PDA

View Full Version : SB2 can not see my server



hal9000
2006-07-22, 08:48
Background: I had the slim server software running on a Linux machine that decided to die on me yesterday so I switched back to a XP computer I was previously using to run the server. None of my Squeezeboxes can see the server now.

My set up:
SB2
Wired Ethernet
Version 6.2.2 server software

What I have tried so far:
rebooting router, server, SB2's
inputting the ip address of the server manually
the mac addresses on the SB2s are verified to be correct
restore factory defaults on the SB2 (pressing "add" while booting up)


Still no luck..any ideas?

thanks

hal9000
2006-07-22, 09:23
just upgraded to 6.3.1 server software..still no luck.

radish
2006-07-22, 09:53
Is the XP built in firewall on? Try disabling it. Are the SBs getting network connnections at all? If so you can concentrate on the server, if not it's the router.

hal9000
2006-07-22, 10:25
the xp firewall is disabled and "yes" the SB2s do get an ip address. I just uninstalled and reinstalled 6.3.1...it's reading my library right now...try again to connect once its finished.

radish
2006-07-22, 10:48
OK, so next thing - can you ping the squeezeboxes from the server?

hal9000
2006-07-22, 11:36
No players show up in the server so I'm not sure how I can ping them.

JJZolx
2006-07-22, 11:45
Background: I had the slim server software running on a Linux machine that decided to die on me yesterday so I switched back to a XP computer I was previously using to run the server. None of my Squeezeboxes can see the server now.
Sounds familiar. See: http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3778

Try restarting SlimServer. Restart it a couple times if it doesn't happen on the first try. If it's anything like what I see on my network, then all of the Squeezeboxes will connect, or none of them will.

ceejay
2006-07-22, 12:02
No players show up in the server so I'm not sure how I can ping them.

First question - whats the IP address you are getting on the SB? If its 169... then you don't have a useful address.

If its 192.168.... then thats good... ping it from your server by getting a windows command prompt and typing "ping 192.xxx.xxx.xxx" (whatever the address is).

If you can't ping them ("timeout" response) then its not a slimserver problem, its a networking one (probably firewall).

Ceejay

hal9000
2006-07-22, 18:51
Hey guys..thanks for the responses. I was able to get my linux box back up so I'm good now. Been a long day but I sure am glad to have my SB2s up and running right again. Never did get the xp machine to work.