PDA

View Full Version : sync sb2 and winamp



jrichemont
2006-06-03, 06:27
Hi. I would like to synchronise winamp on a laptop for visualisations with an sb2 driving the audio. Is this possible? I cannot find anywhere that says 'synchronise' on either the web interface (for either player) or using the remote on the sb.

I am running slimserver 6.1 on XP, winamp 5.22 on XP.

Many thanks;
Jeremy

funkstar
2006-06-03, 06:44
i don't think there is any way to sync them to be honest.

jrichemont
2006-06-03, 07:50
Thanks for that. That's a shame; I was hoping to project some visuals to match the beat of the audio but they will always be a random amount out of sync. Don't see why it should be a problem technically though...

How about a plugin?

Cheers;
J

azinck3
2006-06-03, 08:32
Thanks for that. That's a shame; I was hoping to project some visuals to match the beat of the audio but they will always be a random amount out of sync. Don't see why it should be a problem technically though...

How about a plugin?

Cheers;
J

Funkstar is right: http streaming clients can't be synched to squeezeboxes; the audio code for the two is very different. However, you can sync a squeezebox with softsqueeze. Then you could use a stand-alone visualizer (i.e. Whitecap)that will visualize whatever your sound card is outputting.

radish
2006-06-03, 09:51
Don't see why it should be a problem technically though...

The problem is that sync requires very close control of playback and, most importantly, buffering. And Slimserver has no way of controlling how an http client (e.g. winamp) handles it's buffer. So sorry, but it's impossible.