PDA

View Full Version : Empty Library



pfm21
2006-05-29, 19:21
I am having a strange problem with Slimserver and have searched to no avail. Hope someone here can help.

First the background, I am running the following:

SlimServer Version: 6.2.2 - 7135 - Mac OS X 10.4.6 (8I127) - EN - utf8

The files are mp3s that are on a linux machine functioning as a fileserver for the whole house. Slimserver is running on a mac mini. The mac can see the linux machine and I can play the files in iTunes on the mac running slimserver.

Now the funny part, I get "Your music library contains 0 albums with 0 songs by 0 artists." I rescan, clear library and rescan, etc and no change. BUT when I navigate via the "Browse Music Folder" option it is able to see the files, play them with no trouble. And once I have browsed to a particular folder, artist, whatever all the songs in that directory are then added to the library.

So I either have to navigate to each folder and play one song in each (a lot of work with 35 gig) or there is some fix out there that someone out there can shed some light on for me!

Thanks for any help.

pm

Mark Lanctot
2006-05-29, 19:39
How are your tags?

JJZolx
2006-05-29, 20:11
I am having a strange problem with Slimserver and have searched to no avail. Hope someone here can help.

First the background, I am running the following:

SlimServer Version: 6.2.2 - 7135 - Mac OS X 10.4.6 (8I127) - EN - utf8

The files are mp3s that are on a linux machine functioning as a fileserver for the whole house. Slimserver is running on a mac mini. The mac can see the linux machine and I can play the files in iTunes on the mac running slimserver.

Now the funny part, I get "Your music library contains 0 albums with 0 songs by 0 artists." I rescan, clear library and rescan, etc and no change. BUT when I navigate via the "Browse Music Folder" option it is able to see the files, play them with no trouble. And once I have browsed to a particular folder, artist, whatever all the songs in that directory are then added to the library.

So I either have to navigate to each folder and play one song in each (a lot of work with 35 gig) or there is some fix out there that someone out there can shed some light on for me!
Try restarting SlimServer. When it starts back up, it should see an empty library and begin to scan in earnest. I guess it has something stuck in its craw that won't let it run a proper scan until restarted.

This has been a known problem for a while, but apparently it's difficult to duplicate, or fix, or something. See the the bug report below, and add your two cents.

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2792

pfm21
2006-05-30, 14:24
Does anyone know if this bug has been addressed in 6.3.0 and therefore I should try the beta version of that release or am I safer to stick with production code?

pm

JJZolx
2006-05-30, 14:33
Does anyone know if this bug has been addressed in 6.3.0 and therefore I should try the beta version of that release or am I safer to stick with production code?
Probably not. When a (potential) fix for a bug is checked in, there is usually an entry posted to the bug report stating so.

It doesn't happen very often for me, so is really just an inconvenience more than anything. Have you tried restarting the server? This has always cleared it up for me.

pfm21
2006-06-03, 06:02
It doesn't happen very often for me, so is really just an inconvenience more than anything.

I guess that is the difference, this is happening to me every 2 days or so. But from the sound of it there is nothing that can be done.

pm

JJZolx
2006-06-03, 08:56
I guess that is the difference, this is happening to me every 2 days or so. But from the sound of it there is nothing that can be done.
Again, does restarting the server clear the problem for you?

arturo
2006-06-03, 18:40
I'm having the same problem with a new installation. Windows XP pro, sp2. Zero artists, zero albums, zero songs, empty. Rescanning does nothing "The server is now rescanning your Music Library" appears, nothing happens.
I've ripped one CD to my music folder (using Windows Media Player). If I browse to the music folder (in Slimserver 6.2.2), I see the artist directory, the album directory inside it, but no song files. They really are there - *.wma.
Restarting the slimserver DID NOT fix the problem.

arturo
2006-06-03, 18:52
An addendum - I am able to add playlists to the library (radio stations), but nothing that I've ripped from a CD.

JJZolx
2006-06-03, 23:19
I'm having the same problem with a new installation. Windows XP pro, sp2. Zero artists, zero albums, zero songs, empty. Rescanning does nothing "The server is now rescanning your Music Library" appears, nothing happens.
I've ripped one CD to my music folder (using Windows Media Player). If I browse to the music folder (in Slimserver 6.2.2), I see the artist directory, the album directory inside it, but no song files. They really are there - *.wma.
Restarting the slimserver DID NOT fix the problem.
Arturo, I suspect your issue is something different. The bug we're talking about is fairly uncommon. Try posting in the Beginners forum and I'm sure you'll get some good suggestions on how to begin troubleshooting your problem.

arturo
2006-06-04, 11:13
Arturo, I suspect your issue is something different. The bug we're talking about is fairly uncommon. Try posting in the Beginners forum and I'm sure you'll get some good suggestions on how to begin troubleshooting your problem.

Ok, I've started a thread there as well. I still wonder if my problem is the same as this thread though. So I started using the debugger to log the scanning process. I see that SS finds the album directory, sees 22 items inside it (22 songs), then descends into the directory and decides that each index is not a list type and skips it. For example, here it is looking at song #16:
2006-06-04 10:50:48.8902 index: 16
2006-06-04 10:50:48.8902 itempath: and file:///E:/Muzak/Wire/Pink%20Flag made
2006-06-04 10:50:48.8903 isList() == 0
2006-06-04 10:50:48.8903 not a list:
2006-06-04 10:50:48.8904 Skipping unknown type:
So, why didn't it recognize the WMA file as a known type?

Gregory Hamilton
2006-06-04, 12:17
Did you disable the automatic DRM in Windows Media Player?

On 6/4/06, arturo <arturo.28w3qz1149444901 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> JJZolx Wrote:
> > Arturo, I suspect your issue is something different. The bug we're
> > talking about is fairly uncommon. Try posting in the Beginners forum
> > and I'm sure you'll get some good suggestions on how to begin
> > troubleshooting your problem.
>
> Ok, I've started a thread there as well. I still wonder if my problem
> is the same as this thread though. So I started using the debugger to
> log the scanning process. I see that SS finds the album directory, sees
> 22 items inside it (22 songs), then descends into the directory and
> decides that each index is not a list type and skips it. For example,
> here it is looking at song #16:
> 2006-06-04 10:50:48.8902 index: 16
> 2006-06-04 10:50:48.8902 itempath: and
> file:///E:/Muzak/Wire/Pink%20Flag made
> 2006-06-04 10:50:48.8903 isList() == 0
> 2006-06-04 10:50:48.8903 not a list:
> 2006-06-04 10:50:48.8904 Skipping unknown type:
> So, why didn't it recognize the WMA file as a known type?
>
>
> --
> arturo
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> arturo's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=5795
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=24323
>
>

arturo
2006-06-04, 12:57
Did you disable the automatic DRM in Windows Media Player?

On 6/4/06, arturo <arturo.28w3qz1149444901 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:

>

Nope! That indeed was the problem. Thanks Gregory!
Arthur

hirsp1
2006-06-04, 16:59
Setup:

Slimserver 6.2.2 on Ubuntu Breezy, music on Linkstation drive.
Linkstation drive is mounted and can be seen (I can browse music folders, but rescanning doesn't find anything)

Everything seemed to be working just fine in 6.2.1. Decided to "upgrade" to 6.2.2.

I've started and stopped the slimserver to no avail. It still won't find the music. I've also rebooted the machine, the Linkstation, nothing. Any reasons why this might happen?

Also, as an unrelated question, does 6.2.2 use MySql by default?

hirsp1
2006-06-04, 17:26
Setup:

Slimserver 6.2.2 on Ubuntu Breezy, music on Linkstation drive.
Linkstation drive is mounted and can be seen (I can browse music folders, but rescanning doesn't find anything)

Everything seemed to be working just fine in 6.2.1. Decided to "upgrade" to 6.2.2.

I've started and stopped the slimserver to no avail. It still won't find the music. I've also rebooted the machine, the Linkstation, nothing. Any reasons why this might happen?


I just discovered if I go to "Browse Music Folders", add everything in the folder to a playlist, all of the sudden, all of the music is "found." If I rescan, it's lost again.

pfm21
2006-06-09, 11:33
I just discovered if I go to "Browse Music Folders", add everything in the folder to a playlist, all of the sudden, all of the music is "found." If I rescan, it's lost again.

This is the exact same behaviour I am seeing, and the stop and restart of the slimserver fixes it, but that means that I am forced to do this every two days or so. Is there really no better fix? Will going back to an earlier release help?

pm

JJZolx
2006-06-09, 11:47
This is the exact same behaviour I am seeing, and the stop and restart of the slimserver fixes it, but that means that I am forced to do this every two days or so. Is there really no better fix? Will going back to an earlier release help?
No. There is no fix. I imagine going back to some earlier release may fix it, but I'm not sure what version that would be. And you'll likely reinherit a host of _other_ bugs that have since been fixed.

Add your comments to the bug report below. And vote for a fix. As it stands now, it appears as though it isn't going to be fixed.

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2792