PDA

View Full Version : Updated to SlimServer 5.0, and now pref pane is missing"Firmware Update" button



Duane Byram
2003-11-20, 16:04
I installed SlimServer 5.0 on OSX 10.3.1 (updating from 4.2.4), and now the
SlimServer pref pane only includes two buttons:
"Start/Stop Server" & "Web Access"
The "Firmware Update" button is no longer present. Is this a intentional UI
change? Or has something gone wrong on my installation?

Additionally when I try to manually run the SLIMP3 Firmware Updater
application on the disk image, it immediately quits.

I'm currently OK as I have version 2.2 already installed on my SlimMp3, but
I'm a little concerned I won't be able to update once a new version becomes
available.

Anyone else seeing this?

- duano!

Dave Nanian
2003-11-20, 18:59
Duano --

It's an intentional UI change, actually. The build error that's causing
the firmware updater to fail, however, is not intentional.

Dean just posted a build that will fix it -- check his message from
earlier today.

On Nov 20, 2003, at 6:04 PM, Duane Byram wrote:

> I installed SlimServer 5.0 on OSX 10.3.1 (updating from 4.2.4), and
> now the
> SlimServer pref pane only includes two buttons:
> "Start/Stop Server" & "Web Access"
> The "Firmware Update" button is no longer present. Is this a
> intentional UI
> change? Or has something gone wrong on my installation?
>
> Additionally when I try to manually run the SLIMP3 Firmware Updater
> application on the disk image, it immediately quits.
>
> I'm currently OK as I have version 2.2 already installed on my
> SlimMp3, but
> I'm a little concerned I won't be able to update once a new version
> becomes
> available.
>
> Anyone else seeing this?
>
> - duano!
>
>

dean
2003-11-21, 12:51
The latest nightly build:

http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/

also fixes the problem with the updater.

-dean

On Nov 20, 2003, at 3:04 PM, Duane Byram wrote:

> I installed SlimServer 5.0 on OSX 10.3.1 (updating from 4.2.4), and
> now the
> SlimServer pref pane only includes two buttons:
> "Start/Stop Server" & "Web Access"
> The "Firmware Update" button is no longer present. Is this a
> intentional UI
> change? Or has something gone wrong on my installation?
>
> Additionally when I try to manually run the SLIMP3 Firmware Updater
> application on the disk image, it immediately quits.
>
> I'm currently OK as I have version 2.2 already installed on my
> SlimMp3, but
> I'm a little concerned I won't be able to update once a new version
> becomes
> available.
>
> Anyone else seeing this?
>
> - duano!
>
>