PDA

View Full Version : First Gen SqueezeBox looses power



Chris Egolf
2006-05-23, 09:13
Hi All -

I have a first generation wireless SqueezeBox (with the upgraded screen)
that has started to randomly power itself off. This started about a
month ago and has become progressively worse. The only *temporary*
solution seems to be reseating the power cord, but eventually it will
power itself off again.

Has anyone experienced a similar problem and if so were you able to
solve it?

I've contacted SlimDevices support and they've recommended sending it in
for a minimum of $90 and no guarantee of success. I'm currently
weighing my options of doing that or biting the bullet and getting a SB3
instead.

Thanks,
Chris
--

radish
2006-05-23, 09:49
Are you sure it's actually powering off and not just losing it's network connection? The effect can look very similar...

Chris Egolf
2006-05-23, 09:54
radish wrote:
> Are you sure it's actually powering off and not just losing it's network
> connection? The effect can look very similar...
>
Really? I thought it just displayed a message that it had lost contact
with the slimserver.

It's using the wired connection instead of the wireless, but I'll double
check the connections just to be sure.

Thanks.

--
================================================== ==========================
Chris Egolf
http://www.ugholf.net cegolf (AT) ugholf (DOT) net
================================================== ==========================

peterw
2006-05-23, 10:51
[QUOTE=Chris Egolf]radish wrote:
> Are you sure it's actually powering off and not just losing it's network
> connection? The effect can look very similar...
>
Really? I thought it just displayed a message that it had lost contact
with the slimserver.

It's using the wired connection instead of the wireless, but I'll double
check the connections just to be sure.


About a week ago I had some odd trouble with my Squeezebox G "going dark" a couple times overnight (normally it's "off" and displaying the current time; when it misbehaved, the screen went dark entirely). It hasn't happened since, but I found it odd, as it's using a wired connection to the SlimServer host (which also acts as DHCP server; both the SlimServer host and the SBG are plugged into the same wireless G bridge [Linksys WRT54G + DD-WRT firmware]). Cycling the SBG by holding down the power button on the remote was enough to reconnect and restore the time display.

In this same time period, my Squeezebox 2 (which uses 802.11g to the house AP) didn't have any trouble.

ISTM the SBG should have reconnected easily if it had rebooted for some reason, especially given how clean & simple the networking is for the SBG's link to SlimServer.

The lost connections have not recurred, so I haven't investigated further. But I'd double-check your firmware (hold Brightness to force an update?) first, as I wonder if this may be a firmware/software problem. And I wonder if using a static IP address would help if you're losing connections, as that would remove the DHCP dependency.

radish
2006-05-23, 11:22
radish wrote:
> Are you sure it's actually powering off and not just losing it's network
> connection? The effect can look very similar...
>
Really? I thought it just displayed a message that it had lost contact
with the slimserver.

It's using the wired connection instead of the wireless, but I'll double
check the connections just to be sure.

Thanks.

--
================================================== ==========================
Chris Egolf
http://www.ugholf.net cegolf (AT) ugholf (DOT) net
================================================== ==========================

My memory of my players is that they display a message saying the connection was lost for a moment, then try reconnecting, then give up and just go dark. Next time it happens try holding down power and see if it comes back to life.

azinck3
2006-05-23, 11:38
I've seen the same thing: occasionally my SB1g will lose connection to the server overnight, resulting in the typical "blank" screen. A restart (5sec pwr) does the trick.

I've just chalked it up to my rather bizarre network arrangement but maybe there's more to it if others are seeing the same issue. My network configuration is as follows:
wired sb1g into wrt54g in wireless bridge mode running dd-wrt firmware connecting to my netgear wireless router (acting as DHCP server), the router is wired to my cable modem which provides the internet connection to Slimserver 6.5 that I'm running off my computer at work (which is on a static global IP, not behind NAT--one of the perks of working for a major university). Amazingly, in spite of all this, I usually get very good performance--on a good day I can stream RAW PCM from my work computer, across the internet, across my wireless (802.11b), to my sb1g!!

I've never had the connection-dropping problem with my wired sb1 (non-g) which is wired directly to my netgear router/switch and is served from a pc running slimserver 5.4 wired to that same switch (I run the two different servers because I have very different uses for the two squeezeboxes). It's always been dead-reliable.

Paul Minott
2006-05-23, 13:30
Thank You - I'm not the only one. I too have the first Gen with the upgraded
screen and had thought I was having a problem with my wireless connection
but having switched over to built in wired I am also having the same
problem. Once plugged in again and going through the setup, which it does
with no problem I'll come back to it and will find a blank screen. I'll have
to keep an eye on this thread to see if there are any answers other than
sending it in. Fortunately I have one other SB2 and an original Slimp3 -
Hmmm although the SB3's look very nice.

Paul


On 5/23/06 12:13 PM, "Chris Egolf" <cegolf (AT) ugholf (DOT) net> wrote:

> Hi All -
>
> I have a first generation wireless SqueezeBox (with the upgraded screen)
> that has started to randomly power itself off. This started about a
> month ago and has become progressively worse. The only *temporary*
> solution seems to be reseating the power cord, but eventually it will
> power itself off again.
>
> Has anyone experienced a similar problem and if so were you able to
> solve it?
>
> I've contacted SlimDevices support and they've recommended sending it in
> for a minimum of $90 and no guarantee of success. I'm currently
> weighing my options of doing that or biting the bullet and getting a SB3
> instead.
>
> Thanks,
> Chris

Michaelwagner
2006-05-23, 17:36
Wireless SB1s do that when they lose network connectivity. They are very bad about retrying (i.e. they basically don't). Hold the power button, it'll all come back.

Chris Egolf
2006-05-23, 21:00
Michaelwagner wrote:
> Wireless SB1s do that when they lose network connectivity. They are very
> bad about retrying (i.e. they basically don't). Hold the power button,
> it'll all come back.
>
>
Well, although it is the wireless SB1, it is wired and exhibiting this
problem. I've tried the suggestions of pressing and holding the power
button, upgrading the firmware, and even replaced the network cable and
switch port it's plugged into with no success. The SB1 will stay on for
several hours and then turn off completely. It won't even respond to
pings on the network at that point. The only thing I've found to bring
it back to life is unplugging the power connector and re-seating it.
Sometimes several attempts are required. I think it's getting worse
over time.

All of this leads me to think it's a bad connection, somewhere in the
SB1. I've tested the power supply and it's delivering the correct
voltage. I guess it could be something with that, but I don't see how
unplugging it would fix that.

--
================================================== ==========================
Chris Egolf
http://www.ugholf.net cegolf [AT] ugholf [DOT] net
================================================== ==========================

seanadams
2006-05-23, 21:24
At this point you should probably contact support, since not responding to press-and-hold-power means the unit is either wedging itself in some way or losing power - it probably is not a network issue. I don't have an especially likely explanation, but a couple things you might try to narrow it down:

- check the TOSLINK LED. it should be on at all times after startup as long as the unit is getting power.

- The filaments (thin horizotal wires) in the VFD should be slightly glowing. If they ever shut off, this is another indicator of a power supply issue.

- the wireless card may be on the blink or improperly seated - it shares the memory bus so it's conceivable that it could precipitate a crash. if you don't need it, try removing it.

cegolf
2006-05-24, 13:42
Well, I *tentatively* think the answer was behind door number 3. It's
been about 4-5 hours since I pulled the wireless card out, and the SB1
has stayed up. Recently, it would have shut off by now, so I'm hopeful
that this solved it.

For future reference, what exactly is the TOSLINK LED?

seanadams wrote:
> At this point you should probably contact support, since not responding
> to press-and-hold-power means the unit is either wedging itself in some
> way or losing power - it probably is not a network issue. I don't have
> an especially likely explanation, but a couple things you might try to
> narrow it down:
>
> - check the TOSLINK LED. it should be on at all times after startup as
> long as the unit is getting power.
>
> - The filaments (thin horizotal wires) in the VFD should be slightly
> glowing. If they ever shut off, this is another indicator of a power
> supply issue.
>
> - the wireless card may be on the blink or improperly seated - it
> shares the memory bus so it's conceivable that it could precipitate a
> crash. if you don't need it, try removing it.
>
>


--
================================================== ==========================
Chris Egolf
http://www.ugholf.net cegolf [AT] ugholf [DOT] net
================================================== ==========================

seanadams
2006-05-24, 13:47
TOSLINK = digital optical output
LED = the red light inside the connector

Michaelwagner
2006-05-24, 14:11
It's behind flap number 2 :-)