PDA

View Full Version : Wiki page on network setup

Mark Lanctot
2006-05-03, 14:45
From time to time there's some confusion with new users on network design as it pertains to the Squeezebox.

For a lot of new users, adding a Squeezebox is their first step into home networking, which can be intimidating. There have been some unusual configurations posted on this forum which result in poor Squeezebox performance and can be rectified through proper network design.

In light of this, I created a series of diagrams explaining how to integrate the Squeezebox into a home network and what equipment is required.

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?NetworkDesign

Changes are welcome. The diagrams are pretty basic, just something I cooked up in OpenOffice.org Draw. If someone has a better way of doing it, by all means...if you want the original OOo files PM me. I particularly hate the "lightning bolts". :-)

I am not a network expert so please correct any factual errors.

Hopefully we can direct new users having problems sorting out their network there.

ceejay
2006-05-04, 00:20
Mark

Very nice. I will edit the BeginnersGuideToNetworks to take out the rudimentary paragraph in there that tries to cover the same ground, and some links in to the new page.

One question I wasn't sure of: in your opening "adding a squeezebox" bit you've said "and wireless speeds are limited to 802.11b" ... why would that be?

Also, in "The optimum arrangement" you've said "You can use a network switch or a hub instead of the router". Is that right? I am definitely not an expert, but I was under the impression that if you connect a switch directly to a modem without there being a router in play somewhere that everything gets very confused.

Ceejay

peter
2006-05-04, 01:37
On Thu, 4 May 2006 00:20:21 -0700, "ceejay"
<ceejay.279uzn1146727501 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> said:
>
> Very nice. I will edit the BeginnersGuideToNetworks to take out the