PDA

View Full Version : 5.0 upgrade problem: can't access web server!



Mike Morper
2003-11-19, 22:18
Kevin and company...

Here is what seems to be happening when attempting to use version 5 of the
software on my OS X (10.2.6).

After what appears to be a successful install, when attempting to access the
server via the web interface, the page begins to load. I get the header
stuff as I can see the title of the page (SlimServer) in the title bar of
the window. You can also see that the url is a frameset as you can see the
left side begin to draw (I'm using the Fishbone skin). The second side
(right side) seems to be challenged... Nothing comes in. At this point the
progress indicator in the url field (I'm using Safari 1.0) stalls at about
the one-third mark.

About 20-30 seconds go by then ultimately I got a time out error.

I did notice when running this with the Process Viewer running that the perl
process hits about 60% CPU then drops to zero... Shortly after that I get
the time out.

After downgrading the 4.2.6 all works fine. In fact, I don't see any perl
CPU % change at all when using 4.2.6.

I have been monitoring the discussion group for the last couple of days and
there seems to be a bunch of OS X, version 5 challenges out there. Each of
the messages seem to discuss time outs, server not responding, etc. Seems to
me (but then what do I know) there is some common theme here.

Incidentally, I did try restarting everything... Even clearing the browser
cache. It is interesting after a restart, the url seems to want to begin
loading right away, then pauses (stalls), then results in a timeout. After a
fresh restart, I briefly get the Genres listing in the left frame, then it
seems to refresh, yet never come back. Someone else in this thread mentioned
a similar behavior (though with playlists).

Kevin, you had asked if I can run the server with --d_http. Gimme some
training wheels (i.e. Help) and I will try that. I'm a terminal neophyte.
Also, where can I find the log?

I'm more than happy to assist in troubleshooting this. It is 100% repeatble.

Thanks in advance...



> Date: Wed, 19 Nov 2003 14:58:53 -0800
> From: Kevin Deane-Freeman <kevin (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
> To: SlimDevices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Subject: [slim] 5.0 upgrade problem: can't access web server!
> Reply-To: SlimDevices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Message: 2
>
> Quoting Chuck Rice <chuck (AT) wildrice (DOT) com>:
>
>>> Quoting Chuck Rice <chuck (AT) wildrice (DOT) com>:
>>>
>>>>> Quick update:
>>>>>
>>>>> I definitely believe there are issues with the 5.0 software on OS X. Per
>> a
>>>>> suggestion on this thread, I rebooted--I even verified permissions on
>> the
>>>>> disk--and I still was having problems with the 5.x server serving
>> webpages.
>>>
>>> Can you describe the problem? Do you get no response? Do the pages
>>> refresh too
>>> often, or certain frames dont load? can you run the server with --d_http,
>> or
>>> enable it after starting) and see if the log gives any useful error
>> messages?
>>
>> This part was not from me. I quoted it.
>
> I know, I was being lazy and asking for info from both at once :)
>
>>
>>>
>>>> I have also been having problems since upgrading to 5.0.
>>>>
>>>> I am running SlimServer on a dual processor xServe running Mac OS X
>>>> Server 10.3.1 (Panther).
>>>>
>>>> I seem to be getting double updates for the web page when it
>>>> refreshes and when it does this, it displays the playlist songs for a
>>>> few seconds, then erases them leaving that portion of the screen
>>>
>>> What skin are you using?
>>
>> This was me and I am using Fishbone. Try
>>
>> <http://www.wildrice.com:9000/>
>>
>> -Chuck-
> d'oh! Ever find that your player just starts playing on its own? ;)
> You might want to set the IP filters on in your settings.
>
> I dont have any access to Safari so I was never able to test the Fishbone skin
> with that browser. Looking at your URL with IE, Opera, and Mozilla Firebird
> there seems to be no problem. Do those <BR> tags work for you? They just
> come
> up as raw text for me. When you get the blank screen, does the HTML source
> still have the playlist information or is that gone too?
>
> -kdf
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Date: Wed, 19 Nov 2003 23:59:24 +0100
> From: andreas <groups (AT) simply (DOT) nu>
> To: SLIMP3 Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Subject: [slim] "Playing shuffled" string removed!
> Message-ID: <3FBBF5CC.5060604 (AT) simply (DOT) nu>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii; format=flowed
> MIME-Version: 1.0
> Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
> Precedence: list
> Reply-To: SlimDevices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Message: 3
>
> Hey ho...
>
> Noticed the display was not showing the "PLAYING_RANDOMLY" string anymore.
> Thought it was a little change 'til I noticed in the Playlists.pm that
> it was commented out from the currentSongLines subrouting...
>
> Why? Any particular reason behind this? *curious&nosy* ;)
>
> rgds
> /andreas
>
> [-- snip --]
> if (Slim::Player::Source::rate($client) != 1) {
> $line1 = string('NOW_SCANNING') . ' ' .
> Slim::Player::Source::rate($client) . 'x';
> # } elsif (Slim::Player::Playlist::shuffle($client)) {
> # $line1 = string('PLAYING_RANDOMLY');
> } else {
> $line1 = string('PLAYING');
> }
> [-- snip --]
> ------------------------------
>
> Date: Wed, 19 Nov 2003 15:01:16 -0800
> From: Chuck Rice <chuck (AT) wildrice (DOT) com>
> To: SlimDevices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Subject: [slim] 5.0 upgrade problem: can't access web server!
> Message-ID: <p06010206bbe1a673cf01@[66.80.13.13]>
> In-Reply-To: <p06010205bbe19c79788f@[66.80.13.13]>
> References: <BBE0BA8E.42DD%mike (AT) morper (DOT) net>
> <p06010200bbe13b5fb673@[66.80.13.13]>
> <1069273492.3fbbd194d42ed (AT) callisto (DOT) deane-freeman.com>
> <p06010205bbe19c79788f@[66.80.13.13]>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii" ; format="flowed"
> MIME-Version: 1.0
> Precedence: list
> Reply-To: SlimDevices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Message: 4
>
>>
>> This was me and I am using Fishbone. Try
>>
>> <http://www.wildrice.com:9000/>
>>
>> -Chuck-
>
> Thanks guys. I enjoyed whoever changed the song to Zipity-Do-Da. -Chuck-

Jonathan Schwartz
2003-11-19, 22:34
Yup, I'm having the same sort of problem as Kevin with OS 10.2.8 and
version 5.0. The web server interface starts and then never
finishes. In Safari, the progress counts off " 1 of 4 items, etc,
but never gets past 2 or 3 of 4 items. Even so, the Player will
still work by using the remote.

Once this condition occurs it's hard to say exactly what works to fix
it. In a previous post, I suggested a restart helps. I'm not so
sure now.

Jonathan


At 09:18 PM -0800 11/19/03, Mike Morper wrote:
>Kevin and company...
>
>Here is what seems to be happening when attempting to use version 5 of the
>software on my OS X (10.2.6).
>
>After what appears to be a successful install, when attempting to access the
>server via the web interface, the page begins to load. I get the header
>stuff as I can see the title of the page (SlimServer) in the title bar of
>the window. You can also see that the url is a frameset as you can see the
>left side begin to draw (I'm using the Fishbone skin). The second side
>(right side) seems to be challenged... Nothing comes in. At this point the
>progress indicator in the url field (I'm using Safari 1.0) stalls at about
>the one-third mark.
>
>About 20-30 seconds go by then ultimately I got a time out error.
>
>I did notice when running this with the Process Viewer running that the perl
>process hits about 60% CPU then drops to zero... Shortly after that I get
>the time out.
>
>After downgrading the 4.2.6 all works fine. In fact, I don't see any perl
>CPU % change at all when using 4.2.6.
>
>I have been monitoring the discussion group for the last couple of days and
>there seems to be a bunch of OS X, version 5 challenges out there. Each of
>the messages seem to discuss time outs, server not responding, etc. Seems to
>me (but then what do I know) there is some common theme here.
>
>Incidentally, I did try restarting everything... Even clearing the browser
>cache. It is interesting after a restart, the url seems to want to begin
>loading right away, then pauses (stalls), then results in a timeout. After a
>fresh restart, I briefly get the Genres listing in the left frame, then it
>seems to refresh, yet never come back. Someone else in this thread mentioned
>a similar behavior (though with playlists).
>
>Kevin, you had asked if I can run the server with --d_http. Gimme some
>training wheels (i.e. Help) and I will try that. I'm a terminal neophyte.
>Also, where can I find the log?
>
>I'm more than happy to assist in troubleshooting this. It is 100% repeatble.
>
>Thanks in advance...
>
>
>
>> Date: Wed, 19 Nov 2003 14:58:53 -0800
>> From: Kevin Deane-Freeman <kevin (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
>> To: SlimDevices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>> Subject: [slim] 5.0 upgrade problem: can't access web server!
>> Reply-To: SlimDevices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>> Message: 2
>>
>> Quoting Chuck Rice <chuck (AT) wildrice (DOT) com>:
>>
>>>> Quoting Chuck Rice <chuck (AT) wildrice (DOT) com>:
>>>>
>>>>>> Quick update:
>>>>>>
>>>>>> I definitely believe there are issues with the 5.0 software on OS X. Per
>>> a
>>>>>> suggestion on this thread, I rebooted--I even verified permissions on
>>> the
>>>>>> disk--and I still was having problems with the 5.x server serving
>>> webpages.
>>>>
>>>> Can you describe the problem? Do you get no response? Do the pages
>>>> refresh too
>>>> often, or certain frames dont load? can you run the server with --d_http,
>>> or
>>>> enable it after starting) and see if the log gives any useful error
>>> messages?
>>>
>>> This part was not from me. I quoted it.
>>
>> I know, I was being lazy and asking for info from both at once :)
>>
>>>
>>>>
>>>>> I have also been having problems since upgrading to 5.0.
>>>>>
>>>>> I am running SlimServer on a dual processor xServe running Mac OS X
>>>>> Server 10.3.1 (Panther).
>>>>>
>>>>> I seem to be getting double updates for the web page when it
>>>>> refreshes and when it does this, it displays the playlist songs for a
>>>>> few seconds, then erases them leaving that portion of the screen
> >>>
>>>> What skin are you using?
>>>
>>> This was me and I am using Fishbone. Try
>>>
>>> <http://www.wildrice.com:9000/>
>>>
>>> -Chuck-
>> d'oh! Ever find that your player just starts playing on its own? ;)
>> You might want to set the IP filters on in your settings.
>>
>> I dont have any access to Safari so I was never able to test the
>>Fishbone skin
>> with that browser. Looking at your URL with IE, Opera, and Mozilla Firebird
>> there seems to be no problem. Do those <BR> tags work for you? They just
>> come
>> up as raw text for me. When you get the blank screen, does the HTML source
>> still have the playlist information or is that gone too?
>>
>> -kdf
>>
>>
>> ------------------------------
>>
>> Date: Wed, 19 Nov 2003 23:59:24 +0100
>> From: andreas <groups (AT) simply (DOT) nu>
>> To: SLIMP3 Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>> Subject: [slim] "Playing shuffled" string removed!
>> Message-ID: <3FBBF5CC.5060604 (AT) simply (DOT) nu>
>> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii; format=flowed
>> MIME-Version: 1.0
>> Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
>> Precedence: list
>> Reply-To: SlimDevices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>> Message: 3
>>
>> Hey ho...
>>
>> Noticed the display was not showing the "PLAYING_RANDOMLY" string anymore.
>> Thought it was a little change 'til I noticed in the Playlists.pm that
>> it was commented out from the currentSongLines subrouting...
>>
>> Why? Any particular reason behind this? *curious&nosy* ;)
>>
>> rgds
>> /andreas
>>
>> [-- snip --]
>> if (Slim::Player::Source::rate($client) != 1) {
>> $line1 = string('NOW_SCANNING') . ' ' .
>> Slim::Player::Source::rate($client) . 'x';
>> # } elsif (Slim::Player::Playlist::shuffle($client)) {
>> # $line1 = string('PLAYING_RANDOMLY');
>> } else {
>> $line1 = string('PLAYING');
>> }
>> [-- snip --]
>> ------------------------------
>>
>> Date: Wed, 19 Nov 2003 15:01:16 -0800
>> From: Chuck Rice <chuck (AT) wildrice (DOT) com>
>> To: SlimDevices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>> Subject: [slim] 5.0 upgrade problem: can't access web server!
>> Message-ID: <p06010206bbe1a673cf01@[66.80.13.13]>
>> In-Reply-To: <p06010205bbe19c79788f@[66.80.13.13]>
>> References: <BBE0BA8E.42DD%mike (AT) morper (DOT) net>
>> <p06010200bbe13b5fb673@[66.80.13.13]>
>> <1069273492.3fbbd194d42ed (AT) callisto (DOT) deane-freeman.com>
>> <p06010205bbe19c79788f@[66.80.13.13]>
>> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii" ; format="flowed"
>> MIME-Version: 1.0
>> Precedence: list
>> Reply-To: SlimDevices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>> Message: 4
>>
>>>
>>> This was me and I am using Fishbone. Try
>>>
>>> <http://www.wildrice.com:9000/>
>>>
>>> -Chuck-
>>
>> Thanks guys. I enjoyed whoever changed the song to Zipity-Do-Da. -Chuck-
>
>

Kevin Deane-Freeman
2003-11-19, 22:57
Quoting Jonathan Schwartz <jonathan (AT) eschwartz (DOT) com>:

> Yup, I'm having the same sort of problem as Kevin with OS 10.2.8 and
> version 5.0. The web server interface starts and then never
> finishes. In Safari, the progress counts off " 1 of 4 items, etc,
> but never gets past 2 or 3 of 4 items. Even so, the Player will
> still work by using the remote.
>
> Once this condition occurs it's hard to say exactly what works to fix
> it. In a previous post, I suggested a restart helps. I'm not so
> sure now.
>
> Jonathan
Anyone want to loan me a G4 with Safari for a week?

-kdf

Chuck Rice
2003-11-19, 23:59
>Quoting Jonathan Schwartz <jonathan (AT) eschwartz (DOT) com>:
>
>> Yup, I'm having the same sort of problem as Kevin with OS 10.2.8 and
>> version 5.0. The web server interface starts and then never
>> finishes. In Safari, the progress counts off " 1 of 4 items, etc,
>> but never gets past 2 or 3 of 4 items. Even so, the Player will
>> still work by using the remote.
>>
>> Once this condition occurs it's hard to say exactly what works to fix
>> it. In a previous post, I suggested a restart helps. I'm not so
>> sure now.
>>
>> Jonathan
>Anyone want to loan me a G4 with Safari for a week?

What part of the world are you in? I am in Santa Clara CA. -Chuck-

--
Fight Spam! Join CAUCE! == http://www.cauce.org/

Rob Walker
2003-11-20, 00:24
>> On Wed, 19 Nov 2003 21:57:07 -0800, Kevin Deane-Freeman
>> <kevin (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> said:

> Anyone want to loan me a G4 with Safari for a week?

Sorry, the Boss' (she gets home with the kids Friday afternoon) laptop
has 10.3 on it. Would that be helpful? You need it in Mountain View,
right? I can always tell her, "Sorry, honey, in the interest of my mp3
fetish, I loaned out your laptop." Maybe flowers will be in order :-)

rob

Kevin Deane-Freeman
2003-11-20, 00:41
Quoting Chuck Rice <chuck (AT) wildrice (DOT) com>:

> >Quoting Jonathan Schwartz <jonathan (AT) eschwartz (DOT) com>:
> >
> >> Yup, I'm having the same sort of problem as Kevin with OS 10.2.8 and
> >> version 5.0. The web server interface starts and then never
> >> finishes. In Safari, the progress counts off " 1 of 4 items, etc,
> >> but never gets past 2 or 3 of 4 items. Even so, the Player will
> >> still work by using the remote.
> >>
> >> Once this condition occurs it's hard to say exactly what works to fix
> >> it. In a previous post, I suggested a restart helps. I'm not so
> >> sure now.
> >>
> >> Jonathan
> >Anyone want to loan me a G4 with Safari for a week?
>
> What part of the world are you in? I am in Santa Clara CA. -Chuck-
>
a very kind offer, but I'm a might bit more north, eh ;)
Vancouver, BC

Thanks tho :)
-kdf

Kevin Deane-Freeman
2003-11-20, 01:11
Quoting Rob Walker <rob (AT) myinternetplace (DOT) net>:

>
> >> On Wed, 19 Nov 2003 21:57:07 -0800, Kevin Deane-Freeman
> >> <kevin (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> said:
>
> > Anyone want to loan me a G4 with Safari for a week?
>
> Sorry, the Boss' (she gets home with the kids Friday afternoon) laptop
> has 10.3 on it. Would that be helpful? You need it in Mountain View,
> right? I can always tell her, "Sorry, honey, in the interest of my mp3
> fetish, I loaned out your laptop." Maybe flowers will be in order :-)
>
> rob
Slim HQ deffo has OSX capability. I'm just a hack at large up north. Fishbone
skin is my ceation, and my task to fix. I just dont have any easy way to test
or debug with Safari.

-kdf