PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading to v5 from v4.xx on SuSE 8, renaming main perlmodule?



Bob James
2003-11-23, 18:40
Quick question. I've been using the tarballs every time I've upgraded
in the past without any problems. I've already got my startup scripts,
etc., perfected. Since the executable of the new version has changed
can I just rename it back to slimp3.pl and no break anything?


--
|^^^^^^| Mmmm... slanty ________ ___.-.___
| | \______|) \_______/ (Swoosh)
| _ _| 21st Century Digital Boy _||___//_`-'
| (o)(o) '--._____](-
@ _) bob (AT) banddog (DOT) com | ICQ-UIN #719804
| ,___|
| / "The man who smiles when things go wrong has thought of
/___\ someone to blame it on." --- Jone's Law (Arrrrr)

Kevin Deane-Freeman
2003-11-23, 23:26
Quoting Bob James <bob (AT) banddog (DOT) com>:

> Quick question. I've been using the tarballs every time I've upgraded
> in the past without any problems. I've already got my startup scripts,
> etc., perfected. Since the executable of the new version has changed
> can I just rename it back to slimp3.pl and no break anything?
>

to be frank, you will be better off changing your scripts. preference file name
has changed as well as the executable. If you change your scripts, you only
need to change once. If you change the executable and the prefs files, you will
have to keep doing it every time you download a new tarball.

-kdf

Bob James
2003-11-25, 18:35
Ah OK. Well then I'll wait a bit for version 5 to firm up a bit and
then rip out the old and install the new.

Thanks.

Kevin Deane-Freeman wrote:

>Quoting Bob James <bob (AT) banddog (DOT) com>:
>
>
>
>>Quick question. I've been using the tarballs every time I've upgraded
>>in the past without any problems. I've already got my startup scripts,
>>etc., perfected. Since the executable of the new version has changed
>>can I just rename it back to slimp3.pl and no break anything?
>>
>>
>>
>
>to be frank, you will be better off changing your scripts. preference file name
>has changed as well as the executable. If you change your scripts, you only
>need to change once. If you change the executable and the prefs files, you will
>have to keep doing it every time you download a new tarball.
>
>-kdf
>
>