PDA

View Full Version : SoftSqueeze will not connect from Windoze



powergen
2006-07-06, 18:34
Hi All,

I am trying to connect SoftSqueeze running on my work Windoze machine, to my server at home using ssh tunnelling.

My tunnelling works fine outside of softsqueeze, I can do an
"ssh -L 9000:localhost:9000 server" and then use realplayer to play the stream at localhost, that works great ... just doesn't work with softsqueeze .

The error I get is "Connection Failed, Please check server settings". As far as I can tell, I have the server address setup ok, the ssh user and password is correct and the ssh port I use is correct ( I use non-standard 23, to avoid the robots ..)

I have also try'd not using the in-build ssh client and doing the same as when I use realplayer (ie connect to localhost:9000), but that doesn't work either, maybe in that mode the other port 3483 needed to be tunnelled as well, but I don't know how to pass two ports to ssh on the command line ... anyone?

My ssh server (ssh2)is set to handle both protocol 1 & 2

Has anyone any suggestions?

mherger
2006-07-07, 00:25
> I have also try'd not using the in-build ssh client and doing the same
> as when I use realplayer (ie connect to localhost:9000), but that
> doesn't work either, maybe in that mode the other port 3483 needed to
> be tunnelled as well, but I don't know how to pass two ports to ssh on
> the command line ... anyone?

Just add as many -L statement to the line as you need.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

powergen
2006-07-07, 14:50
Thanks, will try that.

Still don't know why the built in ssh tunnelling doesn't work.

powergen
2006-07-09, 16:45
Bump. Anyone?

mherger
2006-07-09, 23:32
> Bump. Anyone?

It's up to you: you said you were going to try my tip. Didn't get any more
feedback.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

powergen
2006-07-10, 14:31
Was referring to the original problem in that the built-in ssh client doesn't work. I would ideally like to use that rather than have to use an external client ...

I did as you said, passing the extra port via OpenSSH, this allowed me to connect ok, though I get no sound. I can choose a track to play, I see the graphic equalizer playing intermittantly ... maybe the link is too slow and I am continously being buffered, I will try from my home machine, rather than at work...