PDA

View Full Version : 5.0 upgrade problem: can't access web server!



Rob Funk
2003-11-20, 10:48
Kevin Deane-Freeman wrote:
> I just dont have any easy way to test
> or debug with Safari.

Doesn't Safari use the same rendering engine as Konqueror? Try a Linux box
with KDE.

--
==============================| "A slice of life isn't the whole cake
Rob Funk <rfunk (AT) funknet (DOT) net> | One tooth will never make a full grin"
http://www.funknet.net/rfunk | -- Chris Mars, "Stuck in Rewind"

Kevin Deane-Freeman
2003-11-20, 11:00
Quoting Rob Funk <rfunk (AT) funknet (DOT) net>:

> Kevin Deane-Freeman wrote:
> > I just dont have any easy way to test
> > or debug with Safari.
>
> Doesn't Safari use the same rendering engine as Konqueror? Try a Linux box
> with KDE.
Useful to know :)
I'll give that a look
cheers,
kdf

Brian Curtis
2003-11-20, 11:31
On Nov 20, 2003, at 9:48 AM, Rob Funk wrote:

>> I just dont have any easy way to test
>> or debug with Safari.
>
> Doesn't Safari use the same rendering engine as Konqueror? Try a
> Linux box
> with KDE.

That might help, but with the problem of having the playlist not redraw
I am seeing it in Safari, but not in Omniweb which uses the same
rendering engine. It could be that Safari is using a more recent build,
or there is a bug in Safari that won't show up in other browsers based
on that engine.

Kevin Deane-Freeman
2003-11-20, 11:45
Quoting Brian Curtis <bcurtis (AT) mac (DOT) com>:

> On Nov 20, 2003, at 9:48 AM, Rob Funk wrote:
>
> >> I just dont have any easy way to test
> >> or debug with Safari.
> >
> > Doesn't Safari use the same rendering engine as Konqueror? Try a
> > Linux box
> > with KDE.
>
> That might help, but with the problem of having the playlist not redraw
> I am seeing it in Safari, but not in Omniweb which uses the same
> rendering engine. It could be that Safari is using a more recent build,
> or there is a bug in Safari that won't show up in other browsers based
> on that engine.
>
If you feel adventurous, I've made a patch available online:
www.deane-freeman.com/~fishbone/Fishbone-patch.zip

It contains the altered files only. Extract it and overwrite the current
Fishbone skin files. Let me know if you notice anything different. This could
fix the redraw problem. The slowness, from what I have been seeing in reports,
looks to be a different issue.

-kdf

Brian Curtis
2003-11-20, 12:21
On Nov 20, 2003, at 10:45 AM, Kevin Deane-Freeman wrote:

> If you feel adventurous, I've made a patch available online:
> www.deane-freeman.com/~fishbone/Fishbone-patch.zip
>
> It contains the altered files only. Extract it and overwrite the
> current
> Fishbone skin files. Let me know if you notice anything different.
> This could
> fix the redraw problem.

I installed the new files. Now it sort of alternates between blank and
showing the playlist. If I keep hitting reload in Safari the playlist
draws properly sometimes, and is blank other times. I can't detect a
pattern. Sometimes it will be blank for up to 4 reloads and others it
will only be blank for one reload.