PDA

View Full Version : Q : Anybody using SB2/3 with Arcam AVR300?



DougP
2006-07-27, 10:25
I am thinking about purchasing an Arcam AVR300 as my all-in-one amp for music, TV, movies - I know you audiophiles will go Argghhh! but I want to explore options.

Anybody tried this with an SB 2 or SB3? Results? Views? Did you use digital outputs to the AVR300. Better or worse than the SB DAC?

Anyone else got views on A/V amps in general?

Thanks in advance.
Doug

Mark Lanctot
2006-07-27, 10:35
Anyone else got views on A/V amps in general?

Yes, note that digital/analog implementations are not equivalent:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showpost.php?p=124333&postcount=14

Meaning that even though the SB3's DAC is very good, the analog implementation in the receiver is so poor that the resulting sound will be worse.

That said, Arcam has a good reputation. But so does Marantz, so you'd be well-advised to do a little testing at the dealers' or your home if possible.

chaz
2006-07-27, 17:00
Sometime in the next few weeks I hope to demo an arcam avr300 in my house...I'll give you my impressions then.

DougP
2006-07-28, 06:22
Mark - are you really saying "Avoid AV amps and stick with trad HiFi amps"?

Chaz - great -let me know!

Mark Lanctot
2006-07-28, 06:35
Mark - are you really saying "Avoid AV amps and stick with trad HiFi amps"?

No, I'm saying try it out. Analog fidelity can vary from model to model.

I'd bet Arcam is pretty good.

BTW the only one I'm aware of that has a true analog bypass (avoiding the ADC entirely) is the Bryston SP 2. In analog mode, it functions as one of their excellent analog preamps.