PDA

View Full Version : Can SlimServer be configured to not talk to Squeezeboxes?



JJZolx
2006-07-08, 23:34
I've been playing with the latest updates of 6.5 and IMO it's not quite ready for everyday use. But I like playing, finding bugs, seeing what works and what doesn't.

I want to run two instances of SlimServer on my server - the newest for debugging, plus r7498 for actual music playback. But this causes big problems with my two Squeezeboxes. When they see two SlimServers on the same host, they can't connect to either. See:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3591

So I'd like to run the second instance of SlimServer in a manner such that it won't announce itself or participate in any way in the Sb/server discovery process. I just want to use the web interface and the scanning. I've played with Windows firewall, which I generally dislike running at all, and haven't found a way to block a single instance of SlimServer running on just one IP address.

Can SlimServer be run in some way so that it won't be seen by the Squeezeboxes on the network?

kdf
2006-07-08, 23:54
On 8-Jul-06, at 11:34 PM, JJZolx wrote:

>
> Can SlimServer be run in some way so that it won't be seen by the
> Squeezeboxes on the network?
>
has seemed possible. I run my setup using the tips from the wiki for
multiple slimservers.

I am running 6.5 on a daily basis (and it does actually play music just
fine, thank you very much)
I am also running 6.3, and used to run split-scanner and another test
checkout on another virtual IP.

I did have to modify the init.d script to specify --cliaddr,
--playeraddr, --httpaddr, --streamaddr.

After that, the squeezeboxen running with 6.5 are all happily running
fine. Granted, I dont' try to disconnect and reconnect as that doesn't
really help me listen to music. I run softsqueeze with all of the
other copies just fine, and have on occasion moved a hardware player to
another instance after a few tweaks to iptables (again from the wiki).
I didn't write down all of the steps, as it seemed to me to be not all
that far from what was already described. I would expect that iptables
would be able to handle restricting traffic in any way that you wanted.

-k

JJZolx
2006-07-09, 00:18
>
> Can SlimServer be run in some way so that it won't be seen by
> the Squeezeboxes on the network?
>
has seemed possible.
That's the part I'm looking for.


I run my setup using the tips from the wiki for
multiple slimservers.

I am running 6.5 on a daily basis (and it does actually play music just
fine, thank you very much)
:) Sorry. I have no doubt it plays music perfectly. Just that the scanning is still pretty iffy, and the sorting of albums in the web interface isn't really usable (for me).


I am also running 6.3, and used to run split-scanner and another test
checkout on another virtual IP.

I did have to modify the init.d script to specify --cliaddr,
--playeraddr, --httpaddr, --streamaddr.

After that, the squeezeboxen running with 6.5 are all happily running
fine. Granted, I dont' try to disconnect and reconnect as that doesn't
really help me listen to music. I run softsqueeze with all of the
other copies just fine, and have on occasion moved a hardware player to
another instance after a few tweaks to iptables (again from the wiki).
I didn't write down all of the steps, as it seemed to me to be not all
that far from what was already described. I would expect that iptables
would be able to handle restricting traffic in any way that you wanted.
I'm not using a script to start SlimServer on Windows (both instances run as services) but am using the same command line options. That all seems to work fine.

So you have 6.3 and 6.5 both running on the same Linux machine? I wonder if the bug 3591 issues are at all Windows related.

If I have both servers running and I don't disconnect the SBs, then all is fine. If I reboot the r7498, then all hell breaks loose. I made the mistake today of shutting down the r7498 instance while the other was running so that I could clear a 250MB log file. After that, even though I now I have the second instance of the server shut down, neither SB will connect to the one server running. I've seen this before when trying to do this - seems to require shutting down the server for some fairly long time period to clear up the confusion. I have no idea why that is...

kdf
2006-07-09, 00:39
On 9-Jul-06, at 12:18 AM, JJZolx wrote:
>>
> :) Sorry. I have no doubt it plays music perfectly. Just that the
> scanning is still pretty iffy, and the sorting of albums in the web
> interface isn't really usable (for me).
>
sorting is ok. custom pref isn't. however, that is far from unusable
for those who can actually understand that it's a development build.
I have very few problems getting slimserver to work fine when I want
to, but I can safely say I am likely more familiar with the safer
places to step in the current minefield. it's great progress so far,
but a lot of what I'd call little things that need tidying up. The
more alarmist crowd may feel differently in time, I'm sure.

> I'm not using a script to start SlimServer on Windows (both instances
> run as services) but am using the same command line options. That all
> seems to work fine.
>
> So you have 6.3 and 6.5 both running on the same Linux machine? I
> wonder if the bug 3591 issues are at all Windows related.
>
possibly. I think iptables is the key. does windows even support
virtual IP addresses?
are you using multiple cards or one that supports multihoming?

I've never been very pleased with any network-type service running on
windows. That's why I always have a linux server in the house.
even a simple ftp server was painfully crippled. I suppose a full
blown IIS setup would be ok, but that's beyond reach of most home
users.

> If I have both servers running and I don't disconnect the SBs, then all
> is fine. If I reboot the r7498, then all hell breaks loose. I made
> the
> mistake today of shutting down the r7498 instance while the other was
> running so that I could clear a 250MB log file. After that, even
> though I now I have the second instance of the server shut down,
> neither SB will connect to the one server running. I've seen this
> before when trying to do this - seems to require shutting down the
> server for some fairly long time period to clear up the confusion. I
> have no idea why that is...
>
makes little sense to me either. I routinely kill and restart servers
of various types and haven't noticed any problems save for the
occasional delay for a player to reconnect. it still connects.

JJZolx
2006-07-09, 01:18
On 9-Jul-06, at 12:18 AM, JJZolx wrote:
>>
> :) Sorry. I have no doubt it plays music perfectly. Just that the
> scanning is still pretty iffy, and the sorting of albums in the web
> interface isn't really usable (for me).
>
sorting is ok. custom pref isn't. however, that is far from unusable
for those who can actually understand that it's a development build.
I have very few problems getting slimserver to work fine when I want
to, but I can safely say I am likely more familiar with the safer
places to step in the current minefield. it's great progress so far,
but a lot of what I'd call little things that need tidying up. The
more alarmist crowd may feel differently in time, I'm sure.
Don't get me wrong - you've made great progress. I guess I've been spoiled by Browse Artwork with the sorting pref to give artist/year/album order. That's pretty much all I've been using for the last six months.


does windows even support
virtual IP addresses?
are you using multiple cards or one that supports multihoming?
Yes, Windows (NT, 2000, XP, Server) supports binding multiple IP addresses to a single interface/card without a problem. Pretty easy to do as well.


makes little sense to me either. I routinely kill and restart servers
of various types and haven't noticed any problems save for the
occasional delay for a player to reconnect. it still connects.
Seems something gets "stuck" somewhere. Looking through the SlimServer prefs file I don't see anything about player state that appears to persist across SlimServer startups, so it seems to be more with the players. I can restart them as well with no improvement in the situation.

I just fired up the r7498 server after having it shutdown for about 90 minuetes and one SB2 connected, while the other just sits at "Connecting to SlimServer..." Ah well, it'll come back eventually.

If this problem gets sorted (I don't think Richard should have much problem fixing it) I think I'm going to want to run two instances of SlimServer anyway in the future for two distinct libraries that I have. And maybe SlimServer 6.6(?) will give us the ability to have multiple libraries.

JJZolx
2006-07-09, 12:17
I just fired up the r7498 server after having it shutdown for about 90 minuetes and one SB2 connected, while the other just sits at "Connecting to SlimServer..." Ah well, it'll come back eventually.
FWIW, another data point: The second SB2 that wouldn't connect yesterday eventually went dark and sat like that overnight. This morning I started up the 2nd SlimServer and SB2 #2 immediately connected, installed the latest firmware, rebooted and then reconnected to SlimServer #2. So now I have SB2 #1 connected to SlimServer #1 and SB2 #2 connected to SlimServer #2. Which is OK for now - I just can't sync them.

Since SB2 #2 is in my home office, I'm listening to it right now. :) I'm finding a couple minor bugs in way the library was scanned, but other than that, SlimServer is working nicely. The fact that I have exactly the number of tracks in both r7498 and r8332 is reassuring. Album and artist counts differ only slightly.

The Browse Artist > Gallery view is very nice. I want to thank you for that. Could just use better sorting control. What would be cool would be interactive sort controls here and in the other browse modes instead of using server prefs. A drop down box for sorting placed next to the new list/gallery icon might be nice. I'm not sure how exactly you'd populate the box - what sort orders would cover everyone's needs - nor if it could be the same for all the browse modes.

mherger
2006-07-09, 14:25
> I want to run two instances of SlimServer on my server

If you really want to run it on the same system, then I'd again recommend
using VMWare (if you have the RAM). Easily emulates a second machine
without the need to fiddle with server settings, firewall etc.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)