PDA

View Full Version : Multiple libraries (or multiple servers) on one machine



hcanning
2006-07-05, 03:32
Not sure where to post this so I've stuck it here.

Is there any way at all of having two SlimServers running on one machine? So one squeezebox connects to one, with one lot of music, and the other squeezebox connects to the other "server". Is this possible? I don't really want to combine the music from the two servers.

Alternatively is it possible to hvae one Slimserver and two libraries? So maybe one squeezebox connects to one drive with music on, and the other squeezebox connects to a diferent drive?

Is this at all possible? If some editing of source code is required that's fair enough, as long as I'm told what to do :)


thanks for any help

mherger
2006-07-05, 03:56
> Is there any way at all of having two SlimServers running on one
> machine? So one squeezebox connects to one, with one lot of music, and
> the other squeezebox connects to the other "server". Is this possible?

yes:

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?RunningMultipleSlimServers

> Alternatively is it possible to hvae one Slimserver and two libraries?

No.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

hcanning
2006-07-05, 04:10
... If I'm running windows

mherger
2006-07-05, 04:32
> ... If I'm running windows

Ok, that document is rather Linux specific. But you'll basically have to
either bind slimserver to one IP address (you can create more than one per
machine) or use different ports (which will require to manually configure
the players, too). Run slim.exe --help for a list of runtime parameters.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

radish
2006-07-05, 08:21
FYI I tried to do exactly that and had very little luck. Setting up a couple of interfaces and starting the servers correctly was easy, but the Squeezeboxes got very confused seeing two servers with the same hostname but different IPs. As Windows doesn't allow different interfaces to have different hostnames (does Linux?) it was basically unusable. There's a bug filed about this somewhere...

JJZolx
2006-07-05, 09:34
There's no way for SlimServer to have two libraries. You need to run two instances of the server and connect the SqueezeBox to one or the other.

Theoretically, you should be able to easily run two instances of the server on the same machine by using different IP addresses. In practice, though, it doesn't really work. See bug 3591. It's being worked on.

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3591

hcanning
2006-07-05, 09:48
OK I don't have any problem whatsoever connecting my Squeezeboxen between multiple physical servers... But how on earth would I make Slimserver run twice on windows? I can easily enough whack another network card in and have another interface

mherger
2006-07-05, 10:02
If you had enough memory in your server one easy solution would be
installing the free VMWare player and run SlimCD on it (128-/160MB for the
VM could be enough). It would look like a second machine on the network.
I'm doing this all the time when developping. The SB sees both servers and
you can select from it. No special configuration to any slimserver needed.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

JJZolx
2006-07-05, 10:48
OK I don't have any problem whatsoever connecting my Squeezeboxen between multiple physical servers... But how on earth would I make Slimserver run twice on windows? I can easily enough whack another network card in and have another interface
You don't need more than one network card. You can easily have multiple IP addresses bound to one card.

In Windows XP, go to:

Control Panel > Network Connections > Local Area Connection

> Properties > Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) > Properties

You have to set up the IP addresses manually - you can't use DHCP. Select 'Use the following IP adddress' and enter an IP address, subnet mask, and gateway. You'll also have to manually enter the DNS servers.

Then go to Advanced > IP Settings, where you can enter as many additional IP addresses and subnet masks as you like.

To run SlimServer on a particular IP address (you'll have to do this for every instance of SlimServer running on the machine) you use command-line parameters to specify the IP address:


"C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\slim.exe" --playeraddr 192.168.9.4 --httpaddr 192.168.9.4 --cliaddr 192.168.9.4 --streamaddr 192.168.9.4

I haven't played with it enough to know whether or not you can run two instances of SlimServer from the same physical files or whether you must have two completely separate installation directories. There's another command line option that tells SlimServer where the prefs file is, so I think that you might be able to use the same install and just specify different prefs files. Within the prefs file, you'd point at different database files. Copy the original and edit it manually.

--prefsfile "C\Program Files\SlimServer\server\slimserver.pref"

--prefsfile "C\Program Files\SlimServer\server\slimserver2.pref"

Now, if you want them both to run as Windows services, you'll have to install at least one of the services yourself using Microsoft's Resource Kit tool 'instrv.exe' and then editing the registry.

Of course, all for naught until bug 3591 is fixed.