PDA

View Full Version : Connecting to slimserver



bistrototal
2006-07-05, 13:42
I have a set up like shown below.

I had to set the linksys (wrt54gs) in adhoc mode in order to make the wireless connection to the Sitecom-router work.

The problem is that i can't connect to the SlimServer from my Squeezebox. The linksys router is detected and i manage to connect (both with and without wpa). I get a ip for the Squeezebox as well. Then i'm prompted for the ip of the SlimServer. And i try to input the pc with SlimServer-ip, but no connection.

The linksys firewall is disabled.

Any suggestions to how i can get my Squeezebox up working?

kdf
2006-07-05, 13:55
Quoting bistrototal
<bistrototal.2ahpcz1152132301 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I get a ip for the Squeezebox as well.
> Then i'm prompted for the ip of the SlimServer. And i try to input the
> pc with SlimServer-ip, but no connection.

Is the IP given to the squeezebox in the right range to find your pc?
(could it be getting one from the sitecom router, instead of your own
local network?)
Can you ping the squeezebox IP from your PC?
-k

bistrototal
2006-07-05, 14:13
Is the IP given to the squeezebox in the right range to find your pc?
(could it be getting one from the sitecom router, instead of your own
local network?)
Can you ping the squeezebox IP from your PC?
-k

Thanks for the quick response! I'm not able to ping the Squeezebox from my pc. The IP for my pc is 192.168.1.100 and for the Squeezebox 192.168.0.145.

In the linksys administration panel it says that WAN IP is 192.168.0.114.

I'm not sure what this acutally means. I'd guess that the SB gets ip from Sitecom and that the range is wrong.

Have you any idea what i should change my "settings" to?

Thanks,
Howie

kdf
2006-07-05, 14:26
Quoting bistrototal
<bistrototal.2ahqqz1152134101 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> kdf Wrote:
>>
>>
>> Is the IP given to the squeezebox in the right range to find your pc?
>>
>> (could it be getting one from the sitecom router, instead of your own
>>
>> local network?)
>> Can you ping the squeezebox IP from your PC?
>> -k
>
> Thanks for the quick response! I'm not able to ping the Squeezebox from
> my pc. The IP for my pc is 192.168.1.100 and for the Squeezebox
> 192.168.0.145.
>
> In the linksys administration panel it says that WAN IP is
> 192.168.0.114.

Right, so the linksys is acting as another router after the sitecom.
If you connect the SB wired to the linksys, you'll likely find that it
works fine.

I'm not sure about what settings options you have on the linksys, but
it would be better if it acted as a bridge instead of a router, so
that your PC gets it's IP from the sitecom, using the linksys only for
the wireless communication link.

-k

bistrototal
2006-07-05, 14:42
It works now! I just changed my linksys setting from adhoc mode to 'client bridged'.

Thanks very very much! :D