PDA

View Full Version : Hi-fi separate form factor



Squirrel
2006-06-25, 01:46
As a recent convert to Squeezebox I'm seriously impressed with it - got one for the dining room/office and another for the bathroom (with flush mounted ceiling speakers).

There is just one thing missing though. Currently I have a Turtle Beach Audiotron in the main hi-fi downstairs, and the second system upstairs. This unit fits nicely into a rack full of 17" wide hi-fi components.

So are there any plans to produce Squeezebox in a hi-fi separate sized case? Preferably with front panel controls as well to facilitate use without a remote.

There is a market for it, there's been a gap in the market ever since Turtle Beach dropped their excellent but poorly marketed Audiotron.

Comments anyone?

stinkingpig
2006-06-25, 14:23
....
>
> So are there any plans to produce Squeezebox in a hi-fi separate sized
> case? Preferably with front panel controls as well to facilitate use
> without a remote.
>
> There is a market for it, there's been a gap in the market ever since
> Turtle Beach dropped their excellent but poorly marketed Audiotron.
>
> Comments anyone?
>
>
People have been asking for it for a long time, and most of them go on to
make one for themselves. SDI does not comment on future products.

--
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin,
So across the Western ocean I must wander" -- traditional

Kevin O. Lepard
2006-06-25, 14:52
>People have been asking for [an audio component styled Squeezebox]
>for a long time, and most of them go on to make one for themselves.
>SDI does not comment on future products.

That and the self-contained slim boombox.

I like the SB3 and have one, along with 3 SB2s. The SB3 just doesn't
lend itself to some locations. Where it fits, it looks better than
the SB2 (usually) but there are definitely some places where it
doesn't fit well.

Personally, I think the remote is weakest part: can't learn, no back
lighting, poor ergonomics, obscure uses of buttons.

I was actually toying with the idea of seeing if I could get the TiVo
remote (when set for the second DVR) to run it. Anyone tried that
already?

Kevin
--
Kevin O. Lepard

Happiness is being 100% Microsoft free.

Mr_Smiley
2006-06-25, 17:54
I hadn't thought about using the Tivo remote. I've been thinking of the Harmon everybody talks about but that's still a while away before the budget allows. If one of you IR wizards can get this together you'd most likely have a hoard of adoring fans.

Michaelwagner
2006-06-25, 20:04
I was actually toying with the idea of seeing if I could get the TiVo remote (when set for the second DVR) to run it.
There is a way to code new remotes into the squeezebox IR handler. I've never looked at how it works, how flexible it is, etc.

cshaida
2006-06-25, 20:22
So you're an audiotron user, huh. Search these forums for sporadic but energetic 'discussions' of the late, lamented 'knob'. Read them and weep. Maybe you're the one to take up the mantle and move forward...?