PDA

View Full Version : Browse artwork missing in Fishbone skin



Philip Meyer
2006-07-03, 11:48
I see there was a change comitted today "new artwork UI for fishbone skin". I can't see any browse artwork option - am I missing something?

Phil

Philip Meyer
2006-07-03, 11:51
>I see there was a change comitted today "new artwork UI for fishbone skin". I can't see any browse artwork option - am I missing something?
>
Whoops, sorry. I've found it now!

Browse Albums now has two icons for selecting the browse view mode (thumbnails or list).

Nice (but the chosen icon could do with changing colour when selected or something).

Phil

kdf
2006-07-03, 11:55
On 3-Jul-06, at 11:48 AM, Phil Meyer wrote:

> I see there was a change comitted today "new artwork UI for fishbone
> skin". I can't see any browse artwork option - am I missing
> something?
>
yes, you are.
patience
-k

kdf
2006-07-03, 11:56
On 3-Jul-06, at 11:51 AM, Phil Meyer wrote:
>
>
> Nice (but the chosen icon could do with changing colour when selected
> or something).
>
noted. lost of foundation still required however. all of the other
skins need support and some strings have to come into play still
-k

Philip Meyer
2006-07-03, 12:09
Also, browse to an artist, get a list of albums. We can now switch to thumbnail artwork display - nice!

Some feedback...

The "All Songs" (and associated buttons) are very close to the first row of thumbnails - could do with a bit of spacing between them (but not in list view if that's possible).

It appears that the last selected view mode is remembered for all possible album display modes. It would be nice if Browse Albums could remember its mode separately from Browse Artist -> Album. Selecting an artist may result in a few albums, so browsing the artwork is nice and I'd like to keep it in this mode. However, I would use Browse Albums by artwork much less frequently because I get many artwork thumbnails (as you get a list of all albums for the chosen starting letter).

Could "New Music" browse mode also have a thumbnail view mode, as all items are albums?

Browse Music Folder - any chance of a thumbnail view mode there? For windows, a thumbnail for a folder could be taken from the windows thumbs.db (not sure what the equivalent is for other OS's) or maybe the artwork for the first album found within the folder (but I guess this would slow down the browse method as it would need to look ahead?). Really nice would be to display thumnails for folders, followed by a list of files (or only display thumbnails if all items are folders). I'm guessing I'm asking too much now!!!

Phil

Philip Meyer
2006-07-03, 12:10
>patience
Sorry, I was intruiged!

I like it already.

Phil

kdf
2006-07-03, 12:22
On 3-Jul-06, at 12:10 PM, Phil Meyer wrote:

>> patience
> Sorry, I was intruiged!
>
yup, but there is more to come...
but this is my long weekend, so I'm not going to be rushing on anything
give it some time, get used to it, see what it can do and then we'll
see what goes from there.
-k

kdf
2006-07-03, 12:30
On 3-Jul-06, at 12:09 PM, Phil Meyer wrote:

> Also, browse to an artist, get a list of albums. We can now switch to
> thumbnail artwork display - nice!
>
> Some feedback...

cool :)
>
> The "All Songs" (and associated buttons) are very close to the first
> row of thumbnails - could do with a bit of spacing between them (but
> not in list view if that's possible).

that will be up to the skin authors mainly. not sure about
differentiating views as far as fishbone. it will have to depend on
what I feel about it when I have time to actually spend time with it :)

>
> It appears that the last selected view mode is remembered for all
> possible album display modes. It would be nice if Browse Albums could
> remember its mode separately from Browse Artist -> Album. Selecting
> an artist may result in a few albums, so browsing the artwork is nice
> and I'd like to keep it in this mode. However, I would use Browse
> Albums by artwork much less frequently because I get many artwork
> thumbnails (as you get a list of all albums for the chosen starting
> letter).
never planned on making it that complicated. patches welcome. could be
up to any skin author, as the url is merely differentiated by the
artwork=1 param.

>
> Could "New Music" browse mode also have a thumbnail view mode, as all
> items are albums?

that depends. it used to be considered 'album' context due to
nameTransforms used in the datastores class. Now that that is gone,
and it's using the Schema, I don't know how easy it is to blend. I
don't want to get into munging, as that just leaves the door open for
future slips and attacks when something unpredicted breaks due to
forgetting some hack that I threw in.
>
> Browse Music Folder - any chance of a thumbnail view mode there? For
> windows, a thumbnail for a folder could be taken from the windows
> thumbs.db (not sure what the equivalent is for other OS's) or maybe
> the artwork for the first album found wifthin the folder (but I guess
> this would slow down the browse method as it would need to look
> ahead?). Really nice would be to display thumnails for folders,
> followed by a list of files (or only display thumbnails if all items
> are folders). I'm guessing I'm asking too much now!!!
>
patches welcome, but I won't be doing it. Offhand, I agree with the
possible performance problems and that alone makes me want to stay away
from it. Testing and proving performance metrics takes a lot of time,
and puts you in the hotseat from people who will disagree with methods,
setups and just plain validity of the numbers.
-k

Philip Meyer
2006-07-03, 15:42
>that will be up to the skin authors mainly. not sure about
>differentiating views as far as fishbone. it will have to depend on
>what I feel about it when I have time to actually spend time with it :)
>
Seems like you've already done it!

>never planned on making it that complicated. patches welcome. could be
>up to any skin author, as the url is merely differentiated by the
>artwork=1 param.
>
I might raise an enhancement request, so I don't forget about it. I might try and work out how to do it myself, but would need a pointer in the right direction. As a minimum, I think I could reset the artwork param when the user selects a new Browse method, to force it back into list view mode - I would switch album artwork on when desired.

>that depends. it used to be considered 'album' context due to
>nameTransforms used in the datastores class. Now that that is gone,
>and it's using the Schema, I don't know how easy it is to blend.
>
I'll take your word for it, since I am largely clueless ;) If it's too hard, it doesn't matter, but for consistency, it would seem that anything that is in album context should have the option to view as list or gallery.

In fact, maybe even artist context could have list/gallery views, if there was a neat way of supplying artist photos - maybe from the biography plugin. Okay, I'm in dreamland again ;)

>patches welcome, but I won't be doing it. Offhand, I agree with the
>possible performance problems and that alone makes me want to stay away
>from it. Testing and proving performance metrics takes a lot of time,
>and puts you in the hotseat from people who will disagree with methods,
>setups and just plain validity of the numbers.
Yes, probably a bad idea in the first place.

Phil

kdf
2006-07-03, 17:26
On 3-Jul-06, at 3:42 PM, Phil Meyer wrote:

>> that will be up to the skin authors mainly. not sure about
>> differentiating views as far as fishbone. it will have to depend on
>> what I feel about it when I have time to actually spend time with it
>> :)
>>
> Seems like you've already done it!
yes. it wasn't that hard, so no point in waiting.

>
>> never planned on making it that complicated. patches welcome. could
>> be
>> up to any skin author, as the url is merely differentiated by the
>> artwork=1 param.
>>
> I might raise an enhancement request, so I don't forget about it. I
> might try and work out how to do it myself, but would need a pointer
> in the right direction. As a minimum, I think I could reset the
> artwork param when the user selects a new Browse method, to force it
> back into list view mode - I would switch album artwork on when
> desired.

if you wanted to remember both types, you could use the 'level' param.
top level is 0, artist->albums is level 1. I'd add another param in
Pages/BrowseDB for level to go alongside levelName (~line 500), add a
check against the level param in Web/HTTP.pm around line 686 then edit
the toggleGalleryView script in common.js to handle the ccookie for a
given level (pass the %level% tt object as a second arg, as one option)

>
>> that depends. it used to be considered 'album' context due to
>> nameTransforms used in the datastores class. Now that that is gone,
>> and it's using the Schema, I don't know how easy it is to blend.
>>
> I'll take your word for it, since I am largely clueless ;) If it's
> too hard, it doesn't matter, but for consistency, it would seem that
> anything that is in album context should have the option to view as
> list or gallery.

sure, but having looked at it now, the New Music list is AGE context
(for the purposes of the Schema output) and just happens to be a list
of albums. You can add artwork=1 to the url and see what I mean. You
don't get the right results, so there is much more work on that. An
enhancement on that one too could be considered for the future. I won't
promise anything on my part.

>
> In fact, maybe even artist context could have list/gallery views, if
> there was a neat way of supplying artist photos - maybe from the
> biography plugin. Okay, I'm in dreamland again ;)

whole new framework needed there. You could borrow from Herger's
Biography plugin and grab the pics live, but that would be a huge
performance cost for a page of artists.

-k

jonmyatt
2006-07-04, 07:42
>I see there was a change comitted today "new artwork UI for fishbone skin". I can't see any browse artwork option - am I missing something?
>
Whoops, sorry. I've found it now!

Browse Albums now has two icons for selecting the browse view mode (thumbnails or list).

Nice (but the chosen icon could do with changing colour when selected or something).

Phil

I can't see any of this, using SlimServer Version: 6.5b1 - 8277.

Browse artwork is missing, do I need to do something?

jonmyatt
2006-07-04, 08:00
I can't see any of this, using SlimServer Version: 6.5b1 - 8277.

Browse artwork is missing, do I need to do something?

Ignore that, I see it now.

Patrick Dixon
2006-07-04, 08:01
I can't see any of this, using SlimServer Version: 6.5b1 - 8277.

Browse artwork is missing, do I need to do something?
Select Albums. You should then see an icon on the right of the heading which allows you to select artwork view.

Patrick Dixon
2006-07-04, 08:03
Line spacing appears doubled in 'thumbnail' mode, Artists - but it looks really good!

kdf
2006-07-04, 08:33
On 4-Jul-06, at 7:42 AM, jonmyatt wrote:
>
> Browse artwork is missing, do I need to do something?
>
it is not missing. it is deliberately removed
it is now a view option from browse albums.

choose browse albums, then look for an icon to switch to gallery view.

not all skins will support this, yet....but we all know why that is
(experimental build, work in progress)
-k

Philip Meyer
2006-07-06, 15:44
>sure, but having looked at it now, the New Music list is AGE context
>(for the purposes of the Schema output) and just happens to be a list
>of albums. You can add artwork=1 to the url and see what I mean. You
>don't get the right results, so there is much more work on that. An
>enhancement on that one too could be considered for the future. I won't
>promise anything on my part.
>
Looks like you have done this one too, before I even raised an enhancement request! It almost works, but I can see an album that has placeholder artwork rather than the actual artwork. If I browse to the album, I get the actual artwork correctly. There's something else wrong with scanning this album (bug 3705), so I guess that has something to do with it.

Also, I keep clicking on album artwork to browse to that album, but it doesn't work - only clicking on the text causes a browse to the album. Can the artwork be made clickable?

Phil

kdf
2006-07-06, 16:15
Quoting Phil Meyer <slim (AT) hergest (DOT) demon.co.uk>:


> Looks like you have done this one too, before I even raised an
> enhancement request! It almost works, but I can see an album that
> has placeholder artwork rather than the actual artwork. If I browse
> to the album, I get the actual artwork correctly. There's
> something else wrong with scanning this album (bug 3705), so I
> guess that has something to do with it.

each album uses the first track. so make sure the first track isn't
some other track wrongly attached to the album.

> Also, I keep clicking on album artwork to browse to that album, but
> it doesn't work - only clicking on the text causes a browse to the
> album. Can the artwork be made clickable?

it is.
check the properties for the link/image.
-k

Philip Meyer
2006-07-06, 16:28
>each album uses the first track. so make sure the first track isn't
>some other track wrongly attached to the album.
>
Interesting. The first track was correct, and I could browse to that track to see the artwork. I switched to Firefox and then back to IE (to test the unclickable artwork problem below), and then I noticed that the artwork for the dodgy album was now displayed correctly. Must have been some strange caching problem.

>> Also, I keep clicking on album artwork to browse to that album, but
>> it doesn't work - only clicking on the text causes a browse to the
>> album. Can the artwork be made clickable?
>
>it is.
>check the properties for the link/image.

Seems to be a problem with IE. I tried in Firefox and it works fine. I switched back to IE6 and it doesn't work.

Phil

kdf
2006-07-06, 16:37
Quoting Phil Meyer <slim (AT) hergest (DOT) demon.co.uk>:


> Interesting. The first track was correct, and I could browse to
> that track to see the artwork. I switched to Firefox and then back
> to IE (to test the unclickable artwork problem below), and then I
> noticed that the artwork for the dodgy album was now displayed
> correctly. Must have been some strange caching problem.

not necessarily. it's just the way that artwork scan now works. It
uses the first track that it finds, and applies that to artwork. If
you go down to a specific track, it will try to find artwork for the
songinfo page. If it then finds artwork, it will mark the album as
having artwork, using that track id. Thus, it can catch live changes.
try a wipe and rescan. we may need some sort of 'valid artwork
found' flag.

> Seems to be a problem with IE. I tried in Firefox and it works
> fine. I switched back to IE6 and it doesn't work.

and is there something else that IE is doing that prevents you from
looking at the properties?
-k

JJZolx
2006-07-06, 17:45
On 4-Jul-06, at 7:42 AM, jonmyatt wrote:
>
> Browse artwork is missing, do I need to do something?
>
it is not missing. it is deliberately removed
it is now a view option from browse albums.

choose browse albums, then look for an icon to switch to gallery view.

not all skins will support this, yet....but we all know why that is
(experimental build, work in progress)
I'm curious how this will work with regard to the sort order of albums. Browse Albums has always been in album name order. Pre-merge 6.5 had the ability to designate the sort order of Browse Artwork. Will that pref be applied to Browse Albums now?

Philip Meyer
2006-07-06, 17:46
>and is there something else that IE is doing that prevents you from
>looking at the properties?

The properties of an artwork thumbnail just give the image properties (eg. http://hergest:9000/music/1058/thumb_100x100_f_000000.jpg)

The corresponding chunk from the rendered html source is:

<div style="width:100px;">
<a name="1"></a> <div class="artworkImage" style="width: 100;">
<a href="/Fishbone/browsedb.html?hierarchy=album,track&amp;artwork=1&amp;leve l=1&amp;album.id=127&amp;player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Aac%3A3 5" target="browser"><span style="width:100px; height:100px;"><img src="/music/1058/thumb_100x100_f_000000.jpg" alt="10,000 Hz" title="10,000 Hz"></span></a>

</div>
<div class="artworkControls"> <a href="/Fishbone/status_header.html?command=playlist&amp;subcommand=loa dtracks&amp;album.id=127&amp;player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Aac %3A35" target=status><img src="/Fishbone/html/images/b_play.gif" height="11"
alt='Play'
title='Play'
onMouseOver="self.status='Play';return true"></a><a href="/Fishbone/status_header.html?command=playlist&amp;subcommand=ins erttracks&amp;album.id=127&amp;player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3A ac%3A35" target=status><img src="/Fishbone/html/images/b_queue.gif" height="11"
alt='Next'
title='Next'
onMouseOver="self.status='Next';return true"></a><a href="/Fishbone/status_header.html?command=playlist&amp;subcommand=add tracks&amp;album.id=127&amp;player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Aac% 3A35" target=status><img src="/Fishbone/html/images/b_add.gif" height="11"
alt='Add to playlist'
title='Add to playlist'
onMouseOver="self.status='Add to playlist';return true"></a><a href="/Fishbone/status_header.html?command=playlist&amp;subcommand=del etetracks&amp;album.id=127&amp;player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3A ac%3A35" target=status><img src="/Fishbone/html/images/b_delete.gif" height="11"
alt='Delete'
title='Delete'
onMouseOver="self.status='Delete';return true"></a>
<span class="mixers"></span> </div>
<div class="artworkText"><span style="width:100px;">


<a href="/Fishbone/browsedb.html?hierarchy=album,track&amp;artwork=1&amp;leve l=1&amp;album.id=127&amp;player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Aac%3A3 5">10,000 Hz</a>


<!-- Include the artist for the album view -->





</span></div>
</div></li>


I've noticed that I can right-click the image and do "open link".

kdf
2006-07-06, 17:59
On 6-Jul-06, at 5:45 PM, JJZolx wrote:

> Will that
> pref be applied to Browse Albums now?
>
right now, a lot of the ordering is wrong...so that's unknown.
presumably, if ordering works via the old sort param, then any level
can use it.
-k

kdf
2006-07-06, 18:14
On 6-Jul-06, at 5:46 PM, Phil Meyer wrote:

>> and is there something else that IE is doing that prevents you from
>> looking at the properties?
>
> The properties of an artwork thumbnail just give the image properties
> (eg. http://hergest:9000/music/1058/thumb_100x100_f_000000.jpg)
>
> The corresponding chunk from the rendered html source is:
>
> <div style="width:100px;">
> <a name="1"></a> <div class="artworkImage" style="width: 100;">
> <a
> href="/Fishbone/browsedb.html?hierarchy=album,track&amp;artwork=1&amp;
> level=1&amp;album.id=127&amp;player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Aac %3A35"
> target="browser"><span style="width:100px; height:100px;"><img
> src="/music/1058/thumb_100x100_f_000000.jpg" alt="10,000 Hz"
> title="10,000 Hz"></span></a>
>
> </div>
>

hrm. I had expected something would actually be missing, but this
looks fine. Not sure what IE's problem would be with this, especially
if you can right click to open a link.
-k

Philip Meyer
2006-07-07, 00:26
>hrm. I had expected something would actually be missing, but this
>looks fine. Not sure what IE's problem would be with this, especially
>if you can right click to open a link.
I can't see anything obvious. Perhaps try putting the <a> within the <span> (directly around the img)?

The text and picture both contain duplicate <a> tags - could the two be put within one to avoid duplication (the buttons <a> tags would override, or maybe the buttons should be below the text anyway?).


Phil

slimpy
2006-07-07, 00:52
On 6-Jul-06, at 5:46 PM, Phil Meyer wrote:

>> and is there something else that IE is doing that prevents you from
>> looking at the properties?
>
> The properties of an artwork thumbnail just give the image properties
> (eg. http://hergest:9000/music/1058/thumb_100x100_f_000000.jpg)
>
> The corresponding chunk from the rendered html source is:
>
> <div style="width:100px;">
> <a name="1"></a> <div class="artworkImage" style="width: 100;">
> <a
> href="/Fishbone/browsedb.html?hierarchy=album,track&amp;artwork=1&amp;
> level=1&amp;album.id=127&amp;player=00%3A04%3A20%3A05%3Aac %3A35"
> target="browser"><span style="width:100px; height:100px;"><img
> src="/music/1058/thumb_100x100_f_000000.jpg" alt="10,000 Hz"
> title="10,000 Hz"></span></a>
>
> </div>
>

hrm. I had expected something would actually be missing, but this
looks fine. Not sure what IE's problem would be with this, especially
if you can right click to open a link.
-k
There's nothing missing but there's an extra space that shouldn't be there between & and amp; after artwork=1 in href. Not sure if that makes any difference at all.

-s.

kdf
2006-07-07, 14:29
Quoting slimpy <slimpy.2akf1n1152258902 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:


> There's nothing missing but there's an extra space that shouldn't be
> there between & and amp; after artwork=1 in href. Not sure if that
> makes any difference at all.

The space is misleading I think, since I cannot find it anywhere in the code.

I moved the <span> outside of the <a> and this seems to have solved
the link problem. However, it does mean that a test case of faulty
artwork will bugger up teh layout (alt tag doesn't wrap to fit), but
this is only in IE. Fixing the artwork is always an avaiable option
so I'll merge in the fix tonight.
-kdf