PDA

View Full Version : Trouble connecting to my Slimp3 player



Sean Kelley
2003-11-23, 17:32
It's been working fine before. I have my slimp3 player connected to a
Linksys Wireless Ethernet Bridge. That in turn communicates with my NetGear
Four Port Wireless Router. I have tried both versions 5.0 and the 4.6.2
version of the server software. I have run the server on both my Mac and my
Linux box. But neither of them can detect the Slimp3 player over my
network.

Any suggestions for the best way to go about troubleshooting the connection?
Essentially the server software is unable to detect the device. The device
is unable to detect any slimp3 server. So it appears to me the problem is
with my wireless bridge. I will directly connect my slimp3 player to my
router as a sanity check to make sure that works. Then I will attempt to
see why my wireless bridge has started giving me trouble.

Thanks,

Sean

Roy M. Silvernail
2003-11-23, 18:03
On Sunday 23 November 2003 19:32, Sean Kelley wrote:
> It's been working fine before. I have my slimp3 player connected to a
> Linksys Wireless Ethernet Bridge. That in turn communicates with my
> NetGear Four Port Wireless Router. I have tried both versions 5.0 and the
> 4.6.2 version of the server software. I have run the server on both my Mac
> and my Linux box. But neither of them can detect the Slimp3 player over my
> network.
>
> Any suggestions for the best way to go about troubleshooting the
> connection?

As always with this kind of problem, the first question is "what
changed?" (and the first answer is usually "nothing!" :) Can the SliMP3
obtain a DHCP lease? (cycle power to the SliMP3, choose the fully automatic
configuration and watch the "Searching for a DHCP Server" message. It should
only last one or two seconds)

> The device is unable to detect any slimp3 server. So it appears to me the
> problem is with my wireless bridge. I will directly connect my slimp3
> player to my router as a sanity check to make sure that works. Then I will
> attempt to see why my wireless bridge has started giving me trouble.

Not to be a smartass, but double-check that your sever is in fact running.
Plugins are known to be fragile under unexpected arrow presses and I've seen
badly behaved streams crash 4.2.x.

If the direct connection works, try hooking a laptop up to the bridge and see
if you can obtain a DHCP lease. Then see if you can ping your slimserver.
Also, make sure that the router doesn't object to devices that never renew
their DHCP lease. If you've added another computer to your network after the
SliMP3 has been up for a while, your router could have given the new device
the slimpy's old IP address. My routers tend to cache MAC id's and give the
same address back to the same MAC, but I'm not familiar with the Netgear
stuff in that scenario.

I'd also check the wireless with another wireless card, to make sure the
router isn't going bonk.