PDA

View Full Version : Connecting my Squeezebox to "external" slimserver



staalelor
2006-07-28, 04:28
Hello.
I haven't been able to find any answers on this elsewhere.
I have a private password protected slimserver on my home network.
I'm able to connect to it from the outside with winamp and xmms.
But when I try to connect my squeezebox from another network to my
slimserver, it doesn't even show up on my tcp-dump.

Does the squeezebox only connect to slimservers on the same subnet?

--
Staale

staalelor
2006-07-28, 06:49
Would it be possible or even worth it to ask Slim Devices to
fix this in a future version of the firmware?

andyg
2006-07-28, 06:52
You should be able to connect to any IP address by manually changing the SlimServer setting in the firmware settings menu.

staalelor
2006-07-28, 07:18
You should be able to connect to any IP address by manually changing the SlimServer setting in the firmware settings menu.
Ok?
And where do I find the "Firmware settings meny"? You are talking about the Squeezbox (v3) right?

--
tnx

Mark Lanctot
2006-07-28, 07:25
When you first power it on, the Squeezebox will ask you to specify a music source. Just type in the appropriate IP address here.

Every time it powers on, it'll give you an opportunity to change this (just press the up or down cursor keys on the remote). When it's on, press and hold the left cursor key for 5 seconds to get back to these menus.

(BTW since I was wrong I deleted my first post. I don't run my Squeezebox this way so I didn't think of what Andy said.)

staalelor
2006-07-28, 07:37
When you first power it on, the Squeezebox will ask you to specify a music source. Just type in the appropriate IP address here.
Have you tried this on an ip-address outside your own subnet? My squeezbox does not connect to anything outside my 255.255.255.0 subnet. I've acutally tried it from three diffent subnets.

I have no problems connecting to a slimserver inside my subnet the way you describe. Allso: It can't be a firewall or NAT-problem either, because I have no problems connecting using winamp.



--
thx

Mark Lanctot
2006-07-28, 07:45
Have you tried this on an ip-address outside your own subnet? My squeezbox does not connect to anything outside my 255.255.255.0 subnet. I've acutally tried it from three diffent subnets.

Hmm, no I haven't tried it. I was going by what Andy was saying - he's one of the developers.

There are a few public SlimServers out there:

http://www.google.com/search?as_q=Welcome+to+SlimServer&num=100&hl=en&btnG=Google+Search&as_epq=&as_oq=&as_eq=&lr=lang_en&as_ft=i&as_filetype=&as_qdr=all&as_occt=title&as_dt=i&as_sitesearch=&as_rights=&safe=images

I'll try it out with one of those.

Marc Sherman
2006-07-28, 07:52
staalelor wrote:
>
> I have no problems connecting to a slimserver inside my subnet the way
> you describe. Allso: It can't be a firewall or NAT-problem either,
> because I have no problems connecting using winamp.

That does not follow. The squeezebox uses different ports than winamp
does. It's probably a firewall or NAT issue.

- Marc

staalelor
2006-07-28, 07:53
http://www.google.com/search?as_q=Welcome+to+SlimServer&num=100&hl=en&btnG=Google+Search&as_epq=&as_oq=&as_eq=&lr=lang_en&as_ft=i&as_filetype=&as_qdr=all&as_occt=title&as_dt=i&as_sitesearch=&as_rights=&safe=images

I'll try it out with one of those.

Ok. I tried a few, one of them actually returned something. Very strange. Do you know what ports other than 9000 (udp/tcp) it needs to establish a working connection?

andyg
2006-07-28, 07:55
It also uses 3483 TCP/UDP.

staalelor
2006-07-28, 08:01
It also uses 3483 TCP/UDP.
GREAT :) That did the trick. That port has something to do with the firmware check or something?

andyg
2006-07-28, 08:03
3483 is the slimproto port, for all control commands. 9000 is used for audio data and webpages.

staalelor
2006-07-28, 08:09
I see. Well, thanks a million.

Btw: It seemed not to care about my username and password protection, do you know why? Winamp needs to have both username and password.

andyg
2006-07-28, 08:23
That password option is only for the web. I'd suggest a firewall rule that only allows traffic from your IP address.

bill fumerola
2006-07-29, 20:44
On Fri, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:37:11AM -0700, staalelor wrote:
> Have you tried this on an ip-address outside your own subnet? My
> squeezbox does not connect to anything outside my 255.255.255.0 subnet.
> I've acutally tried it from three diffent subnets.
>
> I have no problems connecting to a slimserver inside my subnet the way
> you describe. Allso: It can't be a firewall or NAT-problem either,
> because I have no problems connecting using winamp.

set a working default gateway? i use remote connections all the time.

-- bill

kuetstef
2006-07-30, 02:44
It would still be nice if the whole thing would also work with just a DNS name and if there would be at least a kind of username/password protection between slimserver and squeezebox... SSH support would be even better of course.

Thanks, Stefan