PDA

View Full Version : Softsqueeze control via IR?



kyleki
2006-05-01, 01:33
I've used XMMS on my HTPC Linux box for quite a while now. I'm able to control it via IR through an IRman serial device. I've even got my Philips Pronto remote configured for it. It's nice being able to start playing music in my media room from a single remote without needing a separate SB.

I also like that I can synchronize (theoretically) my SB2 in the bedroom with Softsqueeze in my media room. The biggest piece of functionality missing is the IR control of Softsqueeze. I don't necessarily like having to use the keyboard/mouse to control my music playback on the computer. Many times I don't even have the display turned on. I just want to listen to music.

Any chance something like this could be added? Perhaps the ability to control Softsqueeze through an IRman device using the standard SB remote? Anyone else feel this would be handy?

- Kyle

chrisla
2006-05-01, 01:45
Can you get your IR setup to input X IR code and output Y keyboard
press? SoftSqueeze already has a full host of keyboard shortcuts, the
easiest thing to do is send those.

This is what I do with my setup though not using a slim remote.

-Chris

On 5/1/06, kyleki <kyleki.274e8c1146472502 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> I've used XMMS on my HTPC Linux box for quite a while now. I'm able to
> control it via IR through an IRman serial device. I've even got my
> Philips Pronto remote configured for it. It's nice being able to start
> playing music in my media room from a single remote without needing a
> separate SB.
>
> I also like that I can synchronize (theoretically) my SB2 in the
> bedroom with Softsqueeze in my media room. The biggest piece of
> functionality missing is the IR control of Softsqueeze. I don't
> necessarily like having to use the keyboard/mouse to control my music
> playback on the computer. Many times I don't even have the display
> turned on. I just want to listen to music.
>
> Any chance something like this could be added? Perhaps the ability to
> control Softsqueeze through an IRman device using the standard SB
> remote? Anyone else feel this would be handy?
>
> - Kyle
>
>
> --
> kyleki
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> kyleki's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2510
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=23510
>
>

kyleki
2006-05-01, 07:46
Can you get your IR setup to input X IR code and output Y keyboard press? SoftSqueeze already has a full host of keyboard shortcuts, the easiest thing to do is send those.

This is what I do with my setup though not using a slim remote.I'm not sure if I can do this or not; I've never tried. The only reason I have XMMS working is that it comes with an embedded IRman plugin. What software do you use to accomplish this on your system? Are you running Linux or Windows?

azinck3
2006-05-01, 10:28
I do this very thing with Girder on Windows.