PDA

View Full Version : Where is the "complete" solution?!

merlin_x
2006-05-13, 01:57
Hi there,

I am desperatly searching for a solution that offers music without going to much into tech. The SimBox is a good first move, but where is the integrated solution? If I do want to listen to my music I would have to have my laptop running all the time or to bring another black box server into my live and home. Neither of those solutions is acceptable.
Where is the slim devices unit which features a slot in hard drive, a USB2 port, or firewire port for an external harddrive? Why do we have to go through installing servers to listen to our music. We are consumers not tech support. Sorry for this "harsh" words, but I believe that slim devices has starting something great but until now its only for the tech guy in us. Despite the fact, that I am a web professional and do have enough knowledge to get such a system running, I just do not want this. Reason is, that in my free time I would rather not like to continue working at home, bring the servers back into my flat and worry about administrating another computer.

So please Slim Devices bring something up like this, before Apple for example does it!

Best regards,

Merlin

nelamvr6
2006-05-13, 08:19
There are solutions that are similar to what you describe already available. I don't want one because they lack the flexibility I have with the SlimServer/Squeezebox paradigm.

NWP
2006-05-13, 09:34
Slimserver is a major part of what makes this system great and it only takes a few minutes to install. Having it run on a computer only makes it easier to upgrade in the future as new releases come out.

What defines a computer to you? The only reason people are able to install slimserver on some of these external network hard drive units are because those units are technically little computers. You want a little router type box? Those are technically little computers too.