PDA

View Full Version : Windows Sleep



Jerry J. Trantow
2003-11-24, 08:09
I'd like to reduce my energy bill by having my server enter sleep mode and
wake up via the lan wake up.

Currently, if my Slimp3 is plugged in (displaying the clock) the computer
wakes up which I believe is to update the clock.

If I have the server enter sleep (unplug the slimp3) and then plug in the
slimp3 it can not find the server. Right now I have the slimp3 searching
for the server. My hope is that if I fix the server address, it would wake
up.

So I have a few questions.
1) Can I set up the slimp3 to go into a state where it doesn't need the
network?
2) Will the slimp3 bring the PC out of sleep mode if I use a fixed server
address?
3) How about a feature where the slimp3 firmware maintains the clock without
the network?

Erv Walter
2003-11-24, 09:36
Right now, my limited understanding is that there is a nearly constant
amount of traffic between the SLIMP3 and the server (albeit low traffic).
Everything that you see on the SLIMP3 screen is coming from the server in
nearly real time. If the server goes away, your SLIMP3 screen will go
blank. The SIMP3 will continue to talk to the server though to get up to
date information (which causes your wake-on-lan).

The only way to remove the traffic altogether is to turn the SLIMP3 off
(unplug it).

I don't know if the Squeezebox behaves the same or differently.

Erv

----- Original Message -----
From: "Jerry J. Trantow" <Jerry.Trantow (AT) appliedsignalprocessing (DOT) com>
To: "'SlimDevices Discussion'" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Monday, November 24, 2003 9:09 AM
Subject: [slim] Windows Sleep


>
> I'd like to reduce my energy bill by having my server enter sleep mode and
> wake up via the lan wake up.
>
> Currently, if my Slimp3 is plugged in (displaying the clock) the computer
> wakes up which I believe is to update the clock.
>
> If I have the server enter sleep (unplug the slimp3) and then plug in the
> slimp3 it can not find the server. Right now I have the slimp3 searching
> for the server. My hope is that if I fix the server address, it would
wake
> up.
>
> So I have a few questions.
> 1) Can I set up the slimp3 to go into a state where it doesn't need the
> network?
> 2) Will the slimp3 bring the PC out of sleep mode if I use a fixed server
> address?
> 3) How about a feature where the slimp3 firmware maintains the clock
without
> the network?
>
>
>
>