PDA

View Full Version : Error: Cant open remote URL - Shoutcast

abacus
2006-07-07, 04:02
Hi,
Im new to squeezebox 3. I keep getting Error: Cant open remote URL on Shoutcast in the squeezenetwork. It seems to work fine if I use slimserver. It looks like its having a problem with a playlist.pls file lookup? The interesting thing is I've been on with technical support and they cant figure it out....also after speaking to tech support last nite about an hour later it mysteriously worked and now this morning Im getting the same thing. Does anyone else have this problem and was able to figure out how to fix it? Im sure its something to do with Squeezenetwork. All the other internet radio's work 35 radioio ect...and pandora...just Shoutcast isnt working?

mherger
2006-07-07, 04:54
> support last nite about an hour later it mysteriously worked and now
> this morning Im getting the same thing.

Shoutcast sometimes experiences reliabilty issues. I guess SQN does cache
the information about streams longer than does your slimserver. The links
in there probably were outdated.

Just to say that I don't have a solution, but experienced the same last
night :-/

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

andyg
2006-07-07, 05:35
On Jul 7, 2006, at 7:54 AM, Michael Herger wrote:

>> support last nite about an hour later it mysteriously worked and now
>> this morning Im getting the same thing.
>
> Shoutcast sometimes experiences reliabilty issues. I guess SQN does
> cache the information about streams longer than does your
> slimserver. The links in there probably were outdated.

Actually we only cache the playlist links which shouldn't get outdated:

http://www.shoutcast.com/sbin/tunein-station.pls?
id=976120&filename=playlist.pls

The problem seems to be that their server that handles these links