PDA

View Full Version : Quick flac2mp3 question



funkstar
2006-06-18, 14:11
i've just set Foobar2000 to the task of converting all my FLACs to MP3s and realised it has made a complete hash of my nice tagging.

Does the flac2mp3 script do a better job? specifically for multi disk sets.

I have all my music in the following structure:
<artist>\<album>\<artist> - <album> - <track no> - <track name>

with multiple disks as:
<artist>\<album> (Disc #)\<artist> - <album> (Disk #) - <track no> - <track name>

All the correct disk numbers etc. are present in the FLAC tags. Whill this translate correctly to MP3 if i use flac2mp3?

thanks :)

Robin Bowes
2006-06-23, 04:28
funkstar wrote:
> i've just set Foobar2000 to the task of converting all my FLACs to MP3s
> and realised it has made a complete hash of my nice tagging.
>
> Does the flac2mp3 script do a better job? specifically for multi disk
> sets.
>
> I have all my music in the following structure:
> <artist>\<album>\<artist> - <album> - <track no> - <track name>
>
> with multiple disks as:
> <artist>\<album> (Disc #)\<artist> - <album> (Disk #) - <track no> -
> <track name>
>
> All the correct disk numbers etc. are present in the FLAC tags. Whill
> this translate correctly to MP3 if i use flac2mp3?

Sorry for the late reply - I don't follow the General list regularly any
more: too much traffic.

flac3mp3 copies flac tags (vorbis comments) to mp3 tags (id3v2).

It currently has a set of tags that it knows about:

our %MP3frames = (
'ALBUM' => 'TALB',
'ARTIST' => 'TPE1',
'COMMENT' => 'COMM',
'DATE' => 'TYER',
'GENRE' => 'TCON',
'TITLE' => 'TIT2',
'TRACKNUMBER' => 'TRCK',
'MUSICBRAINZ_ALBUMID' => 'TXXX',
'MUSICBRAINZ_ALBUMSTATUS' => 'TXXX',
'MUSICBRAINZ_ALBUMTYPE' => 'TXXX',
'MUSICBRAINZ_ARTISTID' => 'TXXX',
'MUSICBRAINZ_SORTNAME' => 'TXXX',
'MUSICBRAINZ_TRACKID' => 'UFID',
'MUSICBRAINZ_TRMID' => 'TXXX',
# 'REPLAYGAIN_TRACK_PEAK' => 'TXXX',
# 'REPLAYGAIN_TRACK_GAIN' => 'TXXX',
# 'REPLAYGAIN_ALBUM_PEAK' => 'TXXX',
# 'REPLAYGAIN_ALBUM_GAIN' => 'TXXX',
);


As you can see, DISCNUMBER is not included, which is a bit of an
oversight since I too use DISCNUMBER in my flac files.

All that is required to add DISCNUMBER is to add the following line to
the above declaration:

'DISCNUMBER' => 'TPOS',

(Assuming that 'TPOS' is the ID3v2 tag that corresponds to the Vorbis
Comment 'DISCNUMBER')

I really must do some work on flac2mp3 - it's been months since I've had
time to look at it.

R.

funkstar
2006-06-23, 16:27
Sorry for the late reply - I don't follow the General list regularly any more: too much traffic.
Don't worry about it, i abandoned the list last year and use the forum now, i find it much easier to handle the traffic.

I had a look though the perl and was able to make some sense of it and figured i could add that is needed. Doesn't matter though, my Archos AV500 doesn't read the TPOS (or whatever Tag&Rename uses) tag anyway. Ended up just running through everything with Tag&Rename and changing the album name to reflect the disk number.

Excellent script though, did a much better ob than Foobar2000. for some reason it didn't copy across all the artist names when it transcoded, meant the archos had to guess and had large '?' icons over the album names.