PDA

View Full Version : What happened to my squeezebox???



MUCHO
2006-08-02, 08:05
Hello I purchased two wireless squeezeboxes a couple months ago. Everything worked great.

Then, several days ago, the one in the kitchen stopped being able to connect. The one in the loft worked fine still.

I unplugged it, placed it right next to the router, and reset everything. It worked for about 4 hours and hasn't worked since.

It won't connect and when its plugged in it makes my main computer error with the following message... "The system has detected an IP address conflict with another system on the network. Network operations on this system my be disrupted as a result. More details are available in the system event log. Consult your network administrator immediately to resolve the conflist"

So - it hasn't been plugged in for a couple days. Today I decided to try to fix the problem. So far I have done a factory reset on the squeezebox and still have the exact same problem. Won't connect, when it tries I get that network error message.

I'm using a linksys router WRT54G v5 with the latest firmware. I have my main computer set up as a static IP.

The other squeezebox works like a charm and has never had any issues.

I have the non working squeezebox 3 feet from the router.

ddewey
2006-08-02, 08:39
Quoting MUCHO (MUCHO.2bx4in1154531401 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com):

>
> Hello I purchased two wireless squeezeboxes a couple months ago.
> Everything worked great.
>
> Then, several days ago, the one in the kitchen stopped being able to
> connect. The one in the loft worked fine still.
>
> I unplugged it, placed it right next to the router, and reset
> everything. It worked for about 4 hours and hasn't worked since.
>
> It won't connect and when its plugged in it makes my main computer
> error with the following message... "The system has detected an IP
> address conflict with another system on the network. Network
> operations on this system my be disrupted as a result. More details
> are available in the system event log. Consult your network
> administrator immediately to resolve the conflist"
>
> So - it hasn't been plugged in for a couple days. Today I decided to
> try to fix the problem. So far I have done a factory reset on the
> squeezebox and still have the exact same problem. Won't connect, when
> it tries I get that network error message.
>
> I'm using a linksys router v5 with the latest firmware.
>
> The other squeezebox works like a charm.
>
> I have the non working squeezebox 3 feet from the router.

Your DHCP server is giving out an address that is already in use by your
computer. If the DHCP server is the Linksys router, as it probably is, your
problem lies there, not with the squeezebox. Try rebooting the router and
all devices on your network.

Or, use static IP address assignments for the squeezeboxes. In other words,
tell it what it's IP address should be, rather than having it ask the router
for one. If you already statically assigning address, then YOU screwed it
up and gave two devices the same IP. :-)

This is not a Squeezebox problem, the Squeezebox is just the canary in the
coal mine telling you that you have a DHCP problem.

dd

MUCHO
2006-08-02, 09:06
Its extremely possible you're right. I admit I don't know crap about networking and settings. Whats wierd is:

A) It just suddently happened out of the blue

B) I have reset (power cycled) the router and factory reset the squeezebox and the result is exactly the same.

I'll play around with it. Any ideas on how to solve the problem?

Mark Lanctot
2006-08-02, 10:25
Any ideas on how to solve the problem?

Switch to a static IP arrangement and it'll never happen again.

Your router is probably 192.168.1.0. Assign your PC 192.168.1.1 and your Squeezebox 192.168.1.2.

Just make sure all devices are on the same subnet (i.e. the first 3 numbers are the same) and don't duplicate.

Static IPs may not be good for a network where you have visiting clients, i.e. a wireless laptop that connects infrequently.

aubuti
2006-08-02, 10:36
Static IPs may not be good for a network where you have visiting clients, i.e. a wireless laptop that connects infrequently.
One way to avoid this sort of problems is to fixed IPs that are outside the range that DHCP is likely to assign to such visiting clients.

For example, my private home subnet is in the 192.168.0.* range. The fixed IPs I've assigned to various computers/SBs are 192.168.0.20, 192.168.0.21, 192.168.0.22, etc. Our laptops usually get allocated something in the 192.168.0.2 to 192.168.0.5 range, so there are no collisions.

MUCHO
2006-08-02, 11:54
Thank you - problem is solved by assigning a static IP address to each squeezebox.

Where's the staples button when I need it?

"That was easy"

:)