PDA

View Full Version : PSP 2.6 with Qnap Slim Server



gregoryroberts
2006-04-26, 06:08
Has anyboy managed to get this working?

I have been religously reading all the relevant posts on this forum and have learnt a huge amount in setting this all up.

I basically bought a PSP running firmware 2.6 last weekend to use as a Sonos remote to control my two squeezebox's.

Problem is, I can't get it to work!?

I can browse the internet etc on the PSP with no problems. I can control the slimserver interface from my laptop or desktop, again with no problems.

I upgraded the Qnap firmware and AlienBBC software (AlienBBC is always garbled when trying to listen to Radio 1, but thats an issue for another post!) but to no avail.

The router serving this all is my BeBox connected to the internet at about 16 mbit.

This is all rather fustrating, has anybody any experience with any of these components working together.

Thanks

Greg

oreillymj
2006-04-26, 06:37
What URL are you typing into the PSP's browser?

Are you able to surf the web normally on the PSP e.g. google.com

gregoryroberts
2006-04-26, 06:58
thanks for the quick response on this oreillymj.

I am using the qnap ip http://192.168.1.68:9000 as per when using my laptop etc. This just causes a time out error on the psp.

My qnap is called 'music' but if I try http://music:9000 i get a dns error on the psp.

Internet browsing works very well on the psp, google.com this forum etc.

Puzzling huh!

Siduhe
2006-04-26, 07:17
You haven't blocked or otherwise limited the IP addresses which are allowed to connect to Slimserver have you ?

Server Settings / Security / Block Incoming Connections - if on, either turn it off or add the IP address of your PSP in the relevant box.

gregoryroberts
2006-04-26, 07:33
I am unsure what the default is as I would not have changed this setting. I can't be 100% sure until I check tonight as I am at work. I hope it is that simple!!

gregoryroberts
2006-04-26, 11:23
Well after my pondering walk home I was hopeful that I had done something silly like blocked the ip.

Alas, blocking is turned off..

I have no idea in which direction to go? THe only other area puzzling me is that if I use the ip address of the qnap it times out, if I use the name ie music then it gives me a dns error. Does this suggest that it point blank can't see the qnap?

emillika
2006-04-29, 15:16
Not sure if this will help but do you have a DNS host defined?

snarlydwarf
2006-04-29, 15:23
If my understanding of the QNAP is right, the reason you can use the 'name' of the box from a Windows system is because of Samba (ie, Windows-compatible filesharing stuff). Part of SMB is the name service. (Ie, this is how the old 'Network Neighborhood' thingie worked on Windows: the machines broadcast their name.)

The PSP doesn't support SMB names, so you will have to use the IP.

pfd
2006-04-29, 16:10
one thing to try...i set up a new connection on my psp because i couldn't get it to see the slimserver even though google etc was working. the last option when you set it up is to start the internet browser automatically when your psp sees the connection. this needs a "yes" for my psp to access the server and it works fine. my existing connection didn't have this and it was the only thing i changed. hope this helps.

gregoryroberts
2006-05-14, 08:01
Thank you for the advice pfd. I rebuilt my wireless connection as you have suggested with the automatic start put to yes.

Unfortunately in my case, it has not worked.

I still get the error

'The connection to the server has timed out'

Internet surfing continues unimpaired.

Puzzled!?!

Greg

Heuer
2006-05-14, 08:26
I have a Qnap/SB3 and use a Pocket PC (iPaq) as a remote with IP address:9000/handheld and this works fine. A notebook PC works as well so it is unlikely to be anything to do with the Qnap or Slimserver. Not sure if this helps but may refine your problem search.

gregoryroberts
2006-05-14, 11:37
So I am trying to refine where the problem lies..

I can access my slimserver as hosted by my Qnap from both my desktop and my laptop.

I can also access my Qnap admin page by just typing in the ip address.

However I can not access the Qnap admin page from the psp.

Does this suggest that the PSP just can not get through to the QNAP? Is there a way of doing a ping exercise from the psp, to see if it can get through to it?

Thanks again - Greg

oreillymj
2006-05-14, 15:19
I'm not 100% familiar with the features offered by the QNap, but I don't believe it offers a DNS server.

Even if it did, your PSP would normally ignore it as your wireless router would usually be set as the psp's default gateway to the internet.

Any addresses you type into the psps, which require dns lookup will be sent to the dns server's configured in your router.

So your psp cannot connect to anything on your internal network without you using an ip address in the http string.

Personally my router/default gateway is 192.168.2.1 & my slimserver is 192.168.2.3.

My psp will connect to slimserver if I type http://192.168.2.3:9000 into the browsers address bar.

Can you give us more info about the setup, ip addresses in your internal network.

Kassap
2006-06-19, 06:28
I had a very similar problem.

Click on the "QNAP Storage Software" Tab in your "All Programs" Menu, on the computer your installed the QNAP through, then click "Quick Install Wizard" then "Quick Install Wizard" again.

Your QNAPS IP address should then show up.

Type it into your PSP like this

Http://YourIPaddress:9000/handheld

(in my case http://192.168.1.4:9000/handheld )

hope this helps, the problem was bugging me for ages.

gregoryroberts
2006-06-28, 05:43
Slimserver hosted on the QNAP is at the following address as written previosuly in my thread

http://192.168.1.68:9000

It times out on the psp.

Andy_W
2006-06-28, 08:36
Slimserver hosted on the QNAP is at the following address as written previosuly in my thread

http://192.168.1.68:9000

It times out on the psp.


Not sure if this is relevant, but I thought I would post anyway. When I try to access my QNAP remotely from work, I can never get past the QNAP homepage because Novell Border Manager (ugh!)blocks the communication. On a PC on the work network in the DMZ, full access to the QNAP is possible. Specifically, NBM does not allow communication on port 6000, which I understand the QNAP uses specifically for X-windows and for some communication exchanges. (I am no expert, but this is what I have deduced from hunting around). If the PSP blocks or does not have access to a range of ports, perhaps that is the reason why it cannot contact the QNAP. Just a thought

Andy_W
2006-07-05, 00:24
Not sure if this is relevant, but I thought I would post anyway. When I try to access my QNAP remotely from work, I can never get past the QNAP homepage because Novell Border Manager (ugh!)blocks the communication. On a PC on the work network in the DMZ, full access to the QNAP is possible. Specifically, NBM does not allow communication on port 6000, which I understand the QNAP uses specifically for X-windows and for some communication exchanges. (I am no expert, but this is what I have deduced from hunting around). If the PSP blocks or does not have access to a range of ports, perhaps that is the reason why it cannot contact the QNAP. Just a thought

Ignore this post - I finally got around to playing with my PSP last night and I can access both the QNAP home page and slimserver menu using the local IP addresses across my wireless network. It works fine with no problems.