30, 11:19
Also note that some plugins have been substantially re-written for 6.5 (e.g., LastFM and SlimScrobbler). If that applies to any of your plugins, you'll need to download and install the new versions. And make sure you backup your slimserver preferences file just in case.