PDA

View Full Version : Squeeze me



dannyfox
2006-04-26, 17:52
I just got a Squeeze Box 3 to breath new life into my old Mac Cube. It's terrific. The only trouble I am having is getting AlienBBC run properly. I can select alienbbc via the remote control, select bbc stations but when I hit play everything goes into an endless loop of trying to connect.

I have followed many installation guide and alway end up in the same place.

Has anyone else running 10.4 experienced the same problem.

I'm so close!!

Thnaks for any ideas.

danco
2006-04-26, 23:23
Should work ok. A few places where problems might arise are noted below, but you say you have followed the guides.

Which version of mplayer did you install? Where did you put it? What are the first few lines of mplayer.sh? If you edited mplayer.sh (which you may not have done, and may not need to do) what editor did you use?

mherger
2006-04-26, 23:27
dannyfox,

I don't know the Mac - don't expect any solution from me...

> I just got a Squeeze Box 3 to breath new life into my old Mac Cube.
> It's terrific. The only trouble I am having is getting AlienBBC run

Did you have a good reading of all the information in the plugins forum?
There are a _lot_ of reports like yours and their solution.

You might better ask there than in the beginners forum.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

dannyfox
2006-04-27, 05:19
Should work ok. A few places where problems might arise are noted below, but you say you have followed the guides.

Which version of mplayer did you install? Where did you put it?

Tried lastbinary200505 - put it in usr/local/bin
and the cook codec in usr/local/mplayer bin
itunes Lame 2.0.8

What are the first few lines of mplayer.sh? If you edited mplayer.sh (which you may not have done, and may not need to do) what editor did you use?

When I open the mplayer.sh in textedit it's mostly %@#$ but the first line reads

#!/bin/sh
app=mplayer
scriptpid=$$
apppid=/tmp/.alienbbc-app.$$.pid

# For mplayer pre6 comment out following line and uncomment line after...

Thanks for your help I really appreciate it.

dannyfox
2006-04-27, 05:21
dannyfox,

I don't know the Mac - don't expect any solution from me...

> I just got a Squeeze Box 3 to breath new life into my old Mac Cube.
> It's terrific. The only trouble I am having is getting AlienBBC run

Did you have a good reading of all the information in the plugins forum?
There are a _lot_ of reports like yours and their solution.

You might better ask there than in the beginners forum.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)


Thanks for the tip, I'll post there. I'm so infuriatingly close!

danco
2006-04-27, 05:39
When I open the mplayer.sh in textedit it's mostly %@#$ but the first line reads

#!/bin/sh
app=mplayer
scriptpid=$$
apppid=/tmp/.alienbbc-app.$$.pid

# For mplayer pre6 comment out following line and uncomment line after...

Thanks for your help I really appreciate it.

And where did you put mplayer itself? If it is in /usr/bin, then this version of mplayer.sh is ok, but if mplayer is in /usr/local/bin, then you need to edit the file (in a Unix text editor or a Mac text editor that will preserve Unix line endings- DO NOT use TextEdit) to change

app=mplayer

into

app=/usr/local/bin/mplayer


Depedning on your version of mplayer, you may need to install a codec - this isn't needed for the latest version. Run mplayer from the terminal and report what it says about the version.

dannyfox
2006-04-27, 08:06
And where did you put mplayer itself? If it is in /usr/bin, then this version of mplayer.sh is ok, but if mplayer is in /usr/local/bin, then you need to edit the file (in a Unix text editor or a Mac text editor that will preserve Unix line endings- DO NOT use TextEdit) to change

app=mplayer

into

app=/usr/local/bin/mplayer




I took your suggestion and moved the mplayer location. Now everything works like a charm. Brilliant! Thanks so much for the advice.