PDA

View Full Version : Release 5 RPM issues.



Jason Page
2003-11-23, 17:08
Hey guys, I'm a bit confused about what is happening now that I've installed
the latest build (now called slimserver).

It looks like the original slimp3 server is still installed.

I noticed another thread about this but I'm not entirely clear as to what I
need to do to clear everything up.

Must I do a full un-install of both packages and then re-install the latest
release 5 RPM to straighten things out?

Victor Brilon
2003-11-23, 19:00
It looks like the current RPM does require you to uninstall the old
version first. Soon as anonymous CVS is opened up, I've volunteered to
fix the RPM so that it upgrades the existing installation.

Victor

Jason Page wrote:
> Hey guys, I'm a bit confused about what is happening now that I've
> installed the latest build (now called slimserver).
>
> It looks like the original slimp3 server is still installed.
>
> I noticed another thread about this but I'm not entirely clear as to
> what I need to do to clear everything up.
>
> Must I do a full un-install of both packages and then re-install the
> latest release 5 RPM to straighten things out?
>
>

dean
2003-11-23, 21:44
Yes, you should uninstall the original SLIMP3 software RPM.

-dean

On Nov 23, 2003, at 4:08 PM, Jason Page wrote:

> Hey guys, I'm a bit confused about what is happening now that I've
> installed the latest build (now called slimserver).
>
> It looks like the original slimp3 server is still installed.
>
> I noticed another thread about this but I'm not entirely clear as to
> what I need to do to clear everything up.
>
> Must I do a full un-install of both packages and then re-install the
> latest release 5 RPM to straighten things out?
>
>