PDA

View Full Version : Music Magic - nothing mixable?



tfish77
2006-08-10, 05:12
I posted a bug about this issue (http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3903), but got a response that it's a support issue (probably meaning that I'm doing something wrong). Can anyone help me figure out what I might be doing wrong?

I got the latest MusicMagic (1.7) and made sure the API was running. I installed SlimServer 6.3.1. I enabled the MM plugin, set up some MM settings, and then checked "Use MusicMagic" on the main Server Settings page in SlimServer. I then did a "clear and rescan." My albums, tracks, and artists that were mixable via MM all had the little "MM" icon next to them, and clicking it made me a mix. So far, so good.

I tried the same sequence of events in SlimServer 6.5b1. My whole library shows up, but nothing has the "MM" icon. I checked the database (MySQL 5.0) and the "musicmagic_mixable" column is NULL for every track, album, and artist. I verified that the MusicMagic API is running, and that it was started before I started SlimServer.

Is there something I'm missing here that makes this not a bug? Am I forgetting something? Using "d_musicmagic" doesn't show anything unless I go into the Music IP Mixer app and manually send a mix to SlimServer. Then it shows me the tracks that got sent (and SlimServer plays the mix fine).

Thanks in advance for your advice.

woo
2006-08-10, 05:58
i'm not sure why they said this is a support issue. many people (myself included)have been unable to get music magic to work with 6.5 and no amount of trouble shooting seems to fix it.

tfish77
2006-08-10, 06:54
woo, would you mind posting to my bug report to let them know more people are experiencing this?

Thank you.

kdf
2006-08-10, 08:40
On 10-Aug-06, at 5:12 AM, tfish77 wrote:
>
> Is there something I'm missing here that makes this not a bug? Am I
> forgetting something? Using "d_musicmagic" doesn't show anything
> unless I go into the Music IP Mixer app and manually send a mix to
> SlimServer. Then it shows me the tracks that got sent (and SlimServer
> plays the mix fine).
>
you should see info when you run the scan if d_musicmagic is running.

try running from the command line so that you can see any and all
messages in the command prompt window.
c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe --d_musicmagic

There is nothing inherently wrong with MM or slimserver at this point
that prevents mixable icons from showing. I have it on my linux system
and my win2k system with MIP 1.7b4.

you could, however, have any number of bugs that is affecting the
scanner. some prevent the scan from completing. another thing is to
start by using only the mysql instance started by slimserver rather
than connecting to your own, just in case there is any issue there.
-kdf

kdf
2006-08-10, 08:43
On 10-Aug-06, at 6:54 AM, tfish77 wrote:

>
> woo, would you mind posting to my bug report to let them know more
> people are experiencing this?
>
and post command line terminal output of a scan with d_musicmagic and
d_scan enabled.
or run it to a logfile and attach that.
c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe --d_musicmagic --d_import
--d_scan --logfile c:\mylog.txt

most bug reports really should be run through support FIRST so that you
can provide relevant and useful details of the bug, avoiding the
affects of potentially OTHER bugs. This avoids wasting already
overtaxed developer bandwidth. so far, this is still not a bug as we
are STILL trying to diagnose the actual problem.
if MIP simply didn't work...it would be reproducable as such.
-kdf

tfish77
2006-08-10, 08:47
KDF - how do I tell SlimServer to use its own MySQL instance?

And as for your other comments: when I've emailed support in the past about 6.5 issues, they have told me to simply go back to 6.3.1. I like to use betas so A) I can get cool new functionality and B) I can help discover and properly document bugs to help the development team. So for this scenario, where should I be sending my log file? support@slimdevices.com? Forum post? Bug report?

Thanks for your help clarifying this - I want to be helpful with my bug reports, not just take up developers' time.

kdf
2006-08-10, 08:55
On 10-Aug-06, at 8:47 AM, tfish77 wrote:

>
> KDF - how do I tell SlimServer to use its own MySQL instance?
>
It should on it's own unless you altered the prefs at some point for
the db.
You mentioned using Mysql 5.0, so I assumed that you may have
redirected slimserver to use an existing set of tables in your own db.

--d_sql in the command line when you run the command I posted before
will tell which setup is being used. It will all end up in the log
file.
-k

tfish77
2006-08-10, 10:43
I am currently running with --d_musicmagic --d_import --d_scan --d_sql --d_mysql and running a wipe and rescan. Where should I post the logfile? Here or in the bug report?

Thanks.

kdf
2006-08-10, 11:26
Quoting tfish77 <tfish77.2cc50z1155231902 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I am currently running with --d_musicmagic --d_import --d_scan --d_sql
> --d_mysql and running a wipe and rescan. Where should I post the
> logfile? Here or in the bug report?

please attach it to the bug report. there is a link for creating
attachements on the report form.
-kdf

Wirrunna
2006-08-10, 15:44
Michael Herger posted this technique to get tracks mixable - http://forums.slimdevices.com/showpost.php?p=124707&postcount=21

woo
2006-08-10, 18:03
Michael Herger posted this technique to get tracks mixable - http://forums.slimdevices.com/showpost.php?p=124707&postcount=21

this didn't work for me with 6.5. in fact when i tried this only 3000 of my 24K tracks appeared in the database. there were no errors in my debug log, but i will try again when i get home.

i think some of the problems may be with running mm as a service rather than with the application. with the app running i can see mood mixes, but still not mix tracks. i am using this technique to start the service:


1. Install the service of MusicIP in Dos Box. Go to the directory of MusicIP and type "MusicmagicServer install"

2. Add the following value to your Registry using regedit:

Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\slimsvc\
Value Name: DependOnService
Value Type: REG_MULTI_SZ
Value Data: MusicIP Server

3. Reboot

Everytime you boot the slimserver will start the musicip service automatically.
is there any reason why this should not work for me?

tfish77
2006-08-11, 09:40
woo - library size may indeed be the issue. I emailed Music IP support about this and got some interesting information (which I also posted to the bug report):

With the Music IP service running, try browsing to http://localhost:10002/api/songs?extended

SlimServer 6.5 tries to call that URL to retrieve a listing of all the songs Music IP knows about (at least I think that's why it makes that call). In my log file, the Slim Devices bug crew found that that URL was timing out. I tried browsing to it on my machine and it timed out for me as well.

Music IP recommended I use the new "paging" option which allows you to pull back a set number of tracks from Music IP at one time, like this:

http://localhost:10002/api/songs?page=0&results=100

That will return just the first 100 results (note that page is a 0-based index).

"If you enable paging, then you need to make sure to
change the parsing of the results, as the first thing returned will be the total number of items (so you can calculate how
many pages of data need to be retrieved)."

SlimServer 6.3 doesn't seem to make a call to api/songs?extended (I don't understand how it pulls data from Music IP) but I don't have the same problem in 6.3.

This may shed some light on your issue, since you said your library was about 23K tracks. Mine's 29K, so maybe we're having the same issue.

FYI, I'm running with the following debug flags (as recommended by Slim Devices): d_musicmagic, d_import, d_scan, d_sql

Dan Sully
2006-08-11, 09:51
* tfish77 shaped the electrons to say...

>woo - library size may indeed be the issue. I emailed Music IP support
>about this and got some interesting information (which I also posted to
>the bug report):

This does shed a lot of light on the issue.

>With the Music IP service running, try browsing to
>http://localhost:10002/api/songs?extended
>
>SlimServer 6.5 tries to call that URL to retrieve a listing of all the
>songs Music IP knows about (at least I think that's why it makes that
>call). In my log file, the Slim Devices bug crew found that that URL
>was timing out. I tried browsing to it on my machine and it timed out
>for me as well.

Yes, that's correct - we asked for that call so that we could make just 1
HTTP request to MusicIP instead of as many songs as you have.

>Music IP recommended I use the new "paging" option which allows you to
>pull back a set number of tracks from Music IP at one time, like this:
>
>http://localhost:10002/api/songs?page=0&results=100
>
>That will return just the first 100 results (note that page is a
>0-based index).

Hmm.. there will need to be some rework to suppor this.

>SlimServer 6.3 doesn't seem to make a call to api/songs?extended (I
>don't understand how it pulls data from Music IP) but I don't have the
>same problem in 6.3.

Also correct - the ?extended feature was introduced in 6.5

6.3 makes a request to MusicIP for every song.

-D
--
<iNoah> all your base class are belong to us

kdf
2006-08-11, 09:52
Quoting tfish77 <tfish77.2cdwwz1155314701 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

> SlimServer 6.3 doesn't seem to make a call to api/songs?extended (I
> don't understand how it pulls data from Music IP) but I don't have the
> same problem in 6.3.

6.3 requests each sone by id, which means a huge number of http
requests and teh overhead that goes with it.


> This may shed some light on your issue, since you said your library was
> about 23K tracks. Mine's 29K, so maybe we're having the same issue.
>
> FYI, I'm running with the following debug flags (as recommended by Slim
> Devices): d_musicmagic, d_import, d_scan, d_sql

avoid d_sql unless you REALLY feel you need to check the DB entries.
It is very chatty. The other flags are more than enough to see if
musicmagic importing itself is failing.

-kdf

tfish77
2006-08-11, 09:59
kdf - thanks for the info. That would explain why my log file was over 100 MB.

kdf
2006-08-11, 10:10
Quoting tfish77 <tfish77.2cdxlz1155315601 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> kdf - thanks for the info. That would explain why my log file was over
> 100 MB.

yup...that was a fun search :)
-k

Dan Sully
2006-08-11, 10:20
tfish - wanted to verify with you - did you try going to the
http://localhost:10002/api/songs?extended url in your browser?

Does it time out?

Thanks

-D
--
<iNoah> kernel's original recipe: 11 secret args and switches

tfish77
2006-08-11, 11:02
http://localhost:10002/api/songs?extended
Does it time out?


It took about 12 minutes, but it finally did load and showed me a huge page of track information.

Dan Sully
2006-08-11, 11:09
* tfish77 shaped the electrons to say...

>It took about 12 minutes, but it finally did load and showed me a huge
>page of track information.

Ok, thanks.

-D
--
Sir, are you classified as human?
Uhh, negative, I am a meat popsicle.

woo
2006-08-11, 16:53
it looks like you all are starting to get to the bottom of this. i won't be home until tomorrow, but I will try to do some testing then (i've got 24K tracks in my collection).

Dan Sully
2006-08-11, 17:00
* woo shaped the electrons to say...

>it looks like you all are starting to get to the bottom of this. i
>won't be home until tomorrow, but I will try to do some testing then
>(i've got 24K tracks in my collection).

The MusicIP beta 1.7b5 has a fix for this issue.

http://music.predixis.com/beta.html

Currently Windows only right now.

-D
--
<iNoah> all your base class are belong to us

Siduhe
2006-08-12, 06:34
And woo hoo ! It's working perfectly for me, all tracks are once again MIP-mixable in 6.5b1 and the problem with unicode characters has been fixed...

Thanks to Wendal, Dan et al for looking into this...

tfish77
2006-08-12, 16:25
I'm glad it's working for you guys, but for some reason now my scan is producing nothing! It's been 2 hours and I've got no tracks/albums/whatever in my database. Just dropped & rebuilt my schema and am trying again with logging. However, the Music IP API problem is definitely fixed - I can browse to localhost:10002/api/songs?extended and it pulls back all 29K tracks in no time.

woo
2006-08-13, 00:49
yes! my tracks now appear in full and are mixable. are moods playable from slimserver? i see my moods in the playlist window, but they are not mixable and selecting them plays the original tracks for that mood, not a mix derived from them.

kdf
2006-08-13, 00:56
On 13-Aug-06, at 12:49 AM, woo wrote:

>
> yes! my tracks now appear in full and are mixable. are moods playable
> from slimserver? i see my moods in the playlist window, but they are
> not mixable and selecting them plays the original tracks for that mood,
> not a mix derived from them.
>
what you see listed in playlists are only playlists. did you save them
as playlists in musicmagic as well as moods?
moods show up as a browse item, on systems that support moods.
-k

woo
2006-08-13, 01:11
what you see listed in playlists are only playlists. did you save them as playlists in musicmagic as well as moods?

I saved them as playlists (m3u files) and moods. they appear only in the playlist menu (ie- MusicMagic: ambient). for some reason my other playlists are mixable, but not the musicmagic playlists. binary moods don't appear at all.


moods show up as a browse item, on systems that support moods.

i don't see any place to browse my moods. what system does this require? i'm using windows xp.

kdf
2006-08-13, 01:28
On 13-Aug-06, at 1:11 AM, woo wrote:
>>
> i don't see any place to browse my moods. what system does this
> require? i'm using windows xp.
>
I couldn't tell you what sytems or what versions, binary or text.
d_musicmagic debugging if you want to look close or try the musicmagic
api directly:
http://localhost:10002/api/moods

-kdf

woo
2006-08-13, 05:47
the moods api page doesn't return anything. i'll contact predixis about that one. thanks

-dave

Siduhe
2006-08-13, 07:51
I'm glad it's working for you guys, but for some reason now my scan is producing nothing! It's been 2 hours and I've got no tracks/albums/whatever in my database.

Not sure if this helps, but I did a complete clear and rescan in Slimserver with MusicMagic switched off (in Slimserver first) and waited till that had completed. Then enabled MusicMagic and did another full clear and rescan. Slimserver runs through a complete scan and then adds the MM bits in at the end.

tfish77
2006-08-13, 08:57
I got it working now. Turns out it was working all along - in 6.3 it would tag tracks as "MM" as it went, in 6.5 it tags them all at the end - I just wasn't waiting long enough. Props to the Slim Devices bug team for diagnosing this and the Music IP developers for fixing it!

Dan Sully
2006-08-13, 09:04
* tfish77 shaped the electrons to say...

>I got it working now. Turns out it was working all along - in 6.3 it
>would tag tracks as "MM" as it went, in 6.5 it tags them all at the end
>- I just wasn't waiting long enough. Props to the Slim Devices bug team
>for diagnosing this and the Music IP developers for fixing it!

If your 'Music Folder' in SlimServer is the same as your Music Folder in
MusicIP, you can save some time, and unset the Music Folder in SlimServer.

-D
--
Do not panic, do not panic! We are trained professionals!
Now, stay calm. We are going around the leaf.

kdf
2006-08-13, 11:04
the moods api page doesn't return anything. i'll contact predixis about that one. thanks

-dave

cool. keep us posted.

I just found and fixed a problem with mixing on regular slimserver playlists.
-kdf

Wirrunna
2006-08-14, 15:03
Installed MusicIP 1.7b5 and SlimServer 6.5b1 - 8953 from the 2006-08-14.exe , ran a clear and rescan and it all worked.
Music IP - 13,034 mixable
SlimServer - 13,032.
The songs have the "mm" logo on the display and the plugin creates the mix when the play button is held.
Well done all.

mherger
2006-09-15, 05:57
the moods api page doesn't return anything. i'll contact predixis about that one.

Dave, did you ever find out anything about the missing moods? I experience the same problem: though I've saved two moods /api/moods doesn't show anything.

woo
2006-09-16, 07:44
no, i have never gotten moods to work with slimserver. let us know if you figure anything out.

mherger
2006-09-17, 13:56
> no, i have never gotten moods to work with slimserver. let us know if
> you figure anything out.

I continued in the Predixis forum before I notices it was you too over
there.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

bronnie
2006-09-18, 04:25
Hi,

Time for me here to give some of my observations on musicmagic integration. I'm running MusicIP 1.7 and the 6.5b3 at the moment on an windows 2003 platform.

Clearing out the default mp3 folder location does seem to work, however whether this is required and what are the differences, I haven't been able to really figure out.

Here's what I notice:
- still problems with special characters such as and that result in double entries (one with mm icon and one without, nothing mixable.. slimserver states a 'path not found'

- doing a fresh install and first scan gives me a result of 900 artists (with mmm activated), after that, doing a scan for new music, reduces the number of artists to say ... 600. However number of artists in MusicIp itself is higher

- also various artists sometimes gives double entries.

- the 'moods' filter in Slimserver only seems to kick in while running the MusicIP as application with api enabled. While running as headless server moods doesn't seem to work at all: that might indeed be something which should be tackled at MusicIP's side

All very strange...