PDA

View Full Version : Playlist Locks SlimServer on NV

studley
2006-07-18, 13:04
I posted this on Infrant's Forums, as well. I thought some experts here might have more info on Playlist creation.

I'm using the latest beta on an NV and SlimServer 6.3.0. Whenever I try to save a playlist, SlimServer stops responding and I have to reboot the NV.

:?: 1. Any suggestions? Bug? User Error?

In trying to figure out what is going on I started playing with the Playlist Directory settings in SlimServer but I cannot seem to figure out what it is doing. Regardless of what I put in the playlist folder field, SlimServer is looking somewhere else and coming up with playlists.

:?: 2. Where does SlimServer look for playlist files? Recursive? Is there any way to set this?

:?: 3. What is the correct setting for the Playlist Directory in SlimServer?

:?: 4. (Bonus) Looking at the m3u files with a text editor, the ones saved from SlimServer have many more properties then your average .m3u file.
Is all this extra info required to get SlimServer to play .m3u files correctly? Can someone point me to a site which describes the .m3u standards and what the details mean?

Thanks in advance,

David

studley
2006-07-21, 12:32
SlimServer 6.3 is locking up as it starts to create the m3u file.

This is painful because it takes Soooooo long to build a playlist using Slimserver that I hate to lose the hours of work. But since I cannot save it, I will lose the list if I want to (or accidently) play anything else!

Does anyone have solutions? bug fix? other ways to save my work?

Where does SlimServer look for playlists on the NV?

Thanks,
David

ChrisOwens
2006-07-21, 14:23
I have an NV here, and I was very concerned that maybe this was a bug that slipped though my testing.

However, I'm not able to reproduce these symptoms.

Slimserver saves its playlists to wherever it says on the Server Settings page. (often the same directory where your music is stored)