PDA

View Full Version : Can't connect to slimserver

patrickregan
2006-04-22, 11:53
Just trying to set this up today. I've referred to the manual, wiki, and forum...haven't found a solution to work for me.

My squeezebox connects to my wireless network, but doesn't connect to the slimserver. What's strange is that when I'm doing the DHCP setup, the squeezebox says that it gets an IP from my router that is a 169... number. All my other devices on my network are 192...

I tied to manually enter in the address my router says it's giving the squeezbox, 192.168.0.5, but that's not working either...Not sure if it's because I got the DNS number wrong or something. I'm not a network expert.

Can anyone help me today? Thanks.

By the way...I'm using a Netgear router and a macintosh running 10.4 os x, but I don't think is an OS issue.

-Patrick

patrickregan
2006-04-22, 12:02
I should also mention that there is no firewall settings on my mac or router turned on...

Mark Lanctot
2006-04-22, 12:03
Did you check this page in the wiki?

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?NetworkProblemsBeginnersGuide

patrickregan
2006-04-22, 12:06
Hey Mark,

I did check out that page...Didn't notice anything that seemed to help.

patrickregan
2006-04-22, 12:35
As far as my routers concerned, is it normal for it to be seeing two devices? It's giving "EL031446" ip 192.168.0.4 and "EL031446" ip 192.168.0.5.

Mark Lanctot
2006-04-22, 12:36
Hey Mark,

I did check out that page...Didn't notice anything that seemed to help.

Hate to be snarky...but it's just the kind of thing that addresses your problem. :-)

Any suggestions anyone would give here would merely be a rehash of what's on that very page. It first addresses your router and whether that would be incompatible, then it addresses IP addressing, noting that a 169 address indicates a DHCP failure, on to encryption passphrases, MAC address filtering, etc.