PDA

View Full Version : NAS Storage for dummys



hughesie89
2006-07-08, 21:38
hey people

i have an old toshiba 1410 laptop that i have been using as a dedicated Slimserver (that isn't exhactly slim or silent) and am wondering what would the best way to upgrade i feel it's time to

i am angling towards a NAS device

i have heard a lot about the devices and am wonderig how hard is it run slimserver off one?

funkstar
2006-07-09, 04:30
It depends on which one you get. There are loads of threads about Diskstations and Linkstations etc. and links on how to get SlimServer on to them.

Of you can get a NAS box like the Qnap TS-101 or Infrant ReadyNAS NV which already have SlimServer install and setup. these come with support and warranties so there is no messing around on your part trying to get the software installed.

Pale Blue Ego
2006-07-09, 09:08
How about one of these $75 Linux systems?

http://ztechshop.net/computers/sub-100/

500mhz Celeron processor
128 MB RAM (upgradable to 512 MB)
6 USB 2.0 slots
4GB hard drive
10/100 networking
Comes with Ubuntu or you can choose from about 50 other distros
includes shipping!

Jacob Potter
2006-07-09, 12:40
On 7/9/06, Pale Blue Ego
<Pale.Blue.Ego.2aoran1152461401 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> How about one of these $75 Linux systems?

Check out RetroBox... you can get a pretty decent system (600 MHz
Celeron and 512mb of RAM) for $50.

- Jacob

hughesie89
2006-07-12, 16:52
here is the one i am looking at

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/NAS-Ext-3-5-USB-Ethernet-HDD-Enclosure-LAN-SERVER_W0QQitemZ170005616279QQihZ007QQcategoryZ111 458QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

LHawes
2006-07-12, 18:27
Since the title alluded to dummies - here goes: Will SlimServer run off one of these DiskStation/LinkStation/Qnap type NAS fellas while your main computer is turned off?

Is that the whole idea? Or is it just way to increase storage?

Edit...NAS systems are generally computing-storage devices that can be accessed over a computer network (usually TCP/IP), rather than directly being connected to the computer....

I think I get it. Since a NAS device can be connected to with a TCP/IP connection then the Squeeze Box which does all its connecting through TCP/IP can access those files stored on a NAS device without a main computer being on???

Larry

aubuti
2006-07-12, 19:57
Since the title alluded to dummies - here goes: Will SlimServer run off one of these DiskStation/LinkStation/Qnap type NAS fellas while your main computer is turned off?
Short answer: yes, provided you have slimserver installed and running on the NAS. It helps to remember that a NAS is really a small computer with very limited functions. It has a CPU, RAM, and an OS, usually just enough to join the network and run some server software, most notably Samba.

LHawes
2006-07-12, 20:03
Short answer: yes, provided you have slimserver installed and running on the NAS. It helps to remember that a NAS is really a small computer with very limited functions. It has a CPU, RAM, and an OS, usually just enough to join the network and run some server software, most notably Samba.

Thanks very much for the help

Larry

hughesie89
2006-07-12, 23:40
so the one i am looking at says it features samba does that mean it will be easy for me to put slimserver on to it

being a graphical user? (not understanding anything about code)

also what is a good hard drive size? and any features i should look for?

mherger
2006-07-13, 00:07
> so the one i am looking at says it features samba does that mean it will
> be easy for me to put slimserver on to it

No. There's no relation between the two. My server doesn't even run Samba.

You'd very probably have to install an enhanced set of Perl modules, might
even have to compile them for that platform.

> being a graphical user? (not understanding anything about code)

Google around for some solutions others found. If you don't find anything,
then just forget it. There are other NAS devices which are well documented
(eg. Linkstation, Diskstation).

> also what is a good hard drive size?

Depends on your needs: music only or probably movies, too? MP3 only or
FLAC (5x the space)? Size of your collection? With MP3 only, 100GB is a
lot. If you're preferring lossless FLAC, it's not.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

aubuti
2006-07-13, 04:55
so the one i am looking at says it features samba does that mean it will be easy for me to put slimserver on to it

being a graphical user? (not understanding anything about code)

also what is a good hard drive size? and any features i should look for?
Most NAS boxes are closed systems, meaning that they don't make it easy for the user to install software. If you're not comfortable with working from the command line, then your best bet is one of the systems that come with slimserver already installed, like the NASs by Infrant and Qnap (with Qnap you have to get it from a reseller who handles the slimserver installation and distribution of slimserver upgrades for the device). Search the forums for Qnap, Infrant, ReadyNAS, for further info.

aubuti
2006-07-13, 04:56
My server doesn't even run Samba.
I'm curious, what does it run for file sharing: NFS or something else?

mherger
2006-07-13, 05:11
>> My server doesn't even run Samba.
> I'm curious, what does it run for file sharing: NFS or something else?

rsync. It's a one way communication: that machine's disk only contains the
replica of my main server's music folder, nothing else.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Pale Blue Ego
2006-07-13, 10:51
Check out RetroBox... you can get a pretty decent system (600 MHz
Celeron and 512mb of RAM) for $50.

- Jacob

That's a cool site! I'd be more interested in something like the 2.4GHz Xeon systems with 2GB RAM and 36GB SCSI drive for $245. That would be plenty quick enough to run even the largest collections.