PDA

View Full Version : Why does the server rescan everything when I tell it to only rescan playlists?



hal9000
2006-05-21, 13:32
I am using 6.2.2

thanks!

ModelCitizen
2006-05-21, 13:56
My experience too with 6.3.
I make a playlist on my computer, get SlimServer to Scan Playlists only, walk downstairs to start the playlist on the hifi via the Squeezebox remote. Then I have to make a cup of tea, have a shower, cook dinner.... and if I'm lucky by then SlimServer will have finished scanning my new playlist of 10 existing songs.
MC

RiccardoR
2006-05-22, 09:34
It's possible that You have put the same directory in Slimserver both for music files and playlists?

ModelCitizen
2006-05-22, 10:50
I definitely haven't. I does appear that choosing to scan only playlists forces a full rescan on 6.3. I's have though that any scan of a just one new playlist ought to be pretty instantaneous. Is this how it on your machine?
MC

Siduhe
2006-05-22, 11:02
Hmm, not my experience at all with 6.3 but I'm running a nightly from about two weeks ago rather than the most up to date. Rescan 20 odd playlists takes about 3 minutes (compared with a new music scan which takes about 10)

Have you tried enabling the d_scan debugging flag (Server Settings / Debugging) and having a look at the log output ?

This should do one of two things:

1) confirm that "rescan playlists" is in fact rescanning everything in your library - in which case it sounds like a bug and you'll need to open one up in Bugzilla; or

2) it's only scanning playlists, but Slimserver's getting confused somewhere about either where your playlists are, or the format of the links contained within them.

If you need any help interpreting the log output, do please post back.

Ben Sandee
2006-05-22, 11:09
On 5/22/06, ModelCitizen <
ModelCitizen.28805n1148320501 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
>
> I definitely haven't. I does appear that choosing to scan only playlists
> forces a full rescan on 6.3. I's have though that any scan of a just one
> new playlist ought to be pretty instantaneous. Is this how it on your
> machine?


Make sure you don't have a playlist with all (or a signficant portion) of
your library. A playlist like this would force SS to rescan a lot of files..

Ben

ModelCitizen
2006-05-22, 13:52
Thanks for your help geezas.

Needs short history: yesterday I added a few playlists and then rescaned playlists only. Took hours (but I do have a really low spec machine).
I was perplexed as (in my world) adding playlists referencing mucic already in the SS database should not require a scan of music files, just simple indexing.
So, all my playlists became indexed/scanned. The last night my automatic scheduled scan occurred anyway, so all was consolidated.

So now I've checked the d_scan and the scanned playists only. The scan was quite quick, but the log file confuses me. There is music listed in the log file that I've not touched for years and that does not exist in any playlists (eg Shamen and Caravan... but lots more too). However some of the later entries in the log file refer to music referenced in the playlists I added yesterday (Talking Heads etc).
The log file is here: http://modelcitizen.mine.nu/simserver_log1.txt

Then I created a new playlist with only one track in it (Biosphere's Phantasm from the album Patashnik) and rescanned playlists only. This scan appeared to take a lot longer. At least the hardisk for my SS machine thrashed for a lot longer, about 15 minutes, but the log file seems to indicate it took less than a minute. What gives here, I have no idea. Anyway, this is the log file:
http://modelcitizen.mine.nu/simserver_log2.txt.

It appears to reference mostly the same music as the previous scan. The music it chooses to index doesn't appear to have any logic at all (i.e. some is in playlists, some isn't).

I've checked the music that seems to be eroneously scanned but it all looks OK (In my case this means that each album playlist, as every album/folder has a playlist, points to the correct files and that any .cue file has been renamed to .cue_)

I am now very perplexed and quite confused so any help or pointers would be well appreciated.

Cheers

MC

Siduhe
2006-05-22, 14:11
Well, the good news is that "rescan playlists" appears only to be rescanning playlists !

It really does sound to me like you have an errant playlist or cue file in there somewhere which is referencing all this old music and that is what is bogging Slimserver down.

I would start again - create a fresh and empty folder for your Playlists and point Slimserver to that. Then add in one playlist only, and (important this) created via the Slimserver web interface. Then rescan playlists with the debugging flag on. If that works, ok - try adding your existing playlists one at a time, rescanning after each.

If it doesn't work, the problem is probably with a cue file (but not really an area I can give you much advice on) - you might try something similar (removing them all and adding them back) - depending on how many you have.

ModelCitizen
2006-05-23, 00:18
I would start again - create a fresh and empty folder for your Playlists and point Slimserver to that. Then add in one playlist only, and (important this) created via the Slimserver web interface. Then rescan playlists with the debugging flag on. If that works, ok - try adding your existing playlists one at a time, rescanning after each.
Thanks a lot for this Siduhe, it's been very useful. I've done what you suggested, which has led to a bit clean up of my music files (totally deleting all my album m3u files held in individual album directories, changing some remaining .cue files to .cue_ and adjusting a playlist or two that refernces non-existent music).

I've reached the conclusion that my problem is due to some very large playlists (some with 500 songs plus) coupled with a slow machine and the way that SlimServer scans playlists.

It looks to me that whenever I add a new playlist and choose "Scan playlists only" SlimServer than rescans all my playlists, whether they have changed or not since the last scan. Due to this and my large playlists SlimServer ends up scanning a considerable proportion of my music library.

I don't know how many people might find this a problem (not many have such an underpowered Slimserver machine as I do) but it strikes me that some timestamping would cure my problem. I.e. might it be a reasonable idea if SlimServer only scanned playlists that have been modified since it's last scan?
If this happened I could make a playlist on my PC and then listen to it almost immediately downstairs on my hifi. Currently I have to wait a long time before I can do this.

Is this a silly idea or might it be worth filing an enhancement?

Again, thanks.

BTW. How can I directly access the log file. I can't find it anywhere.

MC

EricBergan
2006-05-23, 11:02
I don't think its a silly idea - I think playlist handling definitely needs to be cleaned up. I have playlists with 1000s of songs in them. Scans obviously take a long time, although I can somewhat live with that.

But playlist handling seems to be inconsistent. I can pick a large playlist from "Browse playlist" and it starts playing in 10-20 seconds - not great, but not terrible.

But if I tie it to a favorite button and select it that way, its 20-30 minutes before it starts, and the server is pegged on 100% CPU for the whole time.

I submitted a bug on this, but it seems to be in the great bucket for 6.5 or later.

ModelCitizen
2006-05-23, 11:15
I think playlist handling definitely needs to be cleaned up.
I submitted a bug on this, but it seems to be in the great bucket for 6.5 or later.
Can you tell me the bug number so I can subscribe (sorry I don't get much joy searching for bugs)?
MC

EricBergan
2006-05-23, 11:32
Can you tell me the bug number so I can subscribe (sorry I don't get much joy searching for bugs)?
MC

The bug id is 3250