PDA

View Full Version : FLAC to MP3?



thespaugh
2006-07-23, 09:14
Can anyone recommend a good free tool for converting FLACs to MP3s? I've converted my CD library to FLAC and don't want to go though the hassle of dealing with discs just to make files for my porable MP3 player.

funkstar
2006-07-23, 09:22
There are loads, depending on how technical you want to get.

The usual suspects are:
Foobar2000 - I've used this a lot, but discovered that it didn't do a great job of transfering tags between FLAC and MP3
dbPoweramp - Never used it
flac2mp3.pl - This is what i use now, but does mean you have to install Perl on windows
jRiver Media Center - Used this years ago when it was more a player than a Center. should do the job and much much more

I'm sure someone will recomend others too :)

zooropa320
2006-07-23, 10:16
I use foobar and haven't seen any significant tag issues after transcoding to mp3.

blkwrx
2006-07-23, 15:16
dbPoweramp works well.

funkstar
2006-07-23, 16:20
I use foobar and haven't seen any significant tag issues after transcoding to mp3.
I found it managed to add the artist and album names to the same field. This caused my Archos AV500 to guess at the artist name (which it did successfully) and put a '?' over the artist icon

Robin Bowes
2006-07-24, 08:40
thespaugh wrote:
> Can anyone recommend a good free tool for converting FLACs to MP3s? I've
> converted my CD library to FLAC and don't want to go though the hassle
> of dealing with discs just to make files for my porable MP3 player.

As someone has already mentioned:

http://robinbowes.com/projects/flac2mp3

R.

Larry Truesdale
2006-07-24, 09:16
I've tagged thousands of files with no rpoblems so far, but configuring it
can be complex. Did it merge artist and album on all the files you
transcoded?

On 7/23/06, funkstar <funkstar.2bf8rn1153697101 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> zooropa320 Wrote:
> > I use foobar and haven't seen any significant tag issues after
> > transcoding to mp3.
> I found it managed to add the artist and album names to the same field.
> This caused my Archos AV500 to guess at the artist name (which it did
> successfully) and put a '?' over the artist icon
>
>
> --
> funkstar
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> funkstar's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2335
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=25740
>
>

brookheather
2006-07-24, 13:40
You can also use dbPowerAmp to compress your FLAC files to a higher compression ratio - useful if your existing FLAC encoder is not very efficient. I was able to save a further 15% on FLAC files created by my Hifidelio.

- Simon.

funkstar
2006-07-24, 15:30
I've tagged thousands of files with no rpoblems so far, but configuring it can be complex. Did it merge artist and album on all the files you transcoded?
no. for some reason it managed fine on most of them, but botched about a third. This was out of about 850 albums