PDA

View Full Version : Annoying menu navigation ( "now playing")



topa
2006-08-23, 14:23
Hi all!
I'm really annoyed by the navigation within the menu of the squeezebox, which irrelevantly keeps displaying "now playing". Can this be changed somehow, or am I too stupid?

Let me explain when this occurs and why it's so annoying:

To play a song, I go into "browse artist", and by clicking "right", pick an artist and play his song. Fine! But now I want to pick another artist next, and play his song. So, I hit the "left" (=back) button to leave the artist's menu, and get back to my starting point "browse artist". But instead of returning to the "browse artist" menu which I'de find logic, I end up in the stupid "now playing" menu although I know perfectly well what's playing as I just left that menu on the way back and in search of the next artist!!! Now I have to again take the detour of pressing "down" and start out new from "browse artist".

Thanks for your help,
Regards,
Tobi.

mherger
2006-08-23, 14:40
> I'm really annoyed by the navigation within the menu of the squeezebox,
> which irrelevantly keeps displaying "now playing".

Use the "Now playing (jump back on wake)" screensaver (web interface ->
player settings). Or my MusicInfoSCR ;-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

topa
2006-08-23, 14:47
That was oh so easy!
Never noticed that option, thank you.

What's the "MusicInfoSCR"? A plugin?

Regards,
Tobi.

mherger
2006-08-23, 15:05
> What's the "MusicInfoSCR"? A plugin?

Yes, it's my replacement for the built-in "Now playing" screensaver:

http://www.herger.net/MusicInfoSCR

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

topa
2006-08-23, 15:40
Thanks!
I'll have a look at your homepage.

However I noticed a different Menu issue with my SB3 now:

If I press "fwd" within an Album to play the next song, the next track will only display very briefly (1sec) and then the display jumps back to the previous track, whilst playing the new one.

Then it takes a while until the Screensaver you gave me kicks in, and it then displays the correct info to the track playing. Strange...

Tobi.

topa
2006-08-23, 16:27
I've played with all settings back and forth now again, it's either
the first problem I described, or that's fixed, but the display lacks tracking of the "fwd" button if you skip to the next song within an album....

mherger
2006-08-24, 00:09
I've lost track of what you've done between your different postings. Could
you please give us some more information:

- SlimServer version
- screensaver settings for the three different modes
- what you see and don't like

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Andyoz
2006-08-24, 00:54
Oh, thanks for answering that "Now Playing" display question. It's been driving me nuts and I'd never took the time to try and sort it out.

topa
2006-08-24, 02:03
Hi Michael,
thank you for taking the time to help me with this.
All versions are the current, I just rechecked.

I'll try and recapitulate (from memory) what I've done:

1)
Initial problem with factory setting was that I kept coming back to "now playing" when scrolling left although I hadn't started out there, as described more in depth in post one.

2)
As you proposed, I set the stock "now playing" screensaver to "jump back on wake". This cured the intial problem "1)" but introduced a new issue, which also appears with your plugin. (Probably as both do the same). With this setting now, the navigation by "left" "right" is just fine, but the navigation by "fwd" for playing the next song on an album is goofed up. Doing so, it does not display the next song anymore at first, until the screen saver kicks in. Equally annoying as the first problem, especially if you skip through a few songs with "fwd" and although your somewhere towards the end of the album, it still displays track one.
(***This will be relevant later: With these settings described here, the box
keeps doing so every time, as opposed to my nearly there solution described in "4)"***)

3)
I then tried out various settings within the screensaver menu, and although I posted once I found the solution, I was wrong and had to delete that again. (Did I confuse you there Michael?). I also tried your plugin, same result. At 2:30am, I finally gave up and went to bed.

4)
Now comes the interesting part, I hadn't posted here yet:
This morning, I had an idea and did a complete factory reset and went back to standard "now playing" screensavers without the "jump back" option, and simply deleted the menu-point "now playing" which can be done on the next page of the player configuration. The result is almost what I wanted, but has a strange life of it's own.

I can walk around the menus with "left" and "right", play songs and all that, and will always come back to the menu I had left prior, without ever seeing the "now playing" display. Just as desired.

BUT

After having picked an album and song, which now plays, and if I then hit "fwd" it will not display the next song analog to Problem "2)" but still the old one. THIS WILL HAPPEN UNTIL THE SCREENSAVER POPS IN FOR THE FIRST TIME. Thereafter, I can navigate around with "fwd" as desired, and it will show the correct song immediately. And I can also navigate back to whatever menu I came from with the "left" button. But if I pick another artist, and come into his album, and skip a song again with "fwd" the exact same thing happens again....it keeps displaying the old song until the screensaver pops in for the first time again.

Very strange.
I am pretty sure it's a bug, on the German forum people describe the "1)" and "2)" problems as well. I think nowbody has tried my "4)" approach to this yet... Which almost gets there. It cures both problems only just.


Tobi.

tommypeters
2006-08-24, 02:40
Try using the down-arrow to go to the next song, it requires one extra click but may be a stop-gap solution...?

topa
2006-08-24, 03:14
Hi!
Yeah, I know "down" and then "play" again...
but why can't it be straight forward & easy?

mherger
2006-08-24, 03:50
Hi Tobi

> As you proposed, I set the stock "now playing" screensaver to "jump
> back on wake". This cured the intial problem "1)" but introduced a new

You can set this for three different modes: for which of them did you do
it (while playing, idle, off?)

> issue, which also appears with your scrips. (Probably as both do the
> same). With this setting now, the navigation by "left" "right" is just
> fine, but the navigation by "fwd" for playing the next song on an album
> is goofed up. Doing so, it does not display the next song anymore at
> first, until the screen saver kicks in.

I think you're misinterpreting something: as you hit "fwd" the player is
"woken up", you're brought back to where it kicked in. As the screensaver
started when you were on your first song (I guess), you're brought back to
a track list with the first song displayed.

Let's take another example: you started some playback. While listening to
your music you go to the settings menu. You phone rings. While answering
the call the player's screensaver kicks in. A new song you don't like
while on the phone starts playing. You hit FWD to get to the next song. As
this wakes up the player you'll be back in the settings menu until the
screensaver kicks in again.

This is expected behaviour as per design. You could argue not to wake up
the player with FWD or REW (as do the volume buttons). Feel free to add
this as an enhancement request to http://bugs.slimdevices.com

> At 2:30am, I finally gave up and went to bed.

Good idea :-)

> This morning, I had an idea and did a complete factory reset and went
> back to standard "now playing" screensavers without the "jump back"
> option, and simply deleted the menu-point "now playing" which can be
> done on the next page of the player configuration. The result is almost
> what I wanted, but has a strange life of it's own.

That I can imagine. "Now playing" should imho never been removed. I don't
know whether this case is handled in the code... I would expect the
stranges of effects.

> I am pretty sure it's a bug, on the German forum people describe the
> "1)" and "2)" problems as well.

Could you please point me to those threads? Would be easier to explain in
German for me, too.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Patrick Dixon
2006-08-24, 07:54
This is expected behaviour as per design. You could argue not to wake up
the player with FWD or REW (as do the volume buttons). Feel free to add
this as an enhancement request to http://bugs.slimdevices.com
Good idea. Filed as Bug 3992 - http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3992