PDA

View Full Version : wireless config menu?



suniil
2006-08-25, 18:02
i've sourced a second hand wireless SB1 and successfully setup via Ethernet connection.

When i try to configure wireless, i cannot find any menu option for wireless.

what i can see after a power re-cycle

a. welcome menu
b. setup up networking (up/down arrows display options done settings, view current settings)
c. right arrow straight goes to ip address enter mode / dhcp finder mode

cannot find any option for wireless (SB1 is definite wireless box as it has an antenna and bottom of box says wireless mac id as well)

my dlink wifi router supports both b/g.

any help much appreciated

many thanks
sunil

Ross L
2006-08-25, 18:51
After setup networking you hit the right arrow and you SHOULD see:


Press UP/DOWN to change, RIGHT to go on
Connect to an ethernet network

At this point you can hit up/down to toggle to wireless.

If you're not seeing the wireless option there you might want to contact who you got the SB1 from, and ask if it was problematic. In any case, you can email support AT slimdevices DOT com and request an RMA if you're certain its a wireless model and the wireless isn't working.

suniil
2006-08-26, 00:31
In the event of Right arrow press from SETUP NETWORKING asks for static ip address and up/down arrow keys toggle between options for entering static IP or obtain IP from DHCP



After setup networking you hit the right arrow and you SHOULD see:

Press UP/DOWN to change, RIGHT to go on
Connect to an ethernet network

At this point you can hit up/down to toggle to wireless.

davep
2006-08-26, 02:25
Taking the risk of suggesting service methods in a thread in which an official SD service representative has already participated, I will say that this is possibly an unseated wireless card. This happened to me once a long time ago on my SB1 and I fixed it easily and quickly. You do however have to be prepared to open up the box but, since I doubt your SB is under any kind of warranty, you have little to lose.

I recall it needed a somewhat specialised screwdriver (torx?) to get in, but once inside it was a matter of moments to push the card firmly back into its socket. That did the trick for me and I could once again see the wireless set up option.

davep

suniil
2006-08-30, 05:43
Thanks dave for the help, though it was not exact problem but your help leads to indentify the issue.

I've replaced the wireless card with another one and got it working.


I will say that this is possibly an unseated wireless card.